We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“St Patricks stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“St Patricks stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Fantastic hotel with very friendly, helpful staff. Just returned from a 4 night stay. Location is really good. Rooms were very clean and the food and service was excellent. Would recommend this to anybody who wants to visit a fab area of Ireland

Room Tip: Make sure you have a large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prague69Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
On behalf of The Management & Staff at The Abbey Hotel thank you most sincerely for your excellent review and recommendations, we are delighted that you enjoyed yourself and we hope you will return to us again in the future. I will pass on your comments to all staff members. Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    233
    108
    51
    54
See reviews for
111
278
34
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Have just returned from a 4 day stay at the Abbey Hotel. We were a group of 26. We were all delighted with the accommodation at the Abbey Hotel. Our package included an evening meal which was excellent each night. Our trip was organised with J McGinley Coach company, our driver Peadar couldn't have been better. He was our tour guide for 3 of the four days we were there and he brought us to unseen and unheard of parts of Donegal. He had a great knowledge of his home county and great pride in showing it off at it's best. We were more than surprised to hear of the bad weather in the south, we had the best of weather during our stay in Donegal

Room Tip: rooms to the front can be noisy as there is a bus stop just at the front door of the hotel directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TulMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for much for writing your review, it gives us great pleasure in knowing that you enjoyed yourself whilst staying here with us. We do hope that you return again either on a coach trip or with family & friends. Mc Ginley Coaches and their staff /drivers have an excellent knowledge of the area and local attractions and take get pride in there work, they are a very established company.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy N Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Have just returned from a holiday with Tonys Travel of Conwy N Wales to Donegal and the Abbey Hotel we where there for four nights Dinner Bed & Breakfast and St Patricks Day The Staff and Danny The Manger are great nothing was to much trouble for them rooms and food where great there was 54 persons in our group We will be back as soon as Tonys Travel have dates it was brill Thanks Abbey Hotelk

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Padarn90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Sir,
Many thanks for your review and we are extremely delighted to hear that you will be returning to us in the future, It gives us great confidence and pride in our Hotel knowing that you toughly enjoyed yourselves along with others. I will pass on your kind words to Danny. On behalf of us all here Thank you very much and looking forward to your return with Tony’s Travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed in Abbey w/c25 Feb.The rooms are fine we had one overlooking the square which was nice.Staff very friendly and helpful and music in the bar every night which suited the age group.
Food was ok but a very limited menu and a bit boring with potatoes and veg every night but this might have been because we were with a coach party and it was a very cheap week .The waitress did get me food that wasnt on the menu on a few nights.The menu in the bar was varied and the food served there looked great.Had lunch in the bar a few days and it was very reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam
Many thanks for writing your recent review on The Abbey Hotel, we appreciate very much you taking the time to do so and I am glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. I am delighted that you got your food requirements which you asked for, as we do cater for all our guests needs. Best Wishes to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

just had a two night break at the abbey hotel, and was impressed . The rooms are fairly basic but they are clean and comfortable,with good heating and loads of hot water. The staff are very good and always a smileing face to be seen. the food was also very good,with live music in the bar both nights. We had a realy good time and we will be back. We got a special offer of £59 each for two nights b&b, super value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank decie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for your recent comment. We are delighted that you will be returning to us and we look forward to that, we have special offers available all year round which can be viewed on our internet page /newspapers or by telephone. I will pass on your comments to all Staff members, on behalf of them thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

went on a monday to friday break with jones holidays flint , ch6 5dz and they did us proud the hotel is excellent for a 3star , the food very good with ample portions , and the staff couldn`t do enough for you , there were a few small niggles our room overlooked the back of the hotel which had some a/c fan running ,but other than that it seemed ok.,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank percy894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for all your comments received, on behalf of all the staff at The Abbey Hotel, we appreciate you taking the time to write same. Best Wishes and hoping you will return to The Abbey Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

My son aged 9 and myself are just back from a 2 night stay.Room was excellent but I would really have loved more than one electric socket in the room-maybe that's something the hotel could look into? Food very,very good .Staff were all excellent and of course the hotel is right in the centre of Donegal town which is a big bonus.Would also have preferred individually cooked breakfasts instead of buffet breakfasts as toast etc was "coldish" but apart from the buffet breakfasts and lack of sockets in the bedroom this is a lovely,friendly,welcoming hotel

Thanks to everyone!!

Room Tip: Standard room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiemcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello Maggie.
Thank you very much for posting a review and making your comments which I will certainly pass on to the General Manger. We are delighted that you and your son enjoyed your stay and visit to Donegal Town. Hoping you both will return in the future. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.0 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
1.4 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: | The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the Heart of Donegal Town convenient for all local amenities an ideal base for touring the stunning County Donegal. The Abbey Hotel is conveniently situated for beautiful coastal drives and main signature discovery points of the Wild Atlantic Way including the famous Slieve League. Seasonal nightly entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimantery Leisure Facilities (in our sister Hotel the Central next door), Disabled Access. Our award winning Market House Restaurant has 5 Star recommendations on TripAdvisor and nominated for many Restaurant awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abbey Hotel Donegal Town
Abbey Hotel Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing