We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little peice of heaven!”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Ballycastle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little peice of heaven!”
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Having stayed quite a few times now at Harvey’s Point I have to say that this is our favourite hotel in Ireland. We just never cease to be amazed at how wonderful our stay is each time we visit. From the very first smiling welcome to the cheerful request to come back at the end of our stay.
We find all of the staff team a delight to be around. Not just a smile when you meet staff but a warm greeting that feels genuine and not false. All of the staff are efficient, very friendly and so helpful especially when we have needed special dietary attention and consideration. The restaurant team just go way above what we expect and make it all seem so easy and not a big deal when in fact we know that it has to be a problem for them at times to ensure only the correct food is used. We genuinely appreciate this team effort.
Deirdre, Marc and the Gysling family have become friends to us and we so admire the way they treat all of their guests with warmth, kindness and true professionalism but dished out with a big helping of true Irish ‘céad míle fáilte’ hospitality.
This is a wonderful family run hotel that gives you the true taste and flavour of what genuine Irish hospitality can be like. In my opinion they deserve to be rated 5 star+ and we look forward to being back at Harvey’s Point as soon as possible. A sincere thank you to all of the Harvey’s Point team – you deserve it.
Mervyn & Stephen

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasoned_Traveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,629
    278
    64
    20
    9
See reviews for
653
2,470
55
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We booked a one night stay in a standard double room with the gourmet dinner for two and breakfast at a cost of €280 (not including drinks).Good points first - the location is lovely, the standard of service was excellent and breakfast was great but.... we felt let down by the standard of the room, the food in the restaurant and the noisy wedding guests who kept us awake most of the night. The rooms are quaint as others have described but when my husband went to put our bag away his hand caught on loose electrical wires literally hanging out of the wall which was obviously very dangerous. I ran a bath and found hair in it and quite a bit of mould in the grouting of the very dated looking tiles. We had booked a table on checking in and had been told we could only eat at either 6.30 or 9. Starters were just OK but I really don't think you can call a main of undercooked fish with a side of mashed potato and boiled veg 'fine dining' and covering things in 'foam' has really had its day! The tomato soup was bitter and tasted like it was made from tinned tomatoes. After dinner the very small bar area was invaded by tipsy wedding guests and the wine bar next to the restaurant filled with diners so we retired to the resident's lounge only to find it had no bar and no waitress service. We went back to our room to have a drink there. We were kept awake for a good part of the night by noisy guests and people banging on the door shouting at them to be quiet - this went on until about 5 in the morning. When we mentioned the noise when checking out, they were apologetic and offered us a €60 reduction in our bill which we accepted. Although you can't really blame the hotel for the noise of its guests, we asked them why they didn't put wedding guests in a separate part of the hotel as we thought they end up drinking in their rooms because there is no proper bar area for them to sit in. This seems to be a problem with how the hotel is organised - it's not really set up to have both weddings and other guests at the same time. Overall, we felt ripped off and it's such a shame as this could be such a lovely hotel but I don't think we will be back when there are so many competitor hotels offering more for less.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tani96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Dear Guest, On behalf of the Gysling Family and the Harvey’s Point Team, may I extend our most sincere apologies to you. We genuinely appreciate the opportunity to listen to feedback from our guests and clearly, what you experienced is not the norm at Harvey’s Point. Please be assured that we will follow up on each of your comments and take corrective action where necessary. It would be a shame if we would not have a chance to restore your faith in our hotel. I am available at anytime to discuss the details of your visit. In relation to weddings at Harvey’s Point, it is rare that we have any issues arising from noise but we will certainly introduce further measures to ensure that our leisure guests continue to enjoy a relaxing break in the peace and quiet for which Harvey’s Point is renowned. Yours sincerely, Deirdre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We went for a family wedding.The food was lovely along with the service.none of the wedding party had noting bad to say about this. we had the family room with 2 small double beds.the room was lovely with loads of space but had 2 complaints the heater was banging half the night as they failed to tell us not to leave it in between numbers so my partner had a bad sleep and when i went to have my shower and fill my childs bath the next morning the water was cold,.i rang down reception and they said they would find out what was wrong and ring my room bk.unfortunely they didn't ring bk so a cold shower it was and no bath's as breakfast was over at 10.30 and had no time to wait.A few of our party also had no hot water which i believe was because of the no of ppl using showers ect but this was not confirmed by reception .over all our stay was nice apart from the heater and water problem.This is a lovely place for a wedding reception just make sure you drag urself up early to wash.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doll123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for letting us know about the issues you had during your visit to Harvey’s Point and I hope you will accept our most sincere apologies. I will certainly follow this up with our management team and take corrective action where necessary. Thank you for your kind comments about the wedding and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again sometime and I am confident that you will fully enjoy the real Harvey’s Point Experience. Kind regards, Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

My wife and I booked a room for two nights on an internet hotel website. We had no idea of the grade of the room that we had booked. When we arrived we were shown (after our very welcome glass of chilled prosecco and a leisurely 30 minutes in the very lovely reading room) to our room in the Courtyard. The room was fine, clean, moderate size and in other circumstances would have been perfectly acceptable. It was, however, our wedding anniversary and my wife likes her luxury so she asked for a room upgrade. For a modest fee, we were upgraded to a deluxe room in the the main building. I have stayed in many, many hotel rooms but this was the most impressive that I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. It was really four rooms - huge bedroom, beautifully furnished, biggest bathroom that I have ever seen in a hotel (with a large circular whirlpool bath!) - an entrance hall with a larger hallstand and a coatstand and another room for the mini bar, coffee making facilities, wardrobes etc. Enough about the room - the fine dining restaurant served excellent food ( a bit slow - one and half hours to get our main course which was on the cold side of warm and had to reheated but still delicious) and the staff were first class. Tried the bar food on our second night - not so good even though the service was faster. This hotel is simply amazing (I'd still come back even with the restaurant glitches). Stay here - you won't regret it. You can even bring your dog, the hotel allows dogs to stay in the rooms! I will be back again soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian from belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Many thanks for your thorough review of Harvey’s Point and congratulations on your wedding anniversary. We will of course refer to your comments in relation to the restaurant and wine bar at our weekly management meeting. We appreciate all guest feedback as it helps us to address any issues that may arise and to drive continuous improvement. Kind regards from Deirdre and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
190 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We spent a night at this hotel and really liked it. The staff are, without exception, professional but friendly at the same time.

We stayed in an executive room and it was large, well decorated, lovely bathroom and great big comfortable bed.

The food, both evening meal and breakfast, was excellent and without fault.

Big plus, while the rooms are relatively expensive for a four star, there is no rip off mentality here. The mini bar prices are standard bar prices, great and very rare to see this. The cocktails in the bar are fabulous and not that expensive at €7.50 (€12 is not uncommon in Irish 4-5 stars) so you didn’t feel that you were going over the top and having a couple (or three!).

One slight gripe, the restaurant is alongside the wine bar and when they are vacuuming the restaurant you can hear it very loudly in the bar. It made me feel like it was 3 or 4am in the morning at the end of a wedding rather than 10.45pm as it was. Didn’t like this.

TIP – book a room on the Executive side, there is a €40 upgrade charge from the deluxe room, if you want to avoid the noise from wedding guests. The two sides of the hotel are well separated. I am a light sleeper and we didn’t hear a single noise all night or even in the morning which is rare in a wedding hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments in relation to your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. It is indeed our hope to offer a genuine welcome in harmony with high standards and also to offer good value to our guests. Please be assured that I will follow up on the timing of the vacuum cleaning as I accept that 10.45 is much too early. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again sometime. Best wishes, Deirdre & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmeath
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

I have been fortunate enough to have stayed in a number of top hotels in Ireland as well as in other countries, but Harvey's Point is now what perfect looks like.

The location is beautiful and I recommend a 5km walk around the area where the views are breathtaking. There is actually no need for a gym, etc...as this is the perfect area for running or cycling also.

The hotel itself is beautiful and the rooms were simply breathtaking. Don't be fooled - this hotel is a 5 star grade hotel without the 'stuffiness'.

The team at Harvey's Point were wonderful from the moment we arrived. We were properly shown the rooms and how to work AC, music volumes and accessories in the room - something that my older inlaws really appreciated. Yet it was casual.
We felt at ease with our 3 year old and after an hour in the place, the staff knew her name and made her very welcome.

Finially breakfast was fantastic and everything was available that you could possibly want - my in laws from Hungary loved it and enjoyed a stroll after finishing, before we were on our way to the cliffs in Carrick. The owners, managers and team should be proud of the great facility they provide us with and I wish them every success.

We will see them again

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
It was certainly our pleasure to welcome you and your lovely family to Harvey’s Point. I think that your in laws were our first Hungarian visitors ! Little Neasa was a delight to meet and on behalf of the Gysling Family and the entire team, thank you for choosing Harvey’s Point for your family gathering and we hope to meet you all again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Magnificant 21 hrs at Hravey's Point...from the welcome at Reception by Sean to the farewell..we had an amazing time.
A secret location no more. We were stunned by the location and the peaceful setting. Food was wonderful. Room was beautful . Excellent...we plan to return in the Autumn

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deaneandhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Each season at Harvey’s Point brings its own colours, scents and sounds and we look forward to welcoming you both back in the Autumn. Thank you so much for your lovely words which are most appreciated. Kind regards from Deirdre and all at Harvey’s Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing