We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Heaven”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2014

My new husband and i spent our honeymoon at this hotel and what can i say? Amazing!!!! This hotel is pure luxury, we went to the cabaret whilst we were there and it was brilliant, i wasn't sure if it would be too our taste however we really enjoyed it. The dinner at the cabaret was lovely and very well organised. Had a small problem on checkout which was eventually sorted out, so all in all we cannot wait to return to this hotel, probably one of the best hotels i have visited and i am very fussy where i stay!!!!!!!!!! Would definitely recommend the cabaret, we are looking forward to our next visit, hopefully it will be soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc G, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear Sharon,

Thank you most sincerely for your kind compliments in relation to your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. We were especially delighted to welcome you on the occasion of your honeymoon. Congratulations from the Gysling Family and the entire Team.

It’s wonderful to know that you both enjoyed an exceptional experience and we all appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. It is encouraging to learn that the minor issue at check-out was resolved to your satisfaction.

Thank you for your high recommendation of the cabaret and the hotel in general. We very much look forward to extending another warm Donegal welcome to you on your next visit.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,202)
There are newer reviews for Harvey's Point
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,133 - 2,139 of 4,202 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2014

We have just returned from Harveys Point after 10 fantastic days, the location and rooms in this hotel are second to none, but I have to say the staff are absolutely fantastic, every single member of staff we came into contact with were very helpful, kind and genuinely friendly, not the gushy kind of friendliness that is so obviously insincere, they really did want to help make you stay as fantastic as possible, and they most definitely succeeded!, we have stayed here a few times before and every time we have found the care and consideration to us to be outstanding, I could personally name staff, but I would be worried about leaving someone out as they are all great. Thank you everyone for helping make are stay brilliant

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Avril O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc G, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Dear Avril,

A warm welcome back to Harvey’s Point and thank you so much for your lovely review. It is always great to have you as our guest. Your continued loyalty is greatly appreciated by us all.

We are indeed very lucky to have a team who genuinely care about our guests. The welcome and attention comes from the heart. As the saying goes, ‘it is the people who make the place’.

We look forward to welcoming you ‘home’ to Harvey’s Point again sometime in the not too distant future.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Superb hotel fabulous rooms
service second to none
Very relaxing place especially for special occasions
best breakfast you can get
Superb food at the cabaret
great walks around the hotel
personal touch at mealtimes is well appreciated

Room Tip: any room they are all superb
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank seamus o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc G, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Dear Seamus,

We thank you most sincerely for your kind compliments about our hotel. We are delighted to learn that you had a most enjoyable experience at Harvey’s Point. This means so much to us. Rest assured that we will continue to work towards excellence in hotel keeping and hospitality.

We hope you will plan a return visit soon.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

My husband and I had a fantastic stay here. The rooms were massive, the bathroom was spectacular!!! The staff throughout the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel setting was beautiful- very peaceful.
The reading room and bar offered space to chill out. The food in the restaurant was first class, especially the breakfast.
Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that has the opportunity to stay here. Go for it!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 280Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc G, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your comments following your recent dining experience at Harvey’s Point. It’s good to know that you enjoyed our Sunday Carvery Lunch. In response to guests’ needs, we also have an option for light bites in our daily dining menu which is in Harvey’s Bar.

We hope to have the opportunity to be of service to you again sometime in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
The Gysling Family, Noel & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We visited this fine establishment for Sunday lunch and yes it is in a beautiful setting on the lake, where they are catering for the masses.
There is a very plentiful choice of starters and desserts, all provided buffet style in an adjoining room. The carvery fare is as expected and very tasty, all washed down with nice wines.
The overall menu is quite pricey if you do not want all the courses.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ciaran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc G, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your comments following your recent dining experience at Harvey’s Point. It’s good to know that you enjoyed our Sunday Carvery Lunch. In response to guests’ needs, we also have an option for light bites in our daily dining menu which is in Harvey’s Bar.

We hope to have the opportunity to be of service to you again sometime in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
The Gysling Family, Noel & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We just spent 5 days of our honeymoon in Harveys and it far exceeded our expectations.The suites are amazing and so peaceful with lovely views of the lake. The food was superb both for breakfast and dinner. The staff are so lovely and nothing is too much trouble.We were lucky to be able to get table for the Caberet, it was truly amazing, the meal was georgous with great choice. Noel makes the Caberet a memorable night for anyone celebrating and event and he certainly made our night very special for us.
If you have not been to Harveys put it on your To Do List !! You will not be disappointed.
We cant wait to go back
Well done to everyone in Harveys You are a unique Team
Thank you Eugene /Fidelma

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thurles11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc G, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Dear Eugene & Fidelma,

Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for choosing Harvey’s Point for the celebrations. It was our pleasure to welcome you on such a special occasion.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments in relation to your experience and it is great to know that you had such a lovely holiday with us. We hope you have brought home many treasured memories of your honeymoon.

Special greetings from Noel and his entire Team who all work so hard to ensure that each guest is made to feel to home at Harvey’s Point.


Kind regards,

Deirdre & Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

If your on holiday to see the sights and mingle with the locals - this is not the place - you are far from town ... the rooms however are huge and the bathroom suite was bigger than many hotel rooms - The restaurant food was good and they had a nice wine selection. The Bar has a "Terrible Singer" and mist everyone walked out ---

Room Tip: If you wan tot escape - this is the place --- if you want to meet people this is too far from town.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Dear Patrick,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments in relation to your visit to Harvey’s Point in June. We are always keen to listen to guest feedback and we do our utmost to deliver on our promise of enchanting lakeside luxury, top class accommodation, fine food and a warm Irish welcome. You are right - Harvey’s Point is a place to escape, to retreat from the busy world.

Harvey’s Point Lakeside Resort is a destination in itself or can also be an ideal base for touring the beautiful county of Donegal. Located just 10 minutes drive from town, the sights and sounds of Donegal and all its attractions are only a short distance away.

We offer entertainment three to four nights a week with our compliments, for residents to enjoy in Harvey’s Bar. Understandably, the entertainment may not be to everyone’s taste and that is why we also have the facility of the relaxing reading room overlooking Lough Eske or indeed the private lounge area of each of our suites.

Thank you for your positive remarks regarding the accommodation, the food and the wine selection.

We hope you might consider Harvey’s Point on a future occasion should you have need of relaxation and respite. Our Team is at your service.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
926 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
424 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
603 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: $247 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing