We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Just returned from a fabulous night at Harvey's Point Hotel. We booked a package that included Sunday lunch and an overnight stay. When we checked in we were told we had been given a free upgrade to the Penthouse!!! You can imagine our joy. It was huge it had a guest bathroom, a huge private bathroom complete with Jacuzzi, a living room with tv and dining room, a bar, hallway, huge bedroom with another tv and dressing room. I was in heaven. Our lunch was gorgeous as was breakfast next morning. We had it delivered to our room. To be honest I didn't want to leave. The staff are so friendly and helpful. This is our fourth visit it just gets better every time. Cant wait to go back. Thank-you Harvey's Point for another wonderful stay.

Room Tip: All bedrooms inside hotel are amazing.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Caroline,

A warm welcome back again to Harvey's Point. Thank you for your continued loyalty which we value. It is most rewarding and encouraging to know that exceed expectations at each visit. We do try to keep improving our product and service and guest feedback plays a key role in this.

We look forward to seeing you again and in the meantime, we send you our warmest wishes.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,203)
There are newer reviews for Harvey's Point
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,240 - 2,246 of 4,204 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night break which was just the most lovely experience ever! On arrival we were greeted by Sean and Ryan who both made us feel so very welcome with their warm and genuine smiles and greetings. We were there to celebrate our recent engagement and on the Wednesday evening we were made to feel so special by Noel Cunningham who is the General Manager and Compere of a fantastic Cabaret Dinner show at the hotel which has Roly Daniels amongst other fabulous acts appearing. The atmosphere at the hotel is amazingly tranquil and peaceful and along with all the staff who provide legendary customer service this really is a hotel I will be recommending to friends and family. All rooms at this hotel are perfect, the food is outstanding and the whole ambience makes for the perfect holiday. Thanks so much , we can not wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marian40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Marian,

We thank you most sincerely for your kind compliments following your recent visit to Harvey's Point. It was our pleasure to welcome you.

Please be assured that we will continue to look for new ways of impressing our guests. It all begins and ends with the people who make the place - our Team. They are thrilled to hear such positive feedback on their high levels of customer care.

The Cabaret is receiving rave reviews and for sure we will forward your comments to Roly Daniels and the other fabulous acts.

Thank you once again and we look forward to being of service to you again soon.
Special greetings from Noel, Sean & Ryan.



Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband booked a 2 night break for my birthday. Hotel staff were very friendly and chatty. Our room was beautiful it had a four poster bed and the jacuzzi bath was so relaxing. The food was gorgeous. A walk by the lake after breakfast is a must! Try it, you will not be disappointed. We will definitely be returning guests!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoisinSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Roisin,

Sincere thanks for your lovely review which is very much appreciated by the Gysling Family & Team. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable visit to Harvey's Point.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Deirdre & Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Out of this world hotel! The location, the staff, the room, the food, Harvey the goose, were all sensational. Highly recommend. Loved the Swiss theme across the hotel. Although one personal recommendation would be to include a Swiss chocolate counter. Can't wait until our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear James,

We love your suggestion about setting up a Swiss Chocolate Counter. Super idea. Thank You.
’Swiss made in Ireland’ is our theme which is a blend of world class hotel keeping married with genuine Irish hospitality.

Special greetings from Harvey, our resident senior citizen goose.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.



Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We booked 2 nights at Harveys Point but enjoyed it so much we stayed for four.Every thing was great from start to finish.Will surely return in the future but with family and/ or friends .All staff we met were courteous and helpful ++. Great food lovely bar area with scrummy cocktails. Cabaret night was fantastic ..A truly memorable stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and beautifully furnished. All the facilities and more to make a stay pleasur...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Steve12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Steve,

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable experience at Harvey’s Point and it’s great to hear that you extended your stay.

Thank you for your lovely kind words about our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Perfection in every way possible - friendly staff, fabulous food and a hotel room that you could stay in forever!! Have had a fabulous stay here and would highly recommend it if you want a chilled break in the beautiful Donegal countryside. Thankyou to everyone there especially Sean who is perfectly suited for greeting people and Nancy in the restaurant for her lovely welcome. Will definitely return

Room Tip: We were in a deluxe room that had a jacuzzi which was great as there are no spa facilities
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Paul,

Sincere thanks for your kind compliments following your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. It was our pleasure to welcome you. We appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to extending another Donegal welcome to you sometime in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I had the pleasure of coming to Harvey's Point for a conference. My wife and I had a suite that was larger than most apartments in NYC - seriously, much larger. The hotel is just oozing with charm and grace and the staff is very attentive. The food in the restaurant was fabulous and my wife said the spa was wonderful (I was working that day, so I'll have to take her word for it). We didn't get to roam the beautiful grounds (it was raining, but hey, it's Ireland) but we did get a glimpse of them when we arrived. You'll be very happy to head here for a holiday. It's a slice of heaven in the corner of Ireland.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room, they're all so well appointed.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Alan,

Thank you for your lovely review. We appreciate your high recommendation of Harvey’s Point. It was certainly our pleasure to welcome you and your wife to our hotel.

Please be assured that we will continue in our quest for excellence in world class hotel keeping blended with genuine Irish hospitality.

We hope to have the pleasure of your company again sometime, if you plan a return visit to Ireland. Our Team is at your service.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
926 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
424 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
603 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: $247 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing