We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location.....”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here recently, unfortunately only for one night. Staff were very efficient and friendly, a credit to the hotel. Our room was amazing, so spacious. I will definitely be returning here soon hopefully.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barcarolafan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I will be happy to forward your kind compliments to our dedicated Team, for whom going the extra mile with a smile is never a problem.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,898 - 2,904 of 4,325 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had a wonderful stay as always could not fault Harveys Point for service, attention to detail and a general feeling of "home from home", Everyone needs to experience a stay in this hotel at some point. Outstanding !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMBROWN180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Ann Marie,


A warm welcome back 'home' to Harvey's Point on behalf of the Gysling Family & Team. Thank you for your wonderful comments. We really appreciate your continued loyalty and high recommendation.

Hope to see you again soon.


Kindest personal regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night as a wedding guest in August 2013. The staff were so attentive from the minute we arrived. The food was incredible and the whole night was great! The lakeside rooms were stunning! The hotel added to an already special day! The only negative is that we couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmalouise199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Emma Louise,

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey's Point recently. Thank you for your kind words which are appreciated by the Gysling Family & Team.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the wedding and we look forward to having you as our guest again sometime for a relaxing leisure break.


Warm wishes,


Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Thank you Harvey's Point for making our three day visit a real memory (well most of it) especially to share with wonderful friends. A lovely welcome to the hotel by Anne on reception, booked in and then met our friends off location for lunch to await the bedrooms being prepared. We had a lake view room which had a stunning view of Lough Eske, especially first thing in the morning. All the facilities one would expect were available, tea/coffee, iron board, trouser press, Flat screen TV with all channels, great lounging chairs with foot stools, luxury toiletries, fluffy towels, comfy huge bed, great pillows and most importantly free WIFI!! We had the cabaret on the first night, and I never thought I would say this, but it was really good with all the entertainers putting everything into their part of the show (including the little Irish dancers).........The food at the cabaret was carvery style :-(, but we were not disappointed, its just different, it was exceptionally warm in the banqueting room even though AC was on at 'high' I was reliably informed. Soup was served at the table, and then the starters were self service in an adjoining room, lots to choose from, beautifully presented and very enjoyable. The mains were also served at table, I opted for free range chicken breast which was light and tasty, the others choose the roast beef and even though the three orders were, rare, medium rare and medium, the chef did his best and they were all happy with what they were served, just had to ask for the horseradish. The waiters and waitresses were delightful and professional. Our wines were really good also. The desserts were also presented in the adjacent room, I did not go in, but I am told they were magnificent including a chocolate fountain....I decided on sharing the cheese plate again excellent. Breakfast was self service but set up beautifully with lots of choices. Mine was ordered by the birthday boy, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs with glass of champagne....and the view...omw..thought I had died and gone to heaven! These next comments are the disappointing bit of our visit. Dinner on our last night in the fine dining room was not memorable. I wanted (as did my friend) the lobster, which I did not order at lunch time on our trip out to the coast, as I was saving myself for Harvey's Point. No lobster left so I decided on the halibut for my main course, before that there was a mise bouche which was tempura of mussel with cream sauce, and it was gorgeous in its own little shell: could have eaten a plate of this and nothing else! Starter, sorbet, and then main course of my second choice which was halibut and a chicken drumstick (wrong in so many ways)....lots of dollops of sauces on the plate, did not like the look of at all, sides were beetroot (lovely) cauliflower (undercooked) a squash or carrot puree (looked horrible did not try) and baby potatoes which were definitely hard and undercooked. One of the party chose Foie Gras as menu stated, when it fact it was pate de foie gras so that person was disappointed also - a slightly different dish you will agree. I wish now we had dined in the new Seafood Bar and Grill instead which is a pity, so maybe chefs changed after big service the previous night at the Cabaret and it was Sous chefs or something, cannot work it out as it should have been the icing on the cake for ending of my trip..........Still, notwithstanding the last comments, we will return and would certainly recommend this venue for a relaxing break in the most wonderful location.

Room Tip: Try for lake view room, a little bit more expensive but definitely worth it or the penthouse if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fair_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments in relation to your recent visit to Harvey's Point. Feedback such as this is extremely valuable to us as it assists us in addressing the issues highlighted. Please be assured that we will follow up on each and every detail mentioned concerning your dining experience in our Lakeside Restaurant. We hope you will accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings you encountered on this occasion.

We will continue on our journey towards excellence in hotel keeping and hospitality and we hope you make a return visit in the not too distant future.

Thank you once again for your detailed review and please extend our best wishes to the gentleman whose birthday it was.



Kind regards,


Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we had an amazing time. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, always smiling, always close to hand with being intrusive. Amazing food, luxurious rooms, beautiful location. It is expensive but worth it if you want to get away, have peace and quiet and treat yourselves. We plan to return for a longer stay next June for our anniversary.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulinemoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Pauline,

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey's Point and thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of your visit.

I will certainly forward your kind compliments to our dedicated Team, each of whom genuinely extend the highest level of courtesy and care to our guests.

As a business, we endeavour to offer value for the quality of the product and service. We continue to reinvest in the hotel at every possible opportunity to ensure that we provide an exceptional experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back next June for your anniversary.

Kind greetings from the Gysling Family & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

From the moment you entered reception you were treated with warmth and courtesy the staff were amazing every aspect of this hotel lived up to or surpassed expectations. The setting is truly tranquil situated on the edge of Lough Eske nestled among the mountains and trees you felt as though you were in a world apart. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stew1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words following your recent visit to Harvey's Point. We are delighted that you had a relaxing experience away from the 'maddening crowd' amidst the natural beauty of Lough Eske.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again sometime.


Kind regards,


Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Love this hotel, the setting, the welcome, the food. However, the best part of this hotel is the space and decor. The main hallway to the rooms is epic and then there is the rooms themselves. Out of this world. Cant wait to return!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KieranMurray1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Kieran,

Your kind compliments about the entire guest experience at Harvey's Point are very much appreciated. On behalf of Jody, who had the Vision and flair to create and design the hotel and our entire Team, thank you most sincerely.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.



Kind regards,


Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
961 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
615 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
776 reviews
13 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: $225 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing