We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and very friendly”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Enjoyed our visit. Rooms huge! 3 beds in ours! All very clean and comfortable with lots of tea and coffee sachets. Our room was on the back of the hotel with no view but it was fine. Parking pass included which was great. Breakfast very busy due to coach tours and you need to be in either before or after them as waitresses are rushed off their feet. Food was very good and no one would leave hungry. Evening meal in bar was good as was the nightly music. Enjoyed our stay..central to the beautiful area of donegal . Would stay again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank LindseyMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Hello Lindsey
Thank you for your recent review.
We are delighted that you choose us as your preferred Hotel to stay and thank you most sincerely for your kind comments. We take good pride in our customer care, good food, attention to detail. We feel a great satisfaction in knowing you will return and stay with us again. Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 796 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed overnight on way back to Belfast ferry terminal. Checked out the sister Central hotel first, rooms terrible. The rooms at the Abbey were nicer, but the hotel is in need of updating. It seems to survive on the Irish coach tours, of which there seemed to be a lot.
On the plus side, the downstairs areas were very nice, particularly the restaurant, and the food was very good.
Now for the negatives.
Firstly, without doubt, the most uncomfortable bed I have ever experienced anywhere in the world. To make things even worse, I woke up with my arms covered in insect bites.
Secondly, we ordered from the a la carte menu, the Irish stew is to be recommended, but the starter we shared was supposed to be local Killybegs mussels in a cream sauce. When the plate arrived, it contained New Zealand green lip mussels on the half shell. The young waitress was asked to refer the matter to the chef for an explanation. She disappeared, never to be seen again!
After finishing the meal, we sat whilst finishing our wine. We do not normally eat desserts, but another waitress invited us to sample the dessert buffet, (which had been on display, unrefrigerated for several hours), by saying, "please feel free to help yourself to the dessert buffet". We tried a couple, and left each one unbeaten, only to find on receipt of the bill that we had been charged 14 euros for them. Our insistence that the amount was removed was met with resistance from the management, but we insisted and she begrudgingly did so. Note to management. Let people order from the menu, but if you insist on the buffet folly, show the price on the table!!
If this is Donegal Town's best hotel, stay somewhere else!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Kevin,
Thank you for your recent review and comments in relation to our restaurant and food. I am glad you enjoyed the Irish Stew. I have noted your other comments and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience cased. I will be discussing them with each department. Once again please expect my apologies in relation to same.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have recently returned from a stay at the Abbey Hotel which was organised by Caladonian Travel. The hotel was absolutely fine. The food was excellent and the staff were very friendly. We stayed in a room at the back on the second floor and my only complaint was that we could not open our window at night due to the noise of the air conditioning unit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Tommy
Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to make your review. I am very sorry that you heard noise from the air conditioning unit. We do hope that this will not deter you from staying with us in the future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

While visiting family in Ireland, we visited this hotel for 2 days. What a fantastic area. As with all of Ireland it is beautiful! The hotel is situated on the main street and there is all kinds of great little shops and restaurants.
We stayed from July 25-27th. The room is quite large and although clean is in need of new carpeting. The carpets were very stained and after a day of walking in shoes it would be nice to be able to remove when we returned to the room. Another suggestion is that the door in the room has no peek hole, you have no idea who is at the door if someone knocks. Finally, the towels are like sandpaper, could be hard water in this area or lack of fabric softner. Otherwise, the stay was made very enjoyable by the fantastic staff, everyone was extremely friendly and helpful, especially when it came to figuring out the euro. Other than one meal we ate at the hotel. The food was so, so good! I had the beef and Guiness dish, twice-it was outstanding. Others in our group had a variety of fish, chicken and salad and raved at how good it was. Breakfast was included in our package and was a nice buffet style that the staff served.
Parking was also included which helped since there is not a lot of parking and a rate does apply.It is a busy hotel and it is understandable with the wonderful staff. I would have rated it a 5 if not for the carpet/towels. Very easy to fix this and make this hotel a perfect 5.

Room Tip: this is a very busy hotel, if you want quiet ask for a room at the back of the hotel. There was a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Debbie,
Thank you for your recent review. I have noted down all your comments and will discuss same with General Manager. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals and I will pass on your kind comments to all staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Abbey Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had a great time at The Abbey Hotel. Staff were very friendly, food was great and the entertainment on each evening including Stephen Dohertys country disco was excellent. Great location, central to the town, nice view of the river.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny190862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Hi Jenny,

Many thanks for your recent review. We are delighted that your enjoyed our country music weekend. I will pass on your comments to Stephen also and I do hope you will return to more events here with us. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I had my Wedding Reception here in 2005 & everyone in America is still talking about the wonderful experience they had,it was first class all the way & Patricia did an outstanding job to make my day a happy one.I always pop into the Abbey Hotel when I am in Ireland,was there recently for Sunday Lunch & the selection of food was outstanding,my family & I had a wonderful time reconnecting & can't wait to return soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Hi Amanda,
Thank you very much for your comments, we are delighted that your returned to the Hotel with your family for lunch. I will pass on your kind wishes to Patricia, please do call again when you are back. Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here during the July Country Music Weekend and have to say we thouroughly enjoyed it from start to finish. The entertainment for the weekend was first class and really well organised. The staff were very helpfull and friendly. Hotel room was excellent, clean and well furnished. The food was excellent too, we ate in the function room twice as part of the weekend package, 3 course meals with plenty to choose from, also ate in the bar where again it was first class. The whole weekend was great fun and hope to go again along with some friends

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Darryn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for writing your recent review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Country Music Weekend. It gives us great pleasure in knowing the experience which people had here. We look forward to seeing you again in the future with your friends. Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
3 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
776 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,324 reviews
1.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
431 reviews
8 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: The Diamond Donegal | The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: $108 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the Heart of Donegal Town convenient for all local amenities an ideal base for touring the stunning County Donegal. The Abbey Hotel is conveniently situated for beautiful coastal drives and main signature discovery points of the Wild Atlantic Way including the famous Slieve League. Seasonal nightly entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimantery Leisure Facilities (in our sister Hotel the Central next door), Disabled Access. Our award winning Market House Restaurant has 5 Star recommendations on TripAdvisor and nominated for many Restaurant awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abbey Hotel Donegal Town
Abbey Hotel Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing