We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully maintained B&B in Donegal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Arches Country House
Ranked #3 of 43 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, PA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautifully maintained B&B in Donegal”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed two nights at The Arches in mid September. It is in a good location to tour the northern part of Ireland and to view the beautiful Loche Eske. The property is very well maintained, both inside and out. The rooms are clean and have nice views of the lake. While is is outside of Donegal City it is only a short drive to several good restaurants. I would highly recommend The Arches if you are visiting this part of Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    18
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
68
173
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Spending four weeks touring Ireland and this was one of the nicest B&Bs we have been in. Very impressive driving up and extremely neat. Breakfast was AAA+, order the French toast.

WiFi was not picking up in our room, but just went to the common room. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This B&B is simply gorgeous. Just driving up to it takes your breath away. It's perfectly situated overlooking Loche Eske. What a gorgeous view to look out at. The Arches is located about 5km out of town, but so worth the extra few minutes to get there. It's completley quiet and have I mentioned the view??? We were very graciously met by Noreen and she was so cute and funny. Her Irish sense of humour was not lost on us. She had great chats with us everyday and I could have sat and chattted away with her for hours. I asked her for a personal favour and she was so gracious, she did me a huge favour and one that she didn't have to do. I am very grateful Noreen. Loved our visit. Love from Noel, Gerry, Daniel and Ryan.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The Arches combines the quaintness of the countryside with the modern conveniences of home. The hospitality is friendly yet professional. Food is excellent, the rooms are clean and comfortable. A lovely view of the lake adds to the ambiance. We highly recommend the Arches of Donegal.

Room Tip: Every room has a great view, but the suite is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mogyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

This is probably the most beautiful Of the many B&Bs we have stayed at in out 4 extensive visits to Ireland. Located just off beautiful Lough Eske, it is the ideal spot for day tours to so many amazing scenic attraction in County Donegal. Easy access to the pubs in nearby Donegal town, and to exquisite dinning and shows at nearby Harvey Point Hotel and Lough Eske Castle. Large modern rooms. Noreen is a fabulous hostess. We can't wait to return!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jared F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Arches. We choosed it for the view, the rooms and the location : all was perfect and maybe better than expected. Very comfortable rooms managed to enjoy the view.
Very good breakfast.
Noreen is professionnal.
We enjoyed and recommand it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odile37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langbank, Renfrewshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

It is difficult to add further value to the many complimentary reviews of The Arches. As someone who spent a number of years ’in the business’ letting out a holiday country cottage, what struck me was the very high standard of the accommodation, the amount of effort that must be invested in the beautiful garden, the well-presented breakfasts and the obvious careful planning to make the overall experience enjoyable.

For evening meals in Donegal, there is an excellent little Italian Restaurant, La Bella Donna, in Castle Street. We also ate in ‘Dom’s’ in Quay Street – mediocre and poor service – sea bass tasteless, which perhaps explains the overpowering sauce it drowned in - and the Guinness was ‘thin’.

However, I digress! If, like me, you want to turn up at an unknown B&B and be guaranteed a VFM, relaxing, trouble free break in beautiful surroundings, then The Arches is for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senex-sum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
2.0 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,092 reviews
2.7 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
741 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
852 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Cove Lodge B&B
The Cove Lodge B&B
#1 of 43 in Donegal Town
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arches Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arches Country House

Property: The Arches Country House
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arches Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Arches Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arches Country House Hotel Donegal Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing