We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“why is this not 5 star?”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
1 review
“why is this not 5 star?”
Reviewed February 14, 2011

I would thoroughly recommend Harveys Point to anyone looking for something a bit special, from the minute you park up, to the minute you leave the place is just top drawer. We unfortunately only had a 1 night stay but it was spectacular and would make me look for a refund from some other supposed 4 star hotels as they were way below the standard set at Harveys Point. First class room and first class food.

We will be back!

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James_McNeilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Currently, our strategy is to operate as a superior four star hotel with a special touch. However our bedrooms and service levels have been designed to five star criteria so that we can exceed expectations. Thank you very much for your lovely review. Kind regards from Jody, Marc, Deirdre and Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,721
    284
    65
    20
    9
See reviews for
673
2,537
55
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Largest hotel room i've ever stayed in! Lovely restaurant. Great service without being intrusive. Very quaint gift shop in lobby with unusual & unique gifts. Truly a relaxing get away for couples. Would not recommend to families with young children as no leisure centre.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrymaisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback. Our target market is couples who enjoy a romantic break away from it all but of course young guests are welcome too. We have long term plans for a swimming pool but currently our investment programme is focussing on refreshing the existing facilities. Greetings from all at Harvey's Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

My husband and i stayed at harveys point on 4/2/11 for our anniversary.I cannot tell you how surprised and delighted we were by the service and the warm friendily staff who made us feel completley welcome.We were welcome by a lovely member of staff who took s into the drawring room and preseted us with a free glass of champage before showing us to our deluxe room which was so clean and had everything from bathrobes to slippers which was a lovely touch it was pure class. The food in the resturant was superb and the taste divine,The staff went out of their way to make sure we were fully looked after.We will be returning next year and would like to add anyone staying at harveys point will not be dissapointed.Thank you t oyou all for making our anniversary extra special

Mr and Mrs Davis
Room 218

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dolsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Dear Mr & Mrs Davis, Congratulations on your wedding anniversary and thank you for choosing Harvey’s Point to celebrate such a special occasion. We look forward to welcoming you back next year. Wishing you all the best, The Gysling family and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2011

From the moment we entered the hotel until the moment we left the hotel staff were lovely. They were extremely helful and friendly. The food was amazing and the atmosphere was very relaxed. The pent house suite was out of this world, so luxurious. Myself and my Fiancé had a wonderful experience at Harveys point and look forward to returning to it in the future.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmwilson229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments in relation to your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. It was our pleasure to welcome you and your Fiancé to our hotel and we look forward to having you as our guests again sometime. Regards, Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2011

From the moment we arrived the welcome with champaigne and friendly staff set the weekend off to a great start.

Stepping into the delux room brought a surprised gasp from my wife which confirmed our choice for a special trip was to exactly the right hotel.

The weather was poor but that only enhanced the benefit of the hotel.

The food in both the Restaurant and the wine bar was outstanding and only surpassed by the standard of the service we received.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pearlyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Thank you for your positive review which is most appreciated by the Gysling Family and the Harvey’s Point Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roscommon
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We have just returned from Harveys Point this evening and I could not wait to get to my laptop and let the world know of this fabulous hotel! As a hotelier myself I am normally "looking" for faults when checking into a hotel - old habits die hard. I must say that from the moment we checked in we couldn't have been made feel more welcome. We were greated by the lovely smiling Sean who made us feel like we were old friends returning to the hotel. We had dinner in town on the first night but dined in the hotel on the 2nd night. Food was absolutely superb - my fiancee is still craving the fillet steak! Damien and his team were first class and their attention to detail is outstanding. We cannot wait to go back and will be recommending to family/friends and work colleagues!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ros1068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Our Vision at Harvey's Point is to be recognised as one of the leading hotels in Ireland and we sincerely appreciate when guests such as yourself take the time to write a review of your experience. Thank you. Kind regards from Deirdre, Sean, Damien and the entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

From the moment we arrived harveys point was a treat. The food in the gourmet restaurant was amazing and the carvery outstanding. Brought our doberman red who took full advantage of the beautiful lake and its surroundings. Will deffinatley be back to HP. Our room was gorgeous food amazing and all the staff so welcoming. Drove to Murvagh Beach each morning also for a lovely walk and would deffo reccommend this and all the beautiful drives around the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmalouisemonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
We were delighted to welcome you to Harvey's Point and a special welcome to your dog as well. We agree that there are lovely drives and miles of beaches to explore in beautiful Donegal.Thank you for your kind comments. Regards, Marc & Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
856 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
409 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
579 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HRS, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing