We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Devine dining experience”
Review of The Village Tavern

The Village Tavern
Ranked #17 of 70 Restaurants in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Galway
2 reviews
“Devine dining experience”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Village Tavern is a hidden gem the whole world should experience. I recently visited with some friends as we do quite often and the evening was a huge success. I had the Prawn and Monk Gratin to start, it comes with freshly made brown bread from the Taverns bakery "Homemade" this dish is absolutely amazing and even writing about this has me craving more.
I then enjoyed their famous Lamb Shank, succulent, melt in your mouth lamb that fell off then bone, winter veg and champ potato finished this dish beautifully, but unfortunately the generous portion of the starter and the Lamb meant I couldn't finish it but that is nothing against the dish!!

We finished by sharing the warm crepe with ginger bread icecream and butterscotch sauce ano

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happy_feet70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    34
    10
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A warm welcome on a cold snowy night.”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were all a little taken aback as we went through the door to the Village Tavern to be greeted by 20 faces looking at us, this was the main bar which was full of local gentlemen enjoying a pint. We were quickly rescued by our hostess who ushered us into the restaurant and seated us immediately. From then on the evening just get better and better. Drinks and menus were quickly brought and then orders taken all by the same girl. Huge starters were promptly brought and quickly wolfed down, delicious!!

Main courses were duly delivered and consumed, absolutely superb!

The Fat Duck it is not but give me the Village Tavern every time, good simple local food cooked with imagination and flair, we will be back.....

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davidtorbitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Top class cuisine with excellent service . Presentation and quality of the food was of a very high standard . One minor criticism .. Maybe the decor could be enhanced a little to complete this great dining experience

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Una B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real treat”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our night here, food was fantastic, really tasty and well presented. Their friendly and helpful staff adds to the welcoming atmosphere, will definitely be visiting again very soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettsey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must or a fine dine”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

On holiday in may 2012 had an amazing dinner top food great atmosphere .I went for the titanic seafood plater severed on its very own titanic model .Everybody from staff to the manger and locals made us all very welcome Ireland at its very best

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vibert44jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Tavern also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 

Been to The Village Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing