We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harvey's Point Experience”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Londonderry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Harvey's Point Experience”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Once again we enjoyed another great stay at Harvey's Point for the Dinner/Cabaret and overnight stay. Everything was up to the usual brilliant standard, staff, service, food, cabaret and last but not least our fabulous , comfortable room all added to the total splendid ambience, yes "The Harvey's Point Experience".
Our loyalty noted with the offer of an upgrade on our next visit.

LondonderryTed

Room Tip: In our opinion all rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonderryTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Ted,

Thank you for your kind compliments in relation to the 'Harvey's Point Experience'. We are thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable visit once again. This feedback means so much to us and please be assured that we will continue in our efforts to deliver excellence in hotel keeping and hospitality.

It will of course be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon.


Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,678
    282
    64
    21
    9
See reviews for
662
2,506
55
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went to Harvey's Point on trip advisor reviews to celebrate my birthday and wedding anniversary and first impression was WOW, room great, meal great. 2nd night service for meal was so slow, took one hour longer than the previous night, dont eat when there is something else on in the function room, ordered pork got lamb, which was delicious. Petit fours should not be served, 3rd night dinner in seafood bar was fine, went to bed was woken up with noise like an engine, rang reception
after a while noise went only then we had another noise this time like a pump which reached its level and went off and then half an hour later would come back on, rang was told they would have it checked out with maintenance. Also you could hear what seem was the people in the room above walking up and down. AT no time did they come to the room to check the various noises, went to reception the following morning was told they would get maintenance to look at it, made to feel I was stupid and a nuisance, had breakfast 2nd morning in a row a pretty poor table with faded flower but they did move us.
We decided to cancel cabaret dinner and then spoke to another receptionist about the noise who told us it had been the central heating put on in the next room. Spoke with the manager who very kindly offered to change our room but as we were so upset and they only have one suitable for people with asthma so we decided to leave.

Room Tip: Although decor dated, they are all excellent rooms, maybe ask for a room on the top floor so you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmg8686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is indeed a pity that your experience at Harvey's Point did not live up to your expectations or our own usual high standards on this occasion, especially as it was your birthday and wedding anniversary.

On behalf of the Gysling Family & Team, may I extend our most sincere apologies. Please be assured that we will investigate each and every issue that you have highlighted and take corrective action where appropriate.

Noel, our GM or I would be happy to discuss this matter with you in person. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at your convenience. It would be our hope that we can restore your faith in Harvey's Point.

Once again, I hope that you will accept our apologies.


Yours sincerely,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunshaughlin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I had booked a voucher in April 2012 for my wife so we could go to Harveys point as we hadnt been there in a long time.Unfortuatley she has been sick since.
so armed with my Order Summary print out i today called to be told that vouchers have only a 12 month life!! This voucher was for €150 and i was told a seperate voucher was sent to my email where it stated that it has only a 12 month life span.
The Conformation i had printed stated that no where.
I am very disapionted and shocked by this "Time Limit" my €150 is a nice profit for the team in Harveys Point.
Enjoy it and maybe use it for a CRM course.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear William,

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and I understand that Noel, our General Manager has already been directly in contact with an offer to honour the voucher. Quite simply, this was a communication issue on a widely accepted norm that vouchers are deemed valid for a twelve month period. Naturally, there are exceptions to every rule and under the circumstances, we would have been happy to extend the expiry date. This decision would be at the discretion of senior management.

It is unfortunate that you have had a negative experience on this occasion and I hope that you will accept our most sincere apologies. Customer care features highly as a priority in our business and I am hopeful that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in Harvey's Point sometime in the future.

Please extend our best wishes to your wife.


Kindest personal regards,


Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had the Sunday carvery which was excellent and an overnight stay in one of the lodges.
The accommodation was brilliant and probably the best we have ever stayed in.
Only problem was quality of bar food on Sunday evening which was poor,my main course had to be returned to kitchen.
However the breakfast and view from table in morning made up for this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Wesley,

Thank you for taking the time to write of your recent experience at Harvey's Point.

We appreciate your valuable feedback and it's great to know that you enjoyed the Carvery, the accommodation and breakfast. It is unfortunate that there was an issue with dinner in Harvey's Seafood Bar & Grill. I hope you will accept our apologies for this unusual lapse in our high standards. We will certainly follow up on this with our Head Chef and Restaurant Manager.

It is our hope that you will make return visit sometime in the not too distant future.


Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have just returned from a third weekend trip to Donegal having stayed at the wonderful Harvey's Point Hotel. The Hotel is superb in every respect, the rooms are spotless and very well appointed, the new grill bar serves excellent food in beautiful surroundings and breakfast in the fine dining restaurant is always a wonderful way to start a day. The staff in Harvey's are extremely courteous and very much oriented towards the customers needs, worthy of particular mention are Nancy in the fine dining restaurant who is really excellent in looking after her customers in a very efficient way. Garrett in the Grill Bar is a superb ambassador for the guest and so too is Marie, these people epitomise the ethos of Harvey's Point which is to be genuinely interested in making guests of the Hotel enjoy every aspect of their stay. I will certainly be returning to Harvey's Point again soon and can without reservation recommend the Hotel to any visitors to Donegal, you will not be disappointed. John F Room 215.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear John F,


Sincere thanks for your kind words which capture what we try to achieve at Harvey's Point and that is presenting a quality product in a magical location and delivering excellence in Irish hospitality.

We are fortunate to have such a special Team who are prepared to go the extra mile with a smile. This we believe is what makes a good hotel a great hotel. Nancy who has been part of the Harvey's Point Family for well over twenty years and aspiring stars of the future, Gareth & Marie reflect a genuine care and courtesy for our guests. They along with their many talented colleagues do their utmost to ensure a memorable experience for each and every guest.

We appreciate your high recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Celebrated our wedding anniversary with a delicious meal at the new seafood restaurant in Harvey's Point hotel ,Donegal,recently.My meal consisted of a crab starter and main course of Monk fish and Prawns, delicious! If seafood is not your thing my husband had Rump of Lamb which to him was the best he had for a long time. iIt was also reasonably priced and the atmosphere was wonderful.

Room Tip: Am unable to delete irrelevant rating stars as we did not stay overnight and the hotel does not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Claire,

It was our pleasure to welcome yourself and your husband to our newly opened Harvey's Seafood Bar & Grill. Thank you for choosing Harvey's to celebrate your wedding anniversary. On behalf of the Gysling Family & Team, may I extend our heartiest congratulations to you both.

I will be delighted to forward your kind compliments to our dedicated Team, all of whom have worked very hard to ensure that this new food offering at Harvey's Point is a great success.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. I wish it could have been longer. Cannot fault this hotel. The room was amazing. Enormous corner bath. Food was excellent. The view of the lake from our breakfast table was stunning. Perfect romantic break.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boogaloo_toby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGDonegal, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,


We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your romantic break at Harvey's Point. It really is the perfect hideaway for couples.

Thank you for your kind compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
818 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
400 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
570 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing