We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Festive”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Ardara
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“So Festive”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Visited the Abbey Hotel for a meal last Sunday.. The Food was excellent as always but there is a very Cosy atmosphere with a great feeling of Christmas. As always a fantastic effort is made. Staff friendly and welcoming..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shadara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,
Many thanks for taking the time to comment, we are delighted you enjoyed your meal here at The Market House Restaurant. We are very lucky to have excellent staff here who created this winter wonderland Christmas atmosphere. Wishing you and all your family a very Happy Christmas and every good wish for 2013. Hoping to see you again. Abbey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    250
    118
    64
    58
See reviews for
126
305
39
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at this Hotel during a 5 day coach holiday recently and could not fault anything I experienced. The food was simply but well cooked, plentyful and hot, beds were comfortable and our bedroom was always warm. The staff were very pleasant and the Hotel itself we thought was clean and comfortable. breakfast was the usual self service starters and a canteen like service for your mains, but really nice food, even the fried eggs were done perfectly. Dinner had a choice of 3 starters,3 main and 3 sweets, which came plated, always hot and tasty. Usual hotel style performers each evening if you wanted to listen. Drinks above average price. Could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jokemor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a comment, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us and we hope that you will return again in the future. Wishing you and you's a Very Happy Christmas and every good wish for 2013. Thanks again Abbey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel has a very chic restaurant that produces very fine cuisine. The staff offer true Irish Hospitality with friendliness and attention to detail that makes for a really nice experience. tha layout provides for intimacy yet the staff are always to hand should you require any help. I would definitely recommend this venue

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Hi Beth, on behalf of the team at The Market House Restaurant thank you for taking the time to post a comment. We are very lucky to have good staff and of course good chefs , I will certainly pass on your comment to everyone concerned. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crook, Co Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for just 1 night on a tour of Ireland, the hotel is well situated in the center of the town, we were upgraded to the honeymoon suite and we only paid 89EUR. The Room was nice and clean, bed was comfy and breakfast was good so no real complaints.
The pnly negative was that the hotel lacked some character it had a bar but it was big, bright and not very welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Hi Robert, thank you for your comment and I take all your points on board. In relation to car parking facilities we do use the public car park at the pier area , this is complimentary to all guests staying with us for the duration of their stay. We recommend to people to take in all luggage before parking and for work vans etc we will show them a secure area with locked gates. I do hope that you will return to the Abbey Hotel in the future and if you need help with equipment/luggage etc please ask at reception. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is an older hotel and this is seen in the decore and the room.
The room was clean and warm, but lacking in creature comforts, it jsut smelt and felt old.
I was advised against eating in the hotel bar, so I didn't. Breakfast next morning was good, not 100%, but it was adiquite to meet my early morning needs.
The staff meet me with pleasant greetings and were helpful, but this hotel DOES NOT have its own carpark, you park down the road in the public carpark. This was not helpful as my Van was full of work equiptment.
Also, once checked in, the walk to and from the carpark was hard.I had a lot of stuff to remove for safety concerns.
One advantage of the carpark was I could stay all day the following day for free.

Room Tip: Back of hotel isbest
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Old style hotel , with lots of character, on the town square. We had a superb large room with an equally impressive bathroom. Clean, tidy, good condition, staff pleasant and helpful. We were on a coach tour so the menu was a preset limited choice, but the food was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulandvalerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed one night here on a B&B+D basis. Had evening meal in the bar which was of a good standard, bar staff friendly, drinks reasonably priced, breakfast very basic, no choice, either have the "full Irish" or not! There is no parking at this hotel, however, you might be lucky if you keep driving around the roundabout outside for long enough! I would issue a note of caution, however, that you need to check your bill on check-out as extra items can find their way onto your bill in error but is easily rectified with receptionist. Overall a very comfortable and clean hotel which might benefit from some attention to the breakfast menu.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel to ensure good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maryloveshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.5 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
886 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
748 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
418 reviews
3.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,149 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: The Diamond Donegal | The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the Heart of Donegal Town convenient for all local amenities an ideal base for touring the stunning County Donegal. The Abbey Hotel is conveniently situated for beautiful coastal drives and main signature discovery points of the Wild Atlantic Way including the famous Slieve League. Seasonal nightly entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimantery Leisure Facilities (in our sister Hotel the Central next door), Disabled Access. Our award winning Market House Restaurant has 5 Star recommendations on TripAdvisor and nominated for many Restaurant awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abbey Hotel Donegal Town
Abbey Hotel Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing