We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location fine but expensive”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is perfect for location, and is nicely presented throughout. Rooms are comfortable and the food and beverage facilities are all of a high standard.
Compared with other hotels in the northern half of Ireland, the room rates are on the high side.
Staff service generally of a good standard, but front desk style could be improved.

Stayed: June 2013
Thank Kenneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Kenneth,
Many thanks for your recent review and thank you for choosing The Abbey Hotel for your stay. We do offer special offers all your round and try and keep our offers as competitive as other locations. If you have the opportunity of coming to Ireland again we would love to have you stay here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
There are newer reviews for The Abbey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 772 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

we travelled by bus and stayed from Friday the 14th until Monday the 17th June for a country music weekend. We received a great welcome from the lovely staff. . Rooms clean and meals were very good. Hotel very central. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Pammac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Phyllis

Thank you very much for your recent review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the county music weekend, these weekends are extremely popular and we do hope that you will return to one in the future. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Excellent hotel clean and tidy. Good food , nice choice and plenty to eat. Staff very friendly and welcoming nothing too much trouble. Good central location everything within walking distance and free parking with voucher from hotel nearby. Really enjoyable stay.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Thank Deen-Tyauvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Deen,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, it gives us all great pleasure in knowing that you had a good stay here with us and you would recommend to others. On behalf of all here I wish to thank you for that and I will pass on your comments to all staff. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We held our reunion dinner-dance in the Abbey Hotel on the 8th June 2013. The staff from the owner down couldn't have been more helpful in helping us organise the event. They gave us the five course meal at a fantastic price. You'd be very hard pressed to find a meal of similar quality for that kind of money anywhere in the country. The room was very tastefully decorated, with chandeliers, seat covers, essentially the whole works. The receptionist helped us out immensely when we went in to organise the menu offering very helpful tips on what would best suit the occasion. Food was excellent. Service was efficient and the staff even came around with seconds if that was what you desired. All in all, an excellent night and I would thoroughly recommend anybody who is thinking of booking a function in Donegal Town or the general area to seriously consider the Abbey Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidWray96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Hello David,
On behalf of Management & Staff of the Abbey Hotel we thank you and all members of your committee for choosing our Hotel to hold your reunion Dinner Dance. We are thrilled to know that everyone had a good time here and we meat all your requirements. Should you need anything in the future please do not hesitate in contacting us as we would be delighted to help in any way we could. I will pass on your comments to all Staff. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed from Friday the 14th until Monday the 17th June. Very nice welcome when we arrived and Angela was so helpful. The room we requested was very good and very spacious. The food was very nice and I must say the staff were very nice and friendly. The weekend was a country/western and it was very relaxing. The food was very good on all occasions and the breakfast was find. Would recommend this hotel to anyone as from the moment you arrive until you leave the staff are extremely nice and Angela and Danny are excellent. Well done on running a great hotel. Mairead and Brendan Moore

Room Tip: we stayed on the 3rd floor and it was a room for a person with a disability and it was very good wou...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearlsharkey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Hello Mairead & Brendan,
Hope you are both well. Thanks very much for writing a review. We are delighted that you both enjoyed the your first experience at our county music weekend. We do hope you will return again to us in the future. It was a pleasure meeting you both. Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Five of us stayed at the Abbey Hotel overnight at the end of May. The hotel has lovely decor. We had a very nice meal in the hotel restaurant with excellent service and then went to the bar as they had live entertainment. As the night progressed, It seemed that the Abbey bar is where the locals hang out and the bar was soon packed. The music and dancing was good and we really enjoyed people watching. I can imagine it would be loud for guests on the first floor. There are security guards to keep the unruly patrons in check.
The room was clean and spacious and the beds were pretty comfortable. Breakfast in the restaurant was very good. The Abbey is right in the heart of the town and was the ideal location for us. We enjoyed going into the shops nearby and Donegal Castle is only steps away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tosca_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for your recent review, we are delighted that yourself and your friends enjoyed your stay here with us. We do hope if you are visiting the area again you will return to us. Enjoy the rest of the summer. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

great hotel with very helpful staff lovely big rooms and if lucky get one overlooking the river where you can see the heron fishing for breakfast. Food very good and plentiful especially breakfast. Entertainment was great and got everyone up to dance and got all nationalities mixing. Even have bingo nightly if enough people. Reception staff provide local maps amd adviice on places to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Wilma,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, we are delighted your enjoyed your stay here with us. I will pass on your comments to all the staff.
Much Appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.5 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
926 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
758 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
424 reviews
3.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,202 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: The Diamond Donegal | The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: $103 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the Heart of Donegal Town convenient for all local amenities an ideal base for touring the stunning County Donegal. The Abbey Hotel is conveniently situated for beautiful coastal drives and main signature discovery points of the Wild Atlantic Way including the famous Slieve League. Seasonal nightly entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimantery Leisure Facilities (in our sister Hotel the Central next door), Disabled Access. Our award winning Market House Restaurant has 5 Star recommendations on TripAdvisor and nominated for many Restaurant awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abbey Hotel Donegal Town
Abbey Hotel Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing