We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return Customer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harvey's Point

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Return Customer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Having returned to Harvey's Point, we enjoyed amazing food, a relaxing atmosphere and friendly attentive staff. The breakfast buffet set us up for a day's retail therapy and had a vast range of food to offer. The weather was abysmal but this went unnoticed as there was so much to see and do within the hotel itself. As soon as I can afford it, I'll be back! Soft spot for this place of luxury after getting engaged here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 80sKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Congratulations on your recent engagement. We are honoured that you marked this special romantic occasion at Harvey's Point.

Thank you for your kind words which are very much appreciated by the Gysling Family & Team. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back.


Kind regards,

Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,532
    264
    60
    20
    9
See reviews for
617
2,402
54
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was our second visit to Harvey's Point. We stayed for two nights with our children in an Executive Suite. The room was beautiful. It was spacious, luxurious and incredibly comfortable. Room service was prompt and the food was delicious. The staff went out of their way to ensure all our needs were met. Nancy (at breakfast) was top class. Customer service as it should be. The setting is just breath taking. Autumn is a fantastic time to visit this beautiful hotel. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MummySLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

I agree with you that Autumn is a special time at Lough Eske with so many colours and lovely light.

Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to welcome you back to Harvey's Point.

Special greetings from Nancy who has been part of the Harvey's Point family since we opened twenty four years ago. She certainly reflects Irish hospitality at it's best.

We look forward to your return visit.


Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

First visit to this hotel. to say we were surprised is an understatement, pleasant staff, beautiful location, great food, huge rooms, in a word stunning.I do not understand why this hotel does not have a 5 star rating it would be well deserved. Can not wait for my next trip here, thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear John & Karen,

A warm welcome to Harvey's Point for your first we hope of many visits. Thank you for your lovely review which is very much appreciated by the Gysling Family & Team.

We are truly thrilled to hear that we exceeded expectations and it will be our pleasure to have you back again sometime soon.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and 12 year old son and I arrived for the Sunday lunch carvery and then stayed overnight in an executive room. Highlights - the service which was excellent, the location, the room, the comfort and the food. My son was impressed with the waiter: " Would you like soup sir?" ....mum he called me "sir!" The Sunday lunch carvery was in a spectacular room and had something for everyone. Again my son was impressed...a buffet of 20 deserts! Lunch was busy apparently having 500 people booked that day and there was a real buzz in the impresive looking room. There were plenty of table staff who were friendly and attentive. The executive bedroom was huge and very comfortable. The breakfast buffet the next morning was extensive and delicious served in a smaller room with lake views and again friendly service. A grey goose entertaining at the window. We all had a lovely walk and left refreshed. A memorable 24 hours and a hotel we plan to visit again. Luxury!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smilesandsmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you, your husband and son to Harvey's Point and it is great to hear that you enjoyed the experience of our famous Sunday Carvery Lunch, our Suites and the all important breakfast.

Thank you for your kind compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Special greetings from 'Harvey' our resident goose :-)


Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Leaving Harvey's Point Hotel, I wondered about its 4-star categorisation. Surely there was some mistake? But no, it's a 4-star and for those who are into stars this is no average 4-star hotel. It has a sheen of comfort and ease that welcomes from the moment one meets the delightful Spanish receptionist. All staff couldn't have been more helpful throughout our one-night stay. The hotel caters for large events, like weddings, but it is in the smaller scale that it surely triumphs. Breakfast is a relaxed affair, with fresh pancakes made to order, and all the usual elements that make for a fine breakfast away from home. The bedroom we stayed in was absolutely comfortable. Apart from its enormous size - the Executive Suites have an ante-room/hall, which gives way to a kitchenette, and a very large, beautifully equipped bathroom, and then onto an extensive but really comfortably furnished bedroom. The rooms look out onto Lough Eske, and this view is an added bonus to what is an absolutely fabulous level of comfort.
It is an escape place, a getaway, it is romantic, it is a cocooning within the natural world, all of which would help the weariest traveller to unwind. I recommend this hotel. It is a delight.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charliegirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Mary,

Your delightful and detailed review is received with pride and pleasure by the Gysling Family & Harvey's Point Team.Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

We are truly delighted that you enjoyed the experience and please be assured that we will continue in our quest for excellence in hotel keeping and hospitality.

Sincere thanks for your high praise and recommendation.


Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, Co Antrim
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was our second visit to Harvey's Point this year and our third time to stay in the Hotel. From the minute you arrive when Sean the concierge takes charge of your luggage until he puts it back into your car at the end of your visit, you will be treated by an attentive and extremely friendly staff. This friendliness seems to rub off on your fellow guests as everyone speaks to you and the whole atmosphere of the Hotel is completely relaxed. The staff even remembered our names from last April and welcomed us back. Look out for Nancy in the Dining Room, Paul Mahon, functions manager in the Ballroom and Noel Cunningham - all lovely people with nothing too much trouble for them.

This was the first time we went to the mid-week Cabaret (unfortunately the final one this summer) in the Ballroom and it was fantastic - don't miss it. But be warned - the Irish know how to enjoy themselves as we left it in full swing at nearly 1:00 am!

We had our meals in all three restaurants - the main dining room, the Sea Food Grill and Bar and in the Ballroom at the cabaret. As usual, the food was excellent and the service first class. We particularly enjoyed the buffet for the starters and the desserts at the cabaret - the soup and the main courses were served at your table. The buffet breakfasts were outstanding with even a friendly Chef on hand to cook you that something special. With a table at the window overlooking the lake, the view was outstanding and meals therefore lasted a long time.

We were in a bedroom on the third floor and it was massive. It was spotlessly clean, well heated and comfortable. The Wi-Fi connected automatically to our iPad and worked seamlessly.

We can't wait for our return visit and we are even considering their Christmas and/or New Year Packages.

Room Tip: When the mid-week cabaret starts again, don't miss it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WTandMDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear WT and MDM,

A warm welcome back again to Harvey's Point. Thank you once again for a super review. Your continued loyalty is very much appreciated by the Gysling Family & Team.

It means so much to us that our standards are maintained and where possible improved. Our entire Team is dedicated to ensuring a special and memorable experience for our guests. Noel, Sean, Nancy and Paul and their colleagues are fine examples of Irish hospitality at it's best. They will be delighted to receive a special mention and on their behalf, may I extend their sincere thanks.

We will continue in our pursuit of excellence over the coming months and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back for your next visit. Please let me know if ever I can be of assistance with your reservation. I look forward to meeting you in person next time.

Special greetings and best wishes from the Gysling Family & Team.

Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

What a lovely hotel for anyone seeking a bit of piece and quiet. The hotel and staff complement each other well. The views, at breakfast, were delightful - looking out over the lough with the sun rising over the distant hills.

There is plenty of opportunity to get your walking boots on and get out on the very quiet roads in the area and a very short drive gets you to some wonderful coastal scenery on the North West Coast of Ireland.

The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was the absence of an indoor swimming pool and maybe a sauna - that would have been a good addition/diversion.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanJones142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Alan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments in relation to your recent visit to Harvey's Point. It is rewarding and encouraging to hear that you enjoyed the experience.

It's great that you had an opportunity to discover the beautiful North West of Ireland. We are blessed to live in such a magical location.

Your point is fair regarding the absence of a swimming pool and we fully agree that this facility would enhance our product. Rest assured it is on our 'wish-list' for the future.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing