We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this hotel is in danger of losing its charm”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Reviewed September 18, 2012

party of five stayed last weekend. Room 242 very uncomfortable due to heat. Wrong types of room allocated, reception were unfriendly and upon giving the receptionist feedback on checkout it was 'my fault' for not calling down to tell them! Food was good, restaurant staff were friendly and the bar staff were excellent. It has always been great for big chairs in foyer, very disappointed that on both days this area was cleared (chairs were not even moved down the corridor) for wedding reception. I love the Abbey, really great location and I am sad that it is going down hill - serious training needed for FOH staff.

Room Tip: avoid room 242.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy1CoAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 796 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed at the hotel on Friday and Saturday, 14th and15th Sept 2012. Hotel was ok and family room was good, until we experienced the noise at night. Both nights were very noisy with crowds gathering in the square from the Nightclub on the ground floor of the hotel. The noise kept us awake until around 5pm... It was dreadful. I spoke to the reception as we left and received little sympathy from them as the noise was outside. The Nightclub is owned by the hotel so this problem will not be resolved.

Room Tip: Must be at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 0121LUKEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The management have an identity crisis here, it doesn't know if it's a nightclub or an hotel. Two out of three nights we were kept awake by loud (extremely loud) music until 1 a.m. and 2:45 a.m. respectively. The room was adequate but the public areas need upgrading. We ate once in the restaurant, that was enough. If you do intend to stay, make sure there is no wedding during your visit or you won't get the rest you have paid for.

Room Tip: Higher floors I presume have less noise from the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed 2 nights. Hotel was really busy on the saturday night - the night club was very popular & seemed to get going after 1am! It was a bit noisy if staying above the club. Our evening meal was nice, but I was surprised steak wasn't on the set menu. Breakfast was traditional Irish fare & delicious. Staff were all very friendly. a great hotel if you're looking for a bit of "craic" - probably not so good for a quiet stay. Room was comfortable (double bed & single bed) & bathroom was clean

Room Tip: Night club is noisy until after 2am
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doctor228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The stone facade of the hotel is inviting and the lobby has an old world atmosphere with plump chairs and sofas surrounding a fireplace. Our room was quite large and the decor was consistent with the hotel design. The furnishings and room were clean and well maintained. The dinner special (55 euros for two persons) included several entree options; we had the mixed grill, which was good (not excellent) along with a bottle of acceptable wine, The location is in the heart of town, around the corner from Donegal Castle.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lantana50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Visited as part of a group of 20 golfers. The bad points (1) - if you are hoping for anything other than mediocre food then don't eat in the restaurant, (2) the receptionist didn't seem to be very well trained and sent me to the wrong room. The good points (1) It's good value for the money paid, (2) it's well located in the centre of town with parking nearby, (3) the bar prices are very reasonable and the Saturday night entertainment was excellent and (4) the beds were very comfortable. I can forgive anyone most things as long as I have a decent night's sleep!

The bedrooms are a little tired, but spacious.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water - the views are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank CarringtonWealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stopped at this 'hotel' on a trip around the country. I googled where we could stay and despite some bad reviews, we decided to give this place a chance. BIG MISTAKE. At check-in we got the key, yes key to our room which was connected to a massive paddle. I took a peak at the restaurant which was very over priced for even a simple sandwich. The hallways were like something out of a clownhouse, turns to more hallways, upstairs then lugging the luggage downstairs, around corners, surrounded but bright stripy horrific wallpaper. The room itself was the icing on the cake. It was sweating hot inside the room and the window opened about 2 inches, facing about 2 feet apart from another wall. We picked up the information book to call front office to see about moving rooms and the book was warped and bubbly with coffee stains, and dust all over in and on the inside. There was no socket to plug anything into except for the thick, 1950's style tv that was plugged in, which had no remote & just the 4 basic channels. The 2 beds in the room were creaky and the sheets looked crusted to the bed. The bathroom had no amenities and was a bright blue to contrast the bright yellow & red stripes on the walls - it was just scary. We immediately went back down because we couldn't imagine getting comfortable in such a place. We told them to cancel the room, we were leaving & they offered us a different room but we just wanted to get out of there asap. We even drove 1 more hour to get to a better hotel, which was MUCH better. I've stayed at motels & hostels nicer than this hotel. I would avoid this place, do not waste your time or money, unless 0-1star accomadation is your preference.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissPanties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
3 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
776 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,325 reviews
1.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
431 reviews
8 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: The Diamond Donegal | The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: $108 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the Heart of Donegal Town convenient for all local amenities an ideal base for touring the stunning County Donegal. The Abbey Hotel is conveniently situated for beautiful coastal drives and main signature discovery points of the Wild Atlantic Way including the famous Slieve League. Seasonal nightly entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimantery Leisure Facilities (in our sister Hotel the Central next door), Disabled Access. Our award winning Market House Restaurant has 5 Star recommendations on TripAdvisor and nominated for many Restaurant awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abbey Hotel Donegal Town
Abbey Hotel Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing