We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet with wonderful atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Arches Country House
Ranked #3 of 43 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quiet with wonderful atmosphere”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed at the Arches for two nights while we were exploring the Donegal area. The B&B is about 10 minutes from Donegal Town, and it was a little tricky finding it the first time. Noreen is an excellent host, we were able to chat a bit the second morning we were there. The first morning we had the "Traditional Irish Breakfast", and it was delicious and quite filling. The bed was comfortable, the room was spacious and had an excellent view of Lough Eske and the mountains. I purposely tried to find places to stay that were a little off the beaten path in order to avoid noisy Pub patrons, and this place definitely fit the bill. My only complaint is that the curtains were not room darkening, and the sun didn't go down until after 10PM, and it didn't get dark until around midnight. The sun rises just after 5AM, so room darkening curtains would have been a nice addition.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_fan_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
69
178
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dayton, ohio
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This was an average B&B. It is impressively situated with a great view of Lough Eske and the grounds are beautifully groomed. Rooms are good sized but with smaller bathrooms. There is a very nice breakfast room overlooking the lake. Breakfast was excellent. It would be a great place for solitude and for long walks but not if you want to find somewhere to eat. Donegal Town is about 15 minutes away by car.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buckeye-dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Arches is absolutely first class. It is located about 10 minutes from Donegal and overlooks beautiful Lough Eske. The house is large and comfortable. Noreen is a gracious host and the breakfast was excellent.

We only had one night to stay here and we wish we could have enjoyed it more. A+ all the way!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kent1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

A little further out of Donegal than we expected but once we finally found it, the route to and from Donegal was quite easy to negotiate.
This B&B is in a large elegant house overlooking Lough Eske with distant views to the Atlantic Ocean in the background.
Noreen the host was most welcoming but unusually a greeting cup of tea was not offered. We did though get a choice of room as we were the only guests in the B&B at the time and our room was very generous with both a double and single bed and a nice sun trap window overlooking the expansive front lawn and the lake. Bathroom was large, modern and clean and fluffy bath towels!
Breakfast was in a loverly large sunny breakfast room again with the same outlook as our bedroom and the choice and quality of food excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake but the might all do anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The arches is situated overlooking lough eske with well groomed grounds and fabulous views. Are room was incredibly spacious with two sitting nooks in front of big arched windows to take in the awesome view. Everything was clean and very comfortable and we enjoyed a lovely afternoon sipping tea while soaking in the view. We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

A stay with Noreen at Arches is just plain perfect! The house is beautiful, the grounds exceptional, the rooms immaculate, the sitting room spacious and yet cozy, and the breakfast delicious. We spent two nights at Arches and you could not ask for a more relaxing stay. The closeness to Donegal and other points of interest are feathers is the cap! Noreen is a delight and talking to her only made the experience all so much more fun. I have stayed at quite a few B&Bs and Arches Country House ranks among the best. Thank you Noreen for a wonderful visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim2582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

This was my first time staying with Noreen but my boyfriend has been coming back for over 10 years and now I know why! The house is imacculate, all the rooms are great, and the breakfast is delicious! It was very convenient to town but super quiet and the view spectacular. I loved it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
2.7 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
417 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
758 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
886 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arches Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arches Country House

Property: The Arches Country House
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arches Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Arches Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arches Country House Hotel Donegal Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing