We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Rhu-Gorse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Donegal Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rhu-Gorse
Ranked #27 of 44 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here after attending a wedding at Lough Eske Castle. We found it randomly at late notice on the internet and werent expecting too much at 35 euro each for the night. We were impressed from the onset as she offered us a cup of tea and home made lemon drizzle cake. She also had somewhere we could keep our bikes which was handy as it was wet.
The room was comfortable and the facilities decent. we enjoyed breakfast in the morning and she gave me a lift to get our car from the castle no complaints and very reasonable, couldn't recommend it more..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy_harper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhuGorse, Owner at Rhu-Gorse, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Glad you enjoyed your stay in Rhu Gorse and I hope you enjoyed the cycle around Lough Eske.
Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 41 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

June 2012, for my wife and I this trip is the first time in 20 years that we return to Donegal, the first week in Ireland is in the Annagry area, but driving up from Dublin we will spend a night next to Lough Eske. It’s a few minutes drive into Donegal town, and if you are into walking, it’s a great location for taking in this part of Donegal. This B&B is so quiet and peaceful. And contrary to some B & B's that are like staying in a motel with not much contact with the owner, Rhu Gorse is a modern house that has parts of it dedicated to it’s guests, you are staying in the house, not an add-on. The owner of Rhu-Gorse is Gráinne McGettigan. Gráinne has worked very hard to maintain high standards in her house, the local hotels are just that, there is not much coziness to them, and honnestly if you are driving around ireland, why not stay in a B&B? Hotels cannot compete with how hard she works to maintain high standards in the dining room, the sitting room and each room, she is giving you a personal touch that no hotel will ever give you. Clean sheets, towels and lots of hot water, you feel like a VIP guest staying in a friends cottage and most important: very comfortable beds. When we arrived it was more than just a soft day, it was drizzling, damp and honestly it was typical Irish weather! But, Gráinne greated us at the door, offered us tea and cakes after our long journey from Dublin and upon hearing that we were going into town for a meal and returning late, offered us the key to the front door so we could return late. By the way, that night we ate in Donegal town at the Chandpur Indian restaurant that is on the second floor, what a classy restaurant with an amazing chicken vindaloo. What more can you ask for ? But to get back to the B & B: The room we had was spacious and comfortable and overlooked Lough Eske. Next morning, we woke up to look out on the mist covered lake and saw the soft rain coming down, the breakfast that she put together for us (the full Irish breakfast) was a great way to start the day. We felt at home and sorry that we were not staying longer in this area, it’s only a few minutes drive from Donegal town. Our daughter who had been living in the area since January recommended we consider staying at Rhu-Gorse, and she was spot on.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icarusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhuGorse, Owner at Rhu-Gorse, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so glad that you were able to enjoy a little of what I enjoy every day here at Rhu Gorse. It is a special location in tranquil surroundings and it is good to know that you enjoyed my hospitality. It is very important that my guests are happy and leave with good memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Received a warm welcome with afternoon tea and home made scones. Our bedroom was lovely with spectacular views and spotless. Breakfast was delicious with local sausages and bread and fresh fruit, in fact whatever we wanted! Grainne could not have been more helpful in planning trips and suggesting places to eat and drink. When we came back from a night out the fire was lit and drinks offered in the living room. We would definitely visit again, you need a car but the setting is beautiful by Lough Eske.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Naomi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhuGorse, Owner at Rhu-Gorse, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you Naomi for your kind words about Rhu Gorse and your welcome here. It is always great to know that my guests enjoy the unique experience of staying in this fantastic location. I hope you all enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed at the Rhu Gorse for two nights during our honeymoon and have nothing but great things to say- clean, comfortable, great food, great sleep, great views, and great hospitality. Donegal Town and County were the best part of our trip. The inn keeper gave us great suggestions for things to check out in the area. We were very happy and wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I visited Rhu Gorse whilst attending a business event in Harvey's Point. It was my husband's first visit to Donegal. He is from Kenya. Whilst I was working Grainne was so good to him giving him a lift into town and making him sandwiches. We really enjoyed our stay despite the fact that I was working. We had what was probably the best breakfast ever in an Irish B&B, and there were nice extra touches such as bottled water in the rooms as well. The views are spectacular over the lake and Grainne is such a warm, caring person - so genuine. She gave us loads of tips on where to visit and do. My husband enjoyed many lake and forest walks around the area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishSafariGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Stayed for one night as we were attending a wedding in a local hotel. The B and B is a 5 minute drive from Solis Lough Eske.Got a taxi home that night without any hassle and Graine the host dropped us up the next morning to collect the car. Greatly appreciated. Room was big, quiet, clean and comfortable. The view from our window was beautiful. Breakfast the next morning was a full tasty irish. Would recommend it as a base for anyone attending a wedding. Bit too far out from Donegal town if you planned on travelling around.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank royalgirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

My self my wife and our 2 month old baby stayed here while attending a wedding close by and it is easily one of the nicest B&B we have ever stayed in.
1. Family room was spacious and bright with a spectacular view of the lake.
2. Breakfast was cooked perfectly and to a standard far exceeding some 4 star hotels we have stayed in.
3. Grainne was friendly and welcoming and even nursed our 2 month year old baby while we finished our breakfast.
4. Her house and her gardens are quite beautiful and perfect for a chilled out weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbugsbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
1.4 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,295 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gap Lodge
The Gap Lodge
#12 of 44 in Donegal Town
97 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
794 reviews
2.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhu-Gorse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhu-Gorse

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing