We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply The Best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Co.Down, N.Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply The Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

We have just returned from another 4 x night stay at this stunningly beautiful & peaceful hotel, and although we stayed here at Easter, our return visit did not disappoint.
Why is this hotel so appealing ? - Well, the location is beautiful - regardless of weather & Ireland's renowed 'Soft Rain'; the staff are always very welcoming, courteous & helpful - including the owner, Deidre, who makes all her guests feel at home; the accomodation is superb - room sizes to suit everyone; and, last, but by no means least, the food is delicious! ( A big plus on this visit is the extended food menu in the Wine Bar).
I love Harvey's Point - it is a very special hotel with a lovely ambiance, and hopefully will return in the Autumn for another few days of fine wine & food.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddy088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,529
    264
    60
    20
    9
See reviews for
617
2,400
54
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

Well, back to Harvey's Point for another bout of luxurious relaxation. As always, exemplary service and stunning surroundings, complemented by magnificent dining. Nothing is too much trouble, and the service is attentive but discreet. As for the food, well it's simply wonderful, and the breakfasts are to die for....

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fjr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

This has been our second trip to Harveys. On arrival you are greeted by a smiling face and a welcoming atmosphere, we stayed in a premiere room which was large and well fitted out, an excellent bathroom. Service to the room was super. The hotel itself is well laid out and great for anyone with a disability. Food is very good, decor is a little OTT but that is a very personal view and we would still go back tomorrow, the only thing I would think would add to the great experience would be to have an I Pod dock in the rooms.
All the staff are fantastic. and the location is out of this world if you want to hear silence. I wish I had shares in it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChasMcKaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

Our stay included 2 nights bed & breakfast, cabaret and 5 course meal. The whole package was value for money. The cabaret was very professional and entertaining. The meal was exquisite. The room was 5 star and the service was personal and beyond reproach. The hotel was spotless and well maintained. If they didn't have it, you didn't need it! The atmosphere was warm and friendly and the views were stunning. The walk around the lake was relaxing and refreshing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charliechada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

A great hotel. Enjoyed our stay despite bad weather. Staff very helpful. Food great. Accomodation amazing. The whole place has a cosy feeling . Excellent attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosekemple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywood
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

Very pleasant and informative receptionist who also escorted us to our room. Made us feel very welcome. We also received a courtesy phone call about 10 mins after setting into our room to inquire if everything was to our satisfaction. The room, in the Courtyard, was very spacious with a four-poster comfortable bed, had a writing desk, settee for viewing TV or relaxing over a drink.
Set in a quiet tranquil lakeside setting and surrounded by hills the hotel was the perfect place to relax or go for a walk. Many activities were suggested but we did not have enough time to experience these. What we liked best was the level of service provided by every member of staff we encountered. In the dining room service was of the highest standard, the quality of food at breakfast or the banquet evening meal excellent and the design and decoration of the dining room superb. All in all a very pleasant and memorable visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob-on-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

i loved this hotel, anything i need was catered for, staff are so friendly, and the atmosphere was so relaxing and inviting. i would recommend this hotel and would return for another stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megan456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
2.6 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing