We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first wedding anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“first wedding anniversary”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Visited on Sunday for my first anniversary and the new Al La Carte menu was amazing. Could not have chosen a better location to celebrate my wedding anniversary than here. The atmosphere and service is first class. All staff greet you with a warm welcome. Very clear to be seen that all the awards hanging in the hall are very well deserved. It is a must visit without a doubt and cannot wait to return for a weekend break. 5*

Room Tip: you will not be disappointed with any of the rooms. All are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Louise,

Congratulations on the special occasion of your Wedding Anniversary. On behalf of the Gysling Family and our entire Team, may I extend our sincere thanks to you for your kind words which are very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest personal regards,

Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,572
    273
    62
    20
    9
See reviews for
636
2,428
54
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here for the first time on Sunday 8th for only one night unfortunately, on arrival you are greeted by the most friendly and professional staff you will find anywhere. after checking in you are personally escorted to your room. We had a premium double, it is the size of an apartment with everything you need for a relaxing break. This hotel is at number one on tripadvisor in Ireland with good reason,,amazing staff, service, location. already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjlwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was truly our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey's Point for your first (we hope of many) visits. We are delighted that you have discovered the magic of our hotel and that you appreciated the courtesy and care offered by our dedicated team as well as the high standard of our accommodation.

We are of course very proud of our position as Number One hotel in Ireland on TripAdvisor and to this end, please be assured that we will continue in our journey towards excellence in hotel keeping and hospitality.

We look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future.

Many thanks again and special greetings from the Gysling Family & Team.

Kind regards,

Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I decided to treat ourselves to a special treat to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary by staying at Harvey's Point. It lived up to all our expectations and more. We have never stayed in such luxurious accommodation. It rained on the Saturday all day and I can honestly say it was the first time in 25 years we were happy to relax and chill out in an hotel room for a good part of the day (we realised having no swimming pool or spa was actually a bonus). Thankfully on the Sunday the rain had eased and we were able to enjoy a walk, taking in the Lough and part of the Blue Stack Way. God willing we will be back - hopefully soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeirdreC909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Deirdre,

Thank you so much for your wonderful account of your recent Harvey's Point Experience. We are honoured that you chose our hotel to celebrate such a special occasion. Congratulations and best wishes from the Gysling Family & Team.

We agree that it is lovely to snuggle up in one of our Suites and relax or indeed take a ramble around the beautiful Blue Stack Way. We are blessed with the great outdoors.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again sometime.


Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We visited here for my husband's 60th birthday it was perfect. The minute we arrived we where greeted by the very friendly Sean and reception staff our room was so spacious with every facility available .Stunning location on the shores of lough eske all staff friendly and helpful and food excellent in both restaurants very impressed can' wait to return.

Room Tip: Choose room with lake view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briancraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Sincere thanks for your kind words following your recent visit to Harvey's Point. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your visit. Please extend my personal good wishes to your husband Brian on the occasion of his birthday.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you both back again soon.


Kind regards,

Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
offaly ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Spent 3 nights at Harveys Point last week for a quick getaway after our wedding. The food, service, location was fantastic. We attended the Cabaret night on the Wednesday evening the meal was buffet style apart from the main course which was served to you the entertainment and food on this night was superb!! On our arrival to our room there was petals and swans made from their towels which was a nice touch.

I have never been to a hotel (and i've been in many) where the staff are all in great spirits and always friendly and helpful at all times. They are obviously happy in their work.

The room was out of this world we stayed in a deluxe superior it was huge!! The bathroom was to die for and bed so comfortable.

If you are thinking about getting away for a relaxing break for a couple of nights I would highly recommend Harveys Point you will not regret it!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanora12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Lorraine,

Congratulations on your Wedding and thank you for choosing Harvey's Point for a romantic breakaway after the celebrations.

We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your visit and our Team were only too happy to add that extra special touch to make your stay even more memorable.

We are indeed fortunate to have a team who genuinely care about our guests and for whom going the extra mile with a smile is all part of our offering.

Best wishes from everyone at Harvey's Point and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime.


Kind regards,


Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Harvey's Point is indeed a place from Heaven for anyone who stays there. Amazing surroundings Excellent cuisine Fantastic accommodation and of course sensational Guinness. To have a meal in the excellent restaurant and then walk outside and take in the stunning views over Lough Eske is enchanting we are so lucky to have this facility

Room Tip: The room we had was a large internal deluxe room and worth every penny of the completely reasonable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Don,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is most encouraging and rewarding to hear that you were impressed by the Harvey's Point Experience.

On behalf of the Gysling Family & Team, may I extend our sincere thanks for your kind words and our hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again sometime in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We visit Ireland almost every year. We have relatives, tend to stay in B&B's for economy and local flavor. This year we splurged on a weekend at Harvey's, in my ancestral home county of Donegal. Well...it was truly fantastic, pricey as hell, but service and accommodation was just superb. Our suite was upgraded because of an overbooking on their part. Instead of a mere suite, we were shown into an apartment sized suite of rooms with 2 bathrooms and it's own barroom. I think it was for corporate events. We drank at the hotel bar witch was expansive yet cozy, English club style furniture and a lovely fireplace (I love those leather club chairs). In short, we got everything we paid for, it was lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillBree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Will,

Thank you for your delightful description of your visit to Harvey's Point this Summer. Welcome back home to Donegal!

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the experience and this means so much to us.

Hopefully we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again sometime.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
770 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
383 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
552 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing