We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Abbey Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Donegal Manor(Donegal Town)
$112
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mill Park Hotel(Donegal Town)
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$109
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Harvey's Point(Donegal Town)
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$283
$272
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sandhouse Hotel(Rossnowlagh)
$159
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creevy Pier Hotel(Ballyshannon)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dorrian's Imperial(Ballyshannon)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (819)
Filter reviews
819 results
Traveler rating
286
267
132
70
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
286
267
132
70
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarket housesister hotel next doorcountry music weekendnational holidayscoach partypublic car parkcaledonian travelthird floortown squarelovely hotellovely towndouble bedfour nightsenjoyable stayhotel barcourse mealgreat weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
771 - 776 of 819 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2008

Just had a five day stay at the Abbey, on a whole found the Hotel quite pleasant, we stayed Mon-thurs night, was told it gets quiet noisey at weekends due to the Nightclub and proximity to the town square. So if your looking for a fairly peacefull stay i would avoid weekends. The rooms were clean and well furnished, all in all quite pleasant. The only problem was the room location, some rooms overlook a central area , there is no view and there are large extraction fans that are quite noisey. The food was quite good with a decent selection, and the staff were pleasant and worked hard. The main bar is very pleasant and serves good bar meals untill around 9pm, we had entertainment on every night in the bar, and this was mostly traditional Irish music, the location of the hotel is excellent , bang in the middle of town, and you can jump on a bus right outside to a wide range of places if you fancy leaving the car and having a day out.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank greenjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

Negatives:

Noise - lots of stag and hen parties seem to stay here at weekends, in fact the Abbey seesm to target this as a particular market. Hence, there is a lot of drunken shouting and screaming and setting off of fire alarms at 4 am.

Check in - we arrived at 5:30 on a Friday evening but our rooms were not ready until an hour later.

Decor - fairly worn in the rooms. Bars and restaurants ok.

No air conditioning in the rooms.

Parking - there is no car park (nor a proper set down area). They give you a ticket to display and you take your chances in the town car parks which are very busy.

Breakfast - ok if you want a fry up or cereals. Little by way of fruits, yoghurts or anything much else.

Price - compared with what you'd pay in a B&B for a similar room you're paying about 70% more.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FF01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

Booked 2 double rooms as staying 2 nites with husband, mother and 3 children. Rooms very disappointing indeed - dirty, sticky carpeting throught, nicotine smell pervaded whole room. Outer quilt on beds smelt of greasy mens' hair and did not appear to have been washed in some time. Grubby, tired bathrooms and very poor tv reception. Staff surly to say the least. Typical breakfast of its kind. Leisure centre a hike thru a maze of corridors and car park a good walk from reception (not good when raining). Don't stay here if u want service with a smile. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avoca146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2008

My wife and i stayed at the Abbey on a 5 day trip with National Holidays.It was during St Patricks Day so we expected a lively time, and yes that is what we got. The hotel was the centre of the town and was full of locals at night as there was 4 bars and 2 night clubs inside. We were on the 3rd floor , the room was quiet clean and spacious. There was no view but it was only for sleeping in. People did say that it was noisy on the 1st and 2nd floors from the nightclub but you could move if you were not happy. The staff were very friendly and helpfull. The food was very good .Live music nightly, also every local bar had their own live music.would go back again

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biker46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

I just showd up a Friday morning,and ask for a single room for one night.They said their special Friday offer is 60 euros, and I accept it straight away,as I was really tired to look around for a room,and location of the hotel is perfect. At first I thought it's pricey, but no,it was great value for money. My room was HUGE, clean,and seemed to be recently renovated. Breakfast (included in the price) was very good,and I 've pay more money for rubbish hotels comparing to this one in Ireland. I had to travel on public bus,and it stops exactly outside the door. Room was very quiet though! I'd really like to be back in this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mariha2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews