We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the standard to acheive!”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Our second visit and no surprise to find the very high standards being maintained in all departments. As before when surrounded by dedicated staff it becomes unfair, if not physically impossible to single out any one team member for special mention, so maybe it should be a special mention for the resident goose (Harvey I believe).
Off the beaten track? not really, the track is well beaten, but well worth the effort.

Room Tip: Loughshore rooms are very good, quiet with views of the lock, the upgrade to superior loughshore is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Ian,

Once again, it was our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey’s Point and thank you most sincerely for your kind compliments about our hotel and in particular our dedicated team.

Harvey, our resident senior citizen, will of course be delighted to receive a special mention.

Please be assured that we will continue in our efforts to find new ways to delight our discerning guests.

We look forward to your return visit sometime in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,445 - 2,451 of 4,363 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

Went to Harvey's Point because it was my little sisters special birthday. My mum and my two sisters came along and it was simply stunning. We stayed in the Lakeshore Suites and the views were magnificent.
The staff were wonderful and the breakfast and the dinner were amazing. Thank you to everyone at Harvey's Point who made our stay so special. Especially to the chefs who made a wonderful birthday cake for my sister.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lakeshore Suites 402 and 403 and the views were amazing. Definitely cannot wait to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissy1615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Chrissy,

Thank you for selecting Harvey’s Point to celebrate your sister’s birthday. It was our pleasure to welcome your family to our hotel.

We are thrilled that you were impressed by the Lakeshore Suites and also the dining experiences during your stay.

Please extend our warmest wishes to you all and we hope you will make a return journey again sometime in the future.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

As soon as I arrived at Harvey's point i was very impressed with how well i was treated and welcomed from the quick and attentive service to the most beautiful view that surrounds the hotel! My stay at Harvey's Point was comfortable, enjoyable and definitely worth the travel! Overall I had a wonderful time and would recommend everyone to visit Harvey's Point Hotel, Donegal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Melissa,

Thank you so much for your kind words following your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. We were delighted to have you stay with us and we appreciate your recommendation.

It is our hope that you will return again sometime where once again, the warmest of welcomes awaits.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This was our second stay at Harvey's point and it was just as we remembered, a fantastic relaxing, luxurious break. From the moment you arrive you start to relax, the penthouse suite was such at treat, so spacious with a lovely jacuzzi bath. The food in the restaurant amazing especially the breakfast buffet; the selection and quality of the food was great including the gluten free section and its lovely to be able to sit outside the bar in the sun with a drink enjoying the view of the lake. Whilst the staff are always on hand to help and are very friendly, there is a uniquely laid back atmosphere to the hotel which makes it very special. We took in some of the local cycle routes to Donegal and the Coastal routes, the views were outstanding and overall this was a really great break we would recommend this hotel highly and look forward to returning

Room Tip: all the rooms are very large and luxurious and the location very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Sincere thanks for your lovely description of your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. It was truly our pleasure to welcome you and it is great to know that you have returned home relaxed and refreshed.

We look forward to being of service to you once again on your return visit.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We had a wonderful experience staying at Harvey's Point - I booked directly through the website and got a great deal. You need to be able to drive to get there as it is off the beaten track - but it's really worth it.
The hotel is situated on the beautiful Lough Eske - surroundings were woodland and there is a calm and serene atmosphere at the hotel.
The staff were very accommodating and as we had a baby, prior to arrival offered to set up a travel cot for us.

We were very fortunate to be given a free upgrade to their penthouse suite as it was our honeymoon. This made our trip extra special (thank you Harvey's point!)
The Penthouse suite was huge - like an apartment and added bonus of a very large bathroom with large jacuzzi bath. Lots of nice little extras like fresh fruit and cookies, really made us feel welcomed.

Breakfast in the morning was a veritable feast! There was lots to choose from; cereals, fruit, pastries, meats and cheeses, cooked breakfast, freshly made eggs and pancakes, lots of juices and good coffee.
The bar staff also make a great cocktail - bar prices were reasonable too.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to others and hope to return soon.
(Extra thanks to Aoife Doherty and her kindness prior to arrival!)

Room Tip: Definitely worth going for a suite room - pure luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Running_Epilogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for selecting to stay at Harvey’s Point during your honeymoon. The Gysling Family and Team wish you both every happiness for the future.

Thank you for your kind compliments in relation to your visit to our hotel. It was an honour and a pleasure to welcome and look after you both and your little one on such a special occasion.

Special greetings from Aoife (one of our new recruits) who will be proud to receive a well deserved mention. I will personally ensure that she receives a copy of your review.

Many thanks for your high recommendation. We love your comment “off the beaten track but worth it”. Thank you once again.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Thank you for the wonderful stay! Wish we could have stayed longer
What a wonderful surprise! So beautiful peaceful and relaxing
Next trip to Ireland we will plan to stay at Harvey's point longer! Great food and service too!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Laurel,

It was truly our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey’s Point. We are delighted that you discovered our little piece of ‘heaven’ here in Donegal. We would love to welcome you back again for a longer visit next time.

Thank you for your kind compliments.

Special greetings from the Gysling Family, Noel our General Manager and our Team.


Kind regards,

Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed here with my wife in may to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. What a beautiful setting the hotel is in at the shores of lough eske. The staff are very friendly and helpful when we arrived and the executive room was massive with a very large comfortable bed. The separate kitchen area was great and the bathroom was large with a massive shower and best of all a jacuzzi bath. Bar area is lovely to sit and unwind and the breakfast we had was superb and a big variety of food to suit everyone. Did not eat at the restaurant due to us traveling around but have heard great reports from it from friends who have stayed there to. Would most definitely book again.
What you waiting on BOOK IT!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quickster1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Sincere thanks for your high recommendation of Harvey’s Point. This is greatly appreciated by us and we shall continue in our efforts to delight our guests at every opportunity.

It was our pleasure to welcome you to our hotel and thank you for choosing Harvey’s Point for your 20 year wedding anniversary celebrations. We are honoured to have been selected as the chosen venue for such a special occasion.

We look forward to having you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
969 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
617 reviews
13 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,218 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: $223 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing