We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really special venue for celebrations or just to treat yourself” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harvey's Point

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really special venue for celebrations or just to treat yourself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed for the weekend in a Lough Shore suite, which was spectacularly appointed and very luxurious. The rooms left us wanting for nothing, especially the large bathroom with a claw foot slipper bathtub. All the touches were there to make this weekend feel like it was a special occasion.
The hardworking staff were always pleasant and friendly, and the food in both the bar and the restaurant was top class. I particularly recommend their freshly baked artisan bread selection, available every morning for breakfast.
I also must commend the hotel and its staff for their efficiency in balancing functions such as weddings with the ordinary guests and their needs - there was a wedding on both nights of our stay, but there was no noise, interference or other detraction from the ambience of the hotel. Having stayed in many hotels taken over by weddings, it was nice to see a hotel maintain its character for the guests no attending the weddings.

Definitely splash out on a few nights in Harvey's Point for a special occasion, or just for pure relaxation.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orfhlaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you and your boyfriend to Harvey's Point and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your kind compliments particularly in relation to the fact that as a leisure guest you enjoyed the peace and tranquility of our hotel and the attention to detail which we believe is so important.

Thank you for you recommendation of Harvey's Point as an ideal destination for a special occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the not too distant future.


Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,532
    264
    60
    20
    9
See reviews for
617
2,402
54
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband and I are just back from a weekend stay in the fabulous lake shore superior suite. Everything about this hotel says class and quality from the warm welcome to the truly wonderful suite and Michelin standard food. We had our wedding reception here in 1998 and our guests still say it was the best wedding food they have ever had! We are already planning our next visit and thank you to all the staff( and Deirdre) for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: lake shore suites are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CelineBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Celine,

It was my personal pleasure to welcome you and your husband back to Harvey’s Point. We enjoyed having you as our guests. How the time has flown since 1998! Your continued support and loyalty is very much appreciated by the Gysling Family & Team.

It is encouraging and rewarding to learn that you enjoyed your weekend break and thank you for your kind compliments in relation to the lake shore suites, the food and our staff.

Warmest wishes for a Merry Christmas and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the New Year.


Kindest personal regards,

Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

just had a couple of chilling out days and relaxing time at Harvey's Point. It was our first time there and hopefully not our last. The staff were so helpful and pleasant and the food was absolutely brillant. Can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborahmc1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Deborah,

Thank you for choosing Harvey’s Point for your relaxing break in Donegal. We are delighted that you have discovered our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, Northern Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Myself and my husband went for a break. Checking into the hotel was very welcoming our concierr (sean) was a lovely older man with a sense of humour. The room was beautiful and we'll equipped with mini bar/snacks etc. The staff are very polite and courtis when we went for dinner. The location is beautiful though the weather was quite misty on our stay and limited the view on the lough. On our arrival I noticed there was a wedding function and was quite weary of noise in the corridor from other guests, this was defiently not an issue you would not have known there was any one else in the same building. It was an excellent experience and would highly recommend a stay. Definitely rate 5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcneill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your lovely review which is received with thanks and praise. It was our pleasure to welcome you and your husband to Harvey’s Point.

The warmest of welcomes awaits you when you return for your next visit. Hopefully the weather will be lovely.

Warm regards from Sean, our affable Concierge who will be delighted to receive a special mention. He is a true reflection of the best in Irish hospitality.


Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We have just returned home after spending three wonderful nights at Harvey's Point Hotel.The staff were so warm and welcoming, the fine dining experience was absolutely beautiful and the bedroom with a lakeside view was sumptuous. We will be returning to enjoy this very special hotel.

Room Tip: Select a room with a lakeside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gilly i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your kind compliments following your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. It was our pleasure to welcome you and it is encouraging to note that you had an exceptional experience.

We look forward to extending a warm and genuine Donegal welcome to you when you stay with us next time and we will do our utmost to ensure a memorable and special visit for you.


Kind regards,


Deirdre, Marc & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Three days, two nights of unparalleled luxury. Booked Harvey's Point to celebrate my wife's birthday and inadvertently have now set standards I cannot hope to reach each following year (Unless we return every year which is a distinct possibility) All the main things usually written about on tripadvisor, food, rooms, cleanliness, staff were all top drawer. It is evident that everyone who works there is proud to do so and proud of the hotel. We had one evening meal in the dining room and one in the bar, both terrific, presented beautifully by attentive waiters. Venison with a hint of chocolate, never, it was superb. Best hotel bar none, we were thinking of barricading ourselves in the Jacuzzi when it came time to leave but all good things must come to an end.......

Room Tip: Wedding held during our visit - heard absolutely nothing as it is in an adjacent venue which protect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Steve,

What a beautifully written review! Thank you on behalf of the Gysling Family & the Harvey’s Point Team.

We are honoured and humbled by such high praise. Rest assured that this will not lead us into complacency. On the contrary, we will continue in our journey towards excellence in hotel keeping and hospitality.

It is important for us to know that our leisure guests enjoy the peace and tranquility for which Harvey’s Point is renowned. Rest and relaxation is the order of the day as well as a warm welcome and high levels of customer care.

The Jacuzzi awaits :-)

Our dedicated Team is at your service for your return visit.



Warmest wishes,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardara, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Wonderful stay. Found the staff extremely professional with a friendly manner. Stayed for a family wedding. One night was definitely not long enough to get the whole Harvey's Point experience. Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarNiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you most sincerely for your lovely words following your recent visit to Harvey’s Point for a family wedding. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to having you as our guest for a relaxing leisure break sometime in the not too distant future.


Kind regards,


Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing