We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid, non-descript provincial hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Solid, non-descript provincial hotel”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Don't expect the Shelbourne Hotel or similar. This hotel is on the Square in Donegal town and is very well located to kick out to West Donegal (Slieve League cliffs in particular) or drop down to Mullaghmore, Drumcliff or Sligo town itself.

Our bedroom was fine with decent en suite (although large bath towels were, well, too small), although the room itself is probably coming close to a having a fresh coat of paint.

The bar is big and decent, but breakfast was nothing to write home about: no dedicated continental-type food: just cereal and lots of bacon, sausages and eggs. And why do these places insist on serving tea or coffee in those horrible metal pots?

One major negative point was the smoking in the small foyer to the outside street. Every time I came in through the doors, there were always smokers standing there. Probably the biggest negative from my viewpoint. (When I pointed this out at reception, I was told that they could do nothing about it.)

The staff were very pleasant and if I were staying again in the Town, I think I would go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river. You won't hear the nightclub so much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidIrishReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OisinMcAbbeyHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of the hotel. I am sorry that you had a negative experience and I will follow up on your comments today. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and would come back to visit The Abbey Hotel. Kindest regards The Abbey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    235
    111
    54
    55
See reviews for
117
284
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
clyde
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Beautifull hotel good location the food was really bad possable problem they could not handle 4 coach loads I will not be back.Reported the qualitey of thr food at the time to the lady who was in charge of the dining room she did not seem interested one lady did not want a sweet she asked for cheese she had eaten most of it then she discoverd mold on the cheese

Room Tip: The food atbthe evening meal was so bad I will not stay there again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mistyClyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OisinMcAbbeyHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel and for your comments received, I will look into these issues and pass on your comments to the Restaurant Department. I do hope that you will return here again in the future. Kind Regards, The Abbey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northen Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

My husband and I decided on a short break in donegal at the last moment and found the Abbey Hotel. Check in was painless and they gave us an upgrade to a king size bedroom with a jacuzzi bath - great. Breakfast was very well organised and staff pleasant. There was music in the bar on Friday evening which was very good. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel. It's much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller-Ni39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OisinMcAbbeyHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your visit to Donegal. We are very happy indeed that you enjoyed your time and that the entertainment and staff where to your liking. We hope that you will return again. Thank you for taking time to leave the review and for your kind words. Kindest regards, The Abbey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Along with 43 others from the Day Centre for the Elderly of Carluke stayed at The Abbey from Monday 3rd to Thursday 6th February 2014. The Hotel is decorated to a very High Standard with comfortable furnishings and fittings. Whilst the Breakfast was of good quality the Evening Dinner was a disappointment with I am afraid not much thought applied to the variety or quality. Main Course Monday Evening (Boiled Ham or Fish) Main course Tuesday Evening (Lamb Stew or Fish) Main Course Wednesday Evening (Pork or Fish) Fish on three evenings not very satisfying I would suggest. A formal complaint was made to Management about the quality of food by the Group. Such a pity that a complaint had to be made as the Hotel shows other high standards. The Staff were extremely polite and helpful. In spite of the complaint about the food I would strongly suggest a visit to this establishment as it is in an ideal location for travelling to other Towns and places of Interest.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OisinMcAbbeyHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I would like to apologise for the choice at dinner not being to your satisfaction. Your comments have been passed on to the relevant department. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and would suggest a visit to the hotel to others. I also hope that you will visit us again the next time you are in Donegal.
Kindest regards The Abbey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

A group of 8 family and friends stayed at the Abbey Hotel from Monday 27/01/14 until Thursday 30/01/14 .It was with Caledonian Coaches unbelievable great value for £99.00 this was getting picked up at Hamalton driven to the ferry then on to Donegal .We all had a wonderful time and the hotel staff were great nothing was to much trouble and as for our driver Andy he was great he was so informative about the places we visited ie Sligo, Derry, and Belfast at these prices it's a must there was 4 coaches in total on this tour and everyone of them was of the same oppinion . In the evening we visited a wee pub called the Reel Inn and this just ended a perfect day

Room Tip: This is our second trip to this hotel and the standard rooms all have a double and single bed which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnJaw57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OisinMcAbbeyHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Hotel. We are so glad you and your group enjoyed your stay with us. All the management and staff work very hard to make sure that all guests enjoy their time at the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again here with us. Kindest regards, The Abbey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Our first visit to "The Abbey" a very pleasant one, check in was over in a whizz no problems there. room comfortable with a nice even temperature. Meals were good value so no nit picking here. cerainly no complaints here brilliant stay for the princely sum of £99.00..no kidding !.Staff in hotel a big 5***** your were fantastic.

.

Room Tip: never had ant problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheezy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OisinMcAbbeyHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for leaving your very flattering comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was to your satisfaction. The staff will be very happy to read you nice comments about their service. Many thanks. The Abbey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Just back from The Abbey Hotel in Donegal.We were given the Honeymoon suite as requested by my lovely family. The management sent us up a bottle of champagne and they could not have been more helpful. We were travelling with Caledonian Travel from Glasgow and had a really great time.We also met up with some people we met last time we went there and who now have become firm friends so we will definitely be going back next year. Well done the wonderful staff at The Abbey for all you did as we wre celebrating our Golden Wedding.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sapphire632014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OisinMcAbbeyHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. On behalf of the management and staff we would like to wish you a very happy wedding anniversary and look forward to seeing you again next year. Kindest regards. The Abbey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
14.2 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
707 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
3,936 reviews
2.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
383 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: | The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the Heart of Donegal Town convenient for all local amenities an ideal base for touring the stunning County Donegal. The Abbey Hotel is conveniently situated for beautiful coastal drives and main signature discovery points of the Wild Atlantic Way including the famous Slieve League. Seasonal nightly entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimantery Leisure Facilities (in our sister Hotel the Central next door), Disabled Access. Our award winning Market House Restaurant has 5 Star recommendations on TripAdvisor and nominated for many Restaurant awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abbey Hotel Donegal Town
Abbey Hotel Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing