We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and staff”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time in this excellent hotel on beautiful Lough Eske. It was a special birthday treat for my husband and we were upgraded to a Premium Suite which really made our day. The staff were very professional and friendly at the same time. The food in the restaurant was first class and the bar food wasn't bad either.!! Many of the clientele were in our own age group (60's) with lots of common interests. Hoping for a return visit in the near future as no doubt we'll find something to celebrate in style. Harvey's Point must be Donegal's best kept secret so please feel free to tell everyone!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Una C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Una,

Thank you for your lovely review which is very much appreciated by the Gysling Family & Team. We are always happy to receive positive feedback, especially if there are areas for improvement.

Please extend belated birthday wishes to your husband. Thank you for choosing Harvey's Point to mark the occasion.

We would be delighted if you would share our 'secret' and help spread the word of the magic of Harvey's Point. Thank you so much.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest wishes for Christmas and the New Year,

Deirdre, Marc and Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,688 - 2,694 of 4,320 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights just recently and what a delightful special stay - the best ever. We had a large Deluxe room with lovely relaxing classical music in the bathroom and candles with a Jacuzzi - the food was absolutely delicious - the entertainment was second to non - the atmosphere friendly and the staff were just flowing - so so nice - what more can you ask for well worth the money. We would definitely recommend this hotel it's an absolute jewel in the crown of Donegal, to the owners of this establishment. Well done on your sense of attention to detail and real homely comfort. I have to add that Noel Cunningham was the best host ever a real asset to Harvey's Point. Looking forward to 30 December when we will be staying again and more to follow. Jen&George

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeayre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Jen & George,


Thank you for your delightful review and special words of praise in relation to your recent visit to Harvey's Point. We are thrilled to hear such positive feedback.

It was truly our pleasure to welcome you and your partner to our hotel and we certainly look forward to your return visit later this month.

Noel, our GM and the rest of our dedicated team join in sending you our warmest wishes and sincere thanks.


Kind regards,

Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I recently choose Harveys Pont for my wifes special birthday treat as it was always her desire to have a weekend break there. We were delighted with our accomodation upgrade and the lovely relaxing classical music in the bathroom with the candles and jacuzzi which added to the feeling of well being and calm. The presistent rain was for once a welcome thing as we made full use of the large room with wide screen tv and kitchen facility to snuggle up to watch all her favourite programmes! we also enjoyed the scrumptious buffet breakfasts and xmas cabaret, (Although one little thing was the cold my wife got as we were sitted near the fire door in the ballroom and when the heat went off i noticed her shivering and she is sniffling now.) Apart from that we have no complaints and found the mature staff welcoming and kind and a real asset to the hotel. We would definately recommend this hotel it is an absolute jewel in the crown of Donegal,to the owners of this establishment... well done on your sense of attention to detail and comfort.

Room Tip: deluxe suite for that extra little bit of luxury!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear James,

On behalf of the Gysling Family and the Harvey's Point Team, may I extend our sincere thanks for your kind compliments following your recent visit to our hotel.

May I also take this opportunity to wish your wife a belated Happy Birthday. We appreciate you choosing Harvey's Point for the celebrations.

It is rewarding and encouraging to learn that your experience was enjoyable and that you have returned home relaxed and refreshed.

Apologies for the issue with heat and we will do our utmost to correct this in that area of the ballroom. (Normally the curtains are closed on winter evenings to keep the room cosy and warm but naturally the area near the fire escape has to be kept visible at all times).

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again sometime and in the meantime, we wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Kind regards,

Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed here for a Christmas Party Night recently and must say it was one of the best nights entertainment I've had in years. The staff are very attentive and couldn't do enough for you. The food is fantastic and the variety of entertainment was great. I would highly recommend Harvey's Point Hotel for a relaxing and entertaining break. The rooms are extremely large and very nicely furnished and the location is very peaceful and the grounds are lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Deborah,

Thank you for taking the time to comment so favorably on your recent visit to Harvey's Point. It means a lot to us to know that our guests enjoy their experience in our hotel. The Christmas Cabaret was indeed a wonderful evening and feedback was exceptional in relation to the food, service and entertainment.

We appreciate your high recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed at Harvey's Point last weekend with my husband and 5 year old son. Although we live in Co Donegal, I wanted to book a special night away but not have to travel too far. The first and natural choice was Harvey's Point. I have attended weddings and other functions there and also been for lunch so I am familiar with the setting and the excellent food. The occasion was my husband's birthday and also a personal celebration for us marking one year in business so we decided to treat ourselves to the Penthouse Suite. All I can say is "WOW!!" Words cannot do this suite justice. Endless space, so luxurious, private bar, bathroom to die for, these were our first comments. We even had our own Christmas tree!!! My only regret was that our stay wasn't long enough, I could happily live there forever. We had dinner in the restaurant on Saturday night and the food was superb, the service was excellent. Staff in this hotel are brilliant. Nothing is any trouble. You can tell that they genuinely enjoy their work and it shows. Their interaction with guests is so friendly and not invasive. By the time we came down for breakfast on Sunday morning, they all knew my son by name. They make everything look so effortless, therefore making guests feel instantly relaxed. The hotel itself is gorgeous and in the perfect setting. Tip: Have a look at the photographs & artwork on the walls. They tell their own story. Fascinating place with wonderful staff. I look forward to coming back and staying longer next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveldoll11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your beautiful review. We are honoured and humbled by such high praise. Please be assured that we will continue in our journey towards excellence in hotel keeping and hospitality.

Your son James was a delight and our staff were all so happy to look after him. We look forward to watching him grow up in the coming years.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back for your next visit. In the meantime, may I extend our best wishes to you and your family for Christmas and the New Year.


Kindest personal regards,



Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed for the weekend in a Lough Shore suite, which was spectacularly appointed and very luxurious. The rooms left us wanting for nothing, especially the large bathroom with a claw foot slipper bathtub. All the touches were there to make this weekend feel like it was a special occasion.
The hardworking staff were always pleasant and friendly, and the food in both the bar and the restaurant was top class. I particularly recommend their freshly baked artisan bread selection, available every morning for breakfast.
I also must commend the hotel and its staff for their efficiency in balancing functions such as weddings with the ordinary guests and their needs - there was a wedding on both nights of our stay, but there was no noise, interference or other detraction from the ambience of the hotel. Having stayed in many hotels taken over by weddings, it was nice to see a hotel maintain its character for the guests no attending the weddings.

Definitely splash out on a few nights in Harvey's Point for a special occasion, or just for pure relaxation.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orfhlaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you and your boyfriend to Harvey's Point and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your kind compliments particularly in relation to the fact that as a leisure guest you enjoyed the peace and tranquility of our hotel and the attention to detail which we believe is so important.

Thank you for you recommendation of Harvey's Point as an ideal destination for a special occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the not too distant future.


Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband and I are just back from a weekend stay in the fabulous lake shore superior suite. Everything about this hotel says class and quality from the warm welcome to the truly wonderful suite and Michelin standard food. We had our wedding reception here in 1998 and our guests still say it was the best wedding food they have ever had! We are already planning our next visit and thank you to all the staff( and Deirdre) for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: lake shore suites are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CelineBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Celine,

It was my personal pleasure to welcome you and your husband back to Harvey’s Point. We enjoyed having you as our guests. How the time has flown since 1998! Your continued support and loyalty is very much appreciated by the Gysling Family & Team.

It is encouraging and rewarding to learn that you enjoyed your weekend break and thank you for your kind compliments in relation to the lake shore suites, the food and our staff.

Warmest wishes for a Merry Christmas and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the New Year.


Kindest personal regards,

Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
961 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
615 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
775 reviews
13 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: $222 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing