We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning .... just stunning”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stunning .... just stunning”
Reviewed March 16, 2010

One of only three hotels in the world that ticks all the boxes for me. The bedrooms are outrageously roomy and finished to a very high standard. All staff were friendly, professional and efficient. It is impossible to pass a member of staff without them smiling and saying "good morning".
I will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian_S_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,678
    282
    64
    21
    9
See reviews for
662
2,506
55
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wexford
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2010

i found all the staff so helpfull & friendly & to anyone staying the weekend sunday lunch a must it was just out of this world

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gastronomicWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Antrim, N. Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

My husband and I have been going to Harvey's Point every November for the past 6 years. It is the highlight of the winter for us and we always cherish our visit to Donegal; we book year on year and this hotel has never failed to impress. The staff are charming and very knowledgeable; the rooms are extremely comfortable and spacious and the food in the dining room is fabulous!! Even when the Donegal weather is bad, it is just so peaceful sitting in the reading room and staring out at the Blue Stack Mountains and Lough Eske. A little piece of Heaven on earth..................

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fionar1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

We stayed for Valentines weekend and everything was perfect! Rooms so big you have a doorbell! We ordered room service and when it arrives the lay the table in the window with linen tablecoths, flowers..the works! Bathrooms are huge, well equipped and I especially loved the make up table with the lights all around the mirror.
Dinner in the gourmet restaurant was outstanding, 5 courses not including the amuse bouche and chef sample of dessert. Every morsel was delocious. On our second night we ate in the steakhouse were the food is also good but not a patch on the gourmet menu.
All staff were very welcoming accommodating and went out of thier way to help. Sally, Joanne and Damien deserve a special mention for going over and above the call of duty :)
The beds are huge - I could roll over 4 times and not reach the other side! Surroundings of the hotel are fabulous also/

I would recommend this to anyone who likes relaxation , good food, good wine and pure and utter luxury

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suzry
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We had a lovely weekend break in this hotel. The service and food were excellent. The staff were really friendly and made us feel so looked after. Our room was enormous and comfortable. The hotel isn't trendy and new but the trade off is a very comfortable hotel (with open fires) run to a very high standard and without the little niggles that are inevitable in newer places. And breakfast was abundant and delicious- alway a winner!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

I stayed here in November 2009 . From the start to finish I was treated like royalty. The receptionist was friendly and welcoming. The resturant manager was excellent and it clearly shows that he loves his job. The conceirge was again friendly and engaged in small talk which was most welcomed after a long day traveling on my own.The book room was indeed relaxing. The only fault i found was on my side that I didnt bring my dog as i hear that Dogs are very welcomed, perhaps nex, time :) The food was incrediable. The hotel def deserves 5 stars

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2009

I spent a couple of days in this fabulous hotel in Nov and I couldn't recommend it highly enough. I have seen that some of the reviews thought the service was impersonal but I found the opposite, they couldn't have been nicer. The room was huge and so too was the bathroom. I was a little taken aback when I saw the bog water in the bath (very brown) but when you get over the look of it, my skin felt great after the bath. Make sure you try the smoothies and the gammon at breakfast, divine! I would love to have stayed longer and taken advantage of the fabulous walks surrounding the hotel. I was surprised before I went that there was no spa or leisure centre but by the time I was leaving I reckon they don't need them. It is a perfect place to relax and unwind. I will be back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingjane123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
818 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
400 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
570 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing