We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable return”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have visited Harveys Point on a number of occasions and once again enjoyed the whole experience - the attention to detail and friendliness of staff set it apart we hope to visit again soon , each time we return it improves !

Room Tip: We like the rooms with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Michael,

Thank you for your kind compliments following your recent visit to Harvey's Point. We appreciate your continued loyalty and it means a lot to us to know that we are continually improving.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,711 - 2,717 of 4,288 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just back from our first ever trip to Harvey's Point today and I had to share our experience. Our stay was wonderful; this was a couple of nights away as a kind of mini honeymoon and we were treated like royalty throughout our entire stay. In fact, Sean kept calling me a princess as he took our bags to our penthouse suite!!! Luxurious doesn't begin to describe it. Also, although the hotel was busy judging by the people there for breakfast, when we were in our room we could have been in the hotel alone; it was so quiet and peaceful. We had our dinner in the hotel on our first night there and it was absolutely delicious :) There is everything you could possibly want for breakfast including freshly made omelettes or pancakes with either maple syrup, golden syrup, honey, or grand marnier (!) - I can't think of anything for breakfast that wasn't available... The location is breathtaking and even though it rained a lot we managed to get out for a lovely walk and take some beautiful photos beside the Lough. We will definitely be back; and I don't think we'll be able to wait until our first anniversary to indulge ourselves again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pc942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was certainly our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey's Point for your first, we hope of many visits.

Congratulations on your wedding and we are thrilled that you chose Harvey's Point as the romantic destination for your mini honeymoon. On behalf of the Gysling Family & Team, may I extend our very best wishes to you both.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Last week we went back tot Harveys Point on the Shores of Lough Eske county Donegal. It was our eight visit in five years. We brought the parents of my wife with us this time. They wanted to see if all our stories about Harveys Point were true. They were as amazed as we were the first time we visited this hotel. Everything was perfect. The room, the food and the warm hospitality. This is definitely a first class hotel. We stayed for four nights this time in a Premier Suite of 87m2 with a stunning lake view. It was all too short!
Definitely coming back next year!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerton45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Gerton,

Welcome back to your 'home from home' at Harvey's Point. It was wonderful to have you and your family back again.

We are delighted that once again, we exceeded expectations and it is encouraging and rewarding to hear such positive feedback.

Thank you on behalf of the Gysling Family and our entire Team.


Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Situated on a lake the hotel grounds enjoy beautiful scenery. We booked executive king room which was both enormous and very comfortable with a huge bathroom and soaking tub. Dinner was fabulous as was the attentive staff. Somewhat pricey overall but worth the visit and we'd go again. Our only negative was the hotel was busy that weekend so the breakfast service was somewhat chaotic.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_Frank44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments in relation to your recent visit to Harvey's Point.

We appreciate all guest feedback, especially if it highlights any area for improvement. Your point regarding breakfast is fair and we will address this. In fact, we have plans over the coming months to design a new buffet area which will really showcase the wonderful food offering and assist with better flow.

We hope you enjoyed your vacation in Ireland and that you may return someday.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We just returned from what was already our seventh stay at Harvey's Point hotel at Lough Eske in Donegal. And it certainly wasn't our last! The rooms, the staff, the surroundings and the food, all of it never ceases to amaze us at Harvey's Point hotel.My parents, who went there for the first time, were just as impressed as we were the first time, and in fact time and time again. We would like to advise everyone to come and experience the Harvey's Point experience. You will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind compliments regarding your recent visit to Harvey's Point. It was our pleasure to welcome you back again. We appreciate your continued loyalty and please be assured that we will continue in our quest to deliver excellence in hotel keeping and hospitality.

Please let me know when you will be making a return visit so that I can meet you and thank you in person.


Kind regards,

Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This looked very nice in the guide books during the planning stages of our trip, but little did we realize how nice it was - until we checked-in then entered our rooms - we had the Executive Twin Rooms (two couples) as the rates were favorable - the rooms were enormous suites and so well furnished with great beds, sitting area and huge bathroom with a large soaking-garden-tub. twin vanities, etc.. The breakfasts were simply incredible and th little added Irish Bailey's Cream didn't hurt the Porridge at all - smile! There are two excellent restaurants and a bar at this somewhat remote location and the are superb! Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmclendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Jim,

Many thanks for your high recommendation of Harvey's Point. We appreciate you taking the time to write so favorably about your experience.

It is our intention to exceed expectations and delight our guests with genuine Irish hospitality and good hotel keeping.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Kind regards,

Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We booked a lakeshore suite, thereby completing our experience of all the room types in Harvey's Point. The suite was spacious and luxurious throughout. The veranda overlooking the lake added to the restful ambience. We would certainly choose it again.

The cabaret was another first, we'd often talked about going and finally made it to the last show of the season. The food was superb, a feast of choices. The performers were all excellent and the compere was very inclusive to all guests.

As always staff were friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble for them. All in all, another satisfying stay in Harvey's Point

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmcd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments about your recent visit to Harvey's Point. We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience.

The Cabaret was a great success this year and we are already working on the line-up for next season. Noel, our compere and GM joins me in wishing you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
958 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
615 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
774 reviews
2.6 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: $217 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing