We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Food yummy.”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great location. Food yummy.”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Right in the centre of Donegal town, lovely warm welcoming hotel. Me and my boyfriend just landed and woman at reception was helpful and fuss free. Bar down stairs was nice and comfy. Breakfast was fresh and tasty. Rooms telly was wee bit fuzzy and old but not important.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you very much for your recent review, we are delighted that you choose to stay with us whilst in Donegal Town. We do hope if you return you will decide to do the same again, my sincere apology about the tv reception in your room. I thank you for making us aware of this. Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    246
    114
    61
    58
See reviews for
121
301
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

As others have said, the rooms are quite dated, although clean. This doesn't bother me. What does bother me, however is that on the second floor, up to 3am and all I could hear was the noise from the nightclub two floors below, and when I say noise I don't mean a dull hum. The music is loud enough to sing along to (if it wasn't dreadful) making sleep utterly impossible. If you're not 18, with a terrible taste in music, avoid on a Saturday night.

Room Tip: Don't book at the weekend if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginger_marauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your recent review and comments. I sincerely apologize for the noise which you experienced. I do hope however that you would kindly return to the hotel again in the future and stay with us in some of our bedrooms which are on higher floors (3rd/4th) away for the noise of the nightclub on Saturday Night. I deeply regret that you did not enjoy your stay here with us. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We ( donegal down syndrone )held a big 2 day conference in the Abbey it went great we had over 100 people attending both days the staff were great nothing was a problem and all of our guests loved the food and the hotel I also had great food and fun I can't wait to go back and will be holding more events there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello Gina,
On behalf of Management & Staff here at The Abbey Hotel we wish to thank you and Donegal Down Syndrome for hosting your two day conference here with us. It was a fantastic having you all here and we look forward to working with you again in the future. Please do not hesitate in contacting us if there is anything which we can do for you or any members of the group.
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

just back from a weekend at the abbey hotel, we were a group of 16 girls and the hotel and its entertainment were excellent, we really enjoyed are stay and the staff were so welcoming. breakkfast in the morning was also very good. will definetly be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backhill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Madam, Thank you so much for taking to time to write your recent review and comments re your Hen Party experience here with us, we are delighted that you’s enjoyed the hotel, food, entertainment etc, we are very popular for hen parties as we add as much detail/personal touch/planning service as possible making it memorable and special for each bride to be. We look forward to your return and wish you all a wonderful time at the wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

next hotel on tour was so comfortable, the food and service was great and the hotel central to town, found another great local bar The Reel Inn, this was very busy and popular with tourists and locals. Excellent music played by the landlord and two friends until late .

Room Tip: rooms at back had great view of river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Lynda,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will return in the future. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level 6 Contributor
588 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great location in the middle of town. Walk to many restaurants and sights. Lots of old charm in this hotel. Very spacious room and nice size bath. Beautifully decorated. Very helpful front desk. Wifi in the rooms and breakfast included.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for your recent view, it gives us great pleasure in knowing that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope you will return again in the future. Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We didn't book but the hostess on this day made no fuss & made us feel welcome

The seat we got was close to the service enterance & was very busy as a result. This was a bit dissapointing but thats what you get for not booking in advance

The service was very friendly & prompt

The food was very good too for the cost too. Really good beef & the kids portions were good too. Not too much but not enough to make you feel bloated

We had to ask for veg but the girl was very apologetic

We were all very impressed with the value & quality

Room Tip: We only used the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubanredstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for your recent review on The Market House Restaurant. We are delighted that you choose to dine with us and that everything was to your satisfaction.
We are very pleased to announce that The Market House Restaurant was recently nominated for “The Best Hotel Restaurant in Donegal, Co. Donegal ” at The Restaurant Association Awards. We do hope that you will dine with us again in the future. Thank you for our team here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.5 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
856 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
409 reviews
3.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,100 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: The Diamond Donegal | The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the Heart of Donegal Town convenient for all local amenities an ideal base for touring the stunning County Donegal. The Abbey Hotel is conveniently situated for beautiful coastal drives and main signature discovery points of the Wild Atlantic Way including the famous Slieve League. Seasonal nightly entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimantery Leisure Facilities (in our sister Hotel the Central next door), Disabled Access. Our award winning Market House Restaurant has 5 Star recommendations on TripAdvisor and nominated for many Restaurant awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abbey Hotel Donegal Town
Abbey Hotel Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing