We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple and very clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rhu-Gorse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Donegal Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rhu-Gorse
Ranked #27 of 42 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Simple and very clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

Stayed for one night as we were attending a wedding in a local hotel. The B and B is a 5 minute drive from Solis Lough Eske.Got a taxi home that night without any hassle and Graine the host dropped us up the next morning to collect the car. Greatly appreciated. Room was big, quiet, clean and comfortable. The view from our window was beautiful. Breakfast the next morning was a full tasty irish. Would recommend it as a base for anyone attending a wedding. Bit too far out from Donegal town if you planned on travelling around.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royalgirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

My self my wife and our 2 month old baby stayed here while attending a wedding close by and it is easily one of the nicest B&B we have ever stayed in.
1. Family room was spacious and bright with a spectacular view of the lake.
2. Breakfast was cooked perfectly and to a standard far exceeding some 4 star hotels we have stayed in.
3. Grainne was friendly and welcoming and even nursed our 2 month year old baby while we finished our breakfast.
4. Her house and her gardens are quite beautiful and perfect for a chilled out weekend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbugsbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

On Sunday 29th August we arrived at Rhu-Gorse Bed and Breakfast and it was like stepping into another world. Grainne showed us a family bedroom which was spacious bright clean and there was a beautiful bay window with the most beauitful view I have ever seen. The bed and breakfast was welcoming and we were offered tea as soon as we arrived with warm scones, cake and biscuits. The house was old de world with beauitful antiques and a lovely charm. We went out to Harveys Point for dinner which was lovely but couldnt wait to get back to the Bed and Breakfast. As soon as we got in Grainne lit the fire and made us more tea. The hospitality and food was second to none. Grainne is a very busy lovely woman who takes time to please her guests and took time to have a chat with us as we are all animal lovers. It was a unique experience and it wont be too long until we go back. Best Bed and Breakfast we have ever been to and we have travelled a lot. Thanks Grainne Cath and Colin

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed on 26th August whilst attending a wedding reception at Harvey's Point. I cannot speak highly enough about this superb B & B with its wonderful warming welcome to the sheer class and excellence of everything about it. The Owner Grainne McGettigan ( a wondefully friendly lady) gave us the warmest of welcomes with tea, coffee and scones that were great. The accomodation itself is fantastic with beautiful views over the stunning Lough Eske and just two minutes from our destination. People will say if you're in this neck of the woods do drop in - I would say make sure you're in this neck of the woods just to experience for yourself what a wonderful place this is!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eamon85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly Suburb
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2008

Spent one night at Rhu-Gorse with my wife, 12 year old son and 81 year old mother-in-law in Aug 2008. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. Beautiful views, great location. We arrived in the dark and it was a little difficult to find but after we unloaded our luggage we went back out to Donegal Town for dinner. It's very close to the town after you get your bearings. Grannine served a great Irish breakfast and the view from her breakfast room is magical. If we ever get back to Donegal we will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 3JDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2008

We drove thru town and since we found the signs to the BnB we went there first. Because it was so far out of town, we decided to stay out there and not go back into town. I'm not sure we could have found it after dark anyway.

The view is gorgeous and the room and bathroom was large and newly redone.

If you are looking to be in a more rural location with the best view of our trip, stay here.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank Morey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2007

This bed and breakfast is well worth the extra drive out from Donegal. In a beautiful setting with a fabulous view of Lough Eske, you will not be disappointed.
The owner is very pleasant and helpful, please don't be concerned by reading the one review from June 2007 that said otherwise. We found her to be extremely sweet and thoughtful.
I think that it is important to know that when you book a B&B in Europe it is not considered proper to stay during the day. If you want that you should stay in a hotel. To blame the B&B for not being happy about people staying( especially a young girl and her boyfriend) during the day only shows a lack of knowledge from the visitor, not unprofessional behavior from the owner.

This a great location from which to explore Donegal, and always a warm home coming at the end of the day and a great breakfast in the morning. What more could you ask.

  • Liked — the views and the hospitality
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fificello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
1.4 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eas Dun Lodge
Eas Dun Lodge
#7 of 42 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ard na Breatha
Ard na Breatha
#4 of 42 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ardeevin Guest House
Ardeevin Guest House
#6 of 42 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhu-Gorse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhu-Gorse

Property: Rhu-Gorse
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing