We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas at Harvey's Point” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas at Harvey's Point”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2008

Just arrived back home after our Christmas Break at Harvey's Point. We have been married for 35 years and without a doubt this has been our best Christmas. Very friendly staff, outstanding accomodation, excellent food and entertainment over the holiday period. TOP CLASS.
Don & Joan Galbraith
Co Down

  • Liked — The size of the suites.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JoanGlbrth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,532
    264
    60
    20
    9
See reviews for
617
2,402
54
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin,
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2008

We loved this hotel. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Our dinner was great, fantastic menu with a great choice of wine. The room was huge and so comfortable. The surrounding countryside is just lovely and we were disapointed not to be staying longer so we could enjoy it more. We can't wait to go back there.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luna101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2008

We visited Harvey's Point recently and had a wonderful, relaxing break. The highlights were - warm Donegal welcome....pleasant surroundings...committed, attentive staff....beautiful bedrooms....great bathrooms.....stunning views......turf fires.......exqusite food. We only stayed one night but we will definately return as it is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The attention to detail, food and staff easily make this hotel 5* standard. Worthy of particular mention is the lovely smiling 'Tara' who greeted us on arrival and Eamonn Gillespie who made our stay extra special.

  • Liked — Spacious Bedrooms, lovely bathrooms
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ABSH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2008

pure luxury, from beginning to end, one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed in, would recommend hands down, have stayed couple of times now and every time is better than the last.... a must for any traveller...

  • Liked — turf fires and the lake
  • Disliked — going home
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank serialtraveller006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyrone
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2008

Ever since i booked my break, i'd looked forward to it and i was not disappointed. I had an Executive room overlooking the Blue Stack mountains; it had net curtains for privacy but they blocked my view so i opened those and my view was perfect. it helped that i had perfect autumn weather with a cold sharp sun, but it was heaven indeed. the room was just massive, bigger than any i have ever stayed in and was luxury indeed - even the very bathroom was bigger than a lot of living rooms ive been in! there was a little ante-room/hall where i could have happily slept it was so cosy, but the bed was better! it was that big i never even knew there was someone else in it. and food was unreal. nothing was short of perfect. the whole atmosphere was one of complete relaxation and contentment, with soft lighting, quiet turf fires to sit by.it was a complete package. on the last morning of my visit i went for a walk alone following one of the rambling routes from the harveys guide - it was enough to whet my appetitie and i want to come back for more. i have never, ever, ever, stayed in a place where i felt so relaxed and even though i walked for over two hours as a lone female, i felt so safe. i have been in some good hotels before, but i came home and already i have told everyone i have met about it and have started to save to go back - harveys may not be cheap, but if you ever have to go to donegal just once, make this your place to stay. if i have one small point to make and it is only a point of constructive criticism - turn up the heat on the walkway from the bedrooms to the main part of the hotel - it is freezing!!!!

  • Liked — perfect solitude
  • Disliked — piped bathroom music - would be nice on a romantic break to use my own music.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ellie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2008

Suoer sized bedrooms with comfortable bed and spacious bathroom.Breakfast was hectic as there was a wedding party and we had to queue for the buffet.The hotel is remote in a nice setting .The food is average.My sister returned her steak and mine wasnt much better.Generally poor value for money especially with no leisure or Spa facilities.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Murleog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, November 14, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to present your comments on your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. We appreciate all customer feedback as is assists us in driving continuous
improvement and allows us to address any issues which may arise.

On behalf of the Gysling Family and the Harvey’s Point Team, we accept your comments and extend our apologies that we did not exceed your expectations on this occasion. Please be assured that we will follow-up on the issues mentioned.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2008

We stayed in the Penthouse for our wedding anniversary on the 20th of August. We had received a voucher as a gift from Harvey's Point as we'd had our wedding reception there 3 years ago. We were so glad that we had paid an upgrade as i can only describe it as maginficant! The staff, the service, the food and the penthouse were wonderful! Everything about this hotel is superb, we have stayed in some fantasic 5 *hotels all over the world and Harvey's Point is really up there with the best of them. It should be really re classified as a 5* hotel. Our wedding anniversary was just magical. Book you will not be disappointed!!

  • Liked — The size and decor of the penthouse!
  • Disliked — There was nothing to dislike!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PG626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing