We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyable!”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable!”
Reviewed October 1, 2010

We were only able to spend one night at Harvey's Point due to our busy itinerary, but we really enjoyed our stay, and would visit again if we ever come back to Ireland.
We'd booked the bed, breakfast & dinner package, and on check-in we were offered an upgrade to an executive suite for an extra 20 euros - the suite was huge and beautifully decorated!
Dinner was amazing - the best meal of our trip so far! And at a cost of 80 euros for a 4 course dinner for 2, it was good value, drink prices in the restaurant were also reasonable. Breakfast was also great, with a good selection - creamy porridge with Bailey's and many other tasty treats!
The staff were all really friendly and helpful. And the setting is stunning and peaceful. All of these things combined, resulted in a thoroughly enjoyable stay, and I would recommend Harvey's Point to anyone looking for a special place to stay, as long as you don't mind staying a little bit out of town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brugwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, October 5, 2010
Situated just ten minutes drive from Donegal Town, Harvey's Point enjoys a unique and picturesque location on the shores of Lough Eske and at the foot of the Blue Stack Mountains. We are delighted that you found us on this visit to Ireland and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back next time for a relaxing break. We sincerely appreciate your comments in relation to value for money and the overall experience. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,636
    278
    64
    20
    9
See reviews for
653
2,473
55
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2010

A warm welcome, with service, food and rooms second to none. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, October 5, 2010
Thank you for your kind words about your recent experience at Harvey's Point. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2010

I travelled with my husband for our 40th wedding anniversary. Our children paid for this trip. The room was breathtaking, I just didn`t expect such luxury. The food was scrumptious and the waiting staff were helpful and charming, nothing was too much trouble. In fact we were made welcome from the moment we stepped into the hotel. A wonderful experience that we hope to have again soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jomagill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Congratulations on your 40th wedding anniversary. It is always our pleasure to welcome gests to celebrate a special occasion at Harvey’s Point. Many thanks for your kind comments in relation to the accommodation, food and service. We look forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Harvey's Point was fantastic and even that does not do it justice. We stayed in the Executive Suite it was amazing, we didnt want to leave the hotel to sight see! It was pure indulgence, so much so that we have promised ourselves that this is going to be our yearly treat to ourselves.

The staff were brilliant, they were warm and friendly nothing was a bother to them.

I loved all the little nookes and cranies that you could sit in and just relax.

Food was excellent and i have to mention The Harvey's Point cocktail....delicious....!

Thank you to Harvys Point for a brilliant time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinkerbell041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
We are delighted that you have enjoyed the Harvey’s Point Experience. Kind regards from Sara, our Bar Manager who invented the ‘Harvey’s Point Cocktail’. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2010

nicely situated in a peaceful area staf helpful and efficient, would definitely stay there again,

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DONEGAL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We visited the hotel on the 15th september for the cabaret show . I love this place we arrrived around 6pm that evening and after a prompt checkin we were shown to our room which was a premium room and it was beautiful . The service at the cabaret was brilliant and the show itself was great entertainment. The last couple of years now I try to come a couple of times a season and both nights are normally fabulous. Only thing I would say about the cabaret I personally would prefer to see Conal Gallen as the comedian for the night but that could be just personal choice . Cant wait to return ,

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank No1Babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Summer Cabaret Season 2010 was a great success and thank you for your continued loyalty and kind comments about Harvey’s Point. Conal Gallen is indeed a great comedian and good friend of ours. Hopefully he will be on the billboard again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We arrived on a wet misty day, but that did not take away from the breath taking surrounding views.

On check in we were up graded to to an executive suite. This room was amazing, absolutely amazing and is by far the best hotel room Ive stayed in.

The room was huge and very well equipped with a great size shower and circular bath.

The staff were exceptionally friendly and the food was great. There was lots of cosy nooks and crannys to sit and have a drink by.

We stayed for two nights and attended a wedding. The wedding reception had again the wow factor and the staff were extremely well co-ordinated and put on a great show at the top table.

My only regret was that I didnt stay another night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ilikesnicehotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Thank you for your positive review of Harvey's Point which is very much appreciated by the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back for a relaxing leisure break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing