We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Accommodation, food and service was outstanding”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Coleraine, United Kingdom
1 review
“Accommodation, food and service was outstanding”
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Harvey's Point was an outstanding experience of luxury at a high level. The room comprised of a foyer, minibar area, extensive bathroom and living area. The bathroom was so luxurious that time had to be spent lying in the spa bath with the candles provided (along with the matches) and looking up at a marble figurine placed on a shelf above the bath. The double sinks and dressing table in the bathroom also added to the luxury that you may not usually experience at home. The minibar was well stocked and complimentary tea, coffee (including a cafetere) cookies and fresh fruit were well appreciated.

The living area comprised of a 50" flat screen television, chaise longe, two easy chairs with footstools, a dining table and chairs, a king size bed and writing table - all of which still left loads of room to move around!

As for the food - I have never had food like it! The food was spectacular and finished to a high level. Breakfast in the morning comprised of every imaginable breakfast item including fresh gammoon cut as you waited, freshly squeezed juices (definitely not from cartons) and pancakes made as you waited!

The service was outstanding. All staff made a point of speaking when passing on corridors and Sean the porter was an excellent welcoming face and character, intact with Irish charm. The impressive aspect of the service was when we were checking out and did not realise that we had been booked in for an evening meal on one of the nights - this was simply amended on our bill. Another apsect which was impressive was when we paid our bill and we were asked if we wanted complimentary water and fruit for our journey home - something we have never experienced.

As for the surroundings - totally breath-taking views and an array of walks that take you down by the lough to watch the geese!

A truly idyllic experience!

The only thing was that initially there was no spa mentioned, but, when we arrived there was a leaflet which stated that there was a beauty room whereby you could have reflexology or massages - that will have to happen on the next visit!

On a different note - we attended a wedding on this occasion and it has to be said that any bride would feel totally treasured if having their reception in this venue!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiesomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,633
    278
    64
    20
    9
See reviews for
653
2,473
55
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Went to celebrate my Wife's Birthday. Was given a free upgrade to a far better room as a bonus. Service and food was superb. Overall was sorry I had only booked one night. This is an expensive hotel but you certainly get what you pay for. Luxury. Will definately return

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olearyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2010

As we were unable to book twin room we were given a double bed and bed settee which worked out fine. The room was big enough to let each one have "their own space". I liked the idea of being in the courtyard where you had your own front door outside. If I had any down sides it would be that the room was quite dark and may have needed some refurbishment but these are only minor details. The staff really knew their job and made us feel very welcome. The food was the highlight of our visit! Very comfortable dining area, beautiful view and fabulous food very well presented. Stay for one night only but very relaxing and came away with a feel good factor!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TyroneAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Emjoyed our recent staty with great staff - rthanks to Sean and Teresa - but only one fault - rooms lack either sufficient fresh air ventilation or air conditionning and sleep was difficult in the ensuing heat. Restaurant is first class for both breakfast and evening meals and great value all round. The absence of small children is to be welcommed by some!! Thoroughly recommended and will return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDeclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, General Manager at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
On behalf of Sean, Teresa and the entire Harvey's Point team, thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and we are delighted you enjoyed the Harvey's Point Experience. Your point in relation to the lack of air conditioning is fair. Our Irish weather only rarely blesses us with a heatwave and for those occasions, we have installed high quality fans in each bedroom. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gweedore, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

I have stayed in hotels all over the world but this has to be the worst 4* star experience ever!
Whilst the rooms were to a good level and the setting delightfull our experience was ruined by the following points -

No spa / leisure facilities - I asked about these at reception, but the response was a flat "No"

When we went to the bar there was no space for residents as there was a very loud concert going on. We couldn't get a drink before our meal as the staff were rushed off their feet.
We eventually went through to the restaurant for our meal. We ordered drinks off a very somber & unfriendly waiter. We don't know his name as he didn't introduce himself. He was looked Asian in appearence. I also felt that his grasp of English was very poor as we had to repeat our order a number of times. Perhaps his mood was down to the noise coming from the bar. It was like being at a concert, except louder...not what you expect from a 4* dining experience!
Whilst the food was very good we found that the service wasn't that good & the noise coming from the bar soured our overall experience.
We had heard about the hotel from friends but it didn't match upto the experience we had expected.
Whilst the hotel promised so much it failed to deliver interms of service & tranquility.
We will NOT be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank movinaround08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Harvey’s Point is renowned for high standards of customer care in a peaceful and tranquil setting. However, I accept your comments in relation to your experience in our hotel on Sunday 8th August. In response to several requests for entertainment in the lounge, we hosted an evening of music and song, which was enjoyed by many. However, it is fair to say that the noise level was too high and the event attracted such a large number of people that this may have had an impact on service levels. Please be assured that this was a ‘once off’ event and we have learned from the experience. We hope you will accept our apology and thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2010

What a lovely experience. From the warm welcome to the friendly goodbye four days later. Our room was so large and luxurius ( there was even a doorbell as you could easily not hear a kock!) We were a bit disappointed not to have a view of the lake or the mountains, we overlooked the gardens and the back of the courtyard bungalows, however we were able to sit at the windows overlooking the lake at several meal times.The size, comfort and cleanliness of our twin suite was excellent and the complimentary toiletries were replaced daily. We especialy liked the fresh jug of milk(placed in the large well stocked minibar/fridge) , apple and pear and little cookies in a jar that were replenished daily. There was no noise from neighbours and we slept soundly - lovely soft comfortable pillows! The breakfast was very good and we were very impressed by the quick delivery of tea/coffee and toast to our table whilst we helped ourselves to the ample buffet. Chris who made the pancakes in front of you was such a friendly lad we were very inmpressed by his manner, in fact all the waiters/waitresses were friendly and efficient. Although the service in the bar was quite slow, on a couple of occasions my husband had to go up and request a menu (it wasn't busy either), but dining at Harveys Point is a very pleasurable experience especially the gourmet dinner. We so enjoyed our stay we tried to book a fourth night but they were fully booked (not surprisingly!) When we were leaving we were wished a safe journey home and offered complimentary bottles of water for the trip. Its all these thoughtful touches that go to make a stay at Harveys Point an exceptional and pleasurable experience.We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizandbenob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2010

My husband has been ill for over a year and Harvey's Point was the first break away. The staff were excellent in helping with wheel chair assistance and helped make our stay memorable. I would recommend Harvey's Point strongly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lylamccomish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing