We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Harveys" Ticks all the boxes”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymena
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Harveys" Ticks all the boxes”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

With no doubt First Class hotel. Luxury lough side bedroom suite , beautifully tended gardens with tranquill walks, bursting with flavour food (breakfast, lunch, dinner ) in restaurant and grille bar and not forgetting the friendly staff . Return visit top of wish list. ♥

Room Tip: Romantic lough shore suites with terrace view of lough
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BallymenaAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Andy,

Sincere thanks for your kind words following your recent visit to Harvey's Point. It was our pleasure to welcome you. We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and in particular that you like our new Lakeshore Suites and both dining experiences.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,721
    284
    65
    20
    9
See reviews for
673
2,537
55
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

First time in Ireland. Loved the location. Arrived during a heatwave 28-30 degrees and while we are used to the heat, Harvey Point has no air conditioning - so the room was very very hot and difficult to sleep at night. Apart from this once we enjoyed our stay. Fantastic breakfasts, great restaurants, excellent service, friendly people. Would've been good if they had a gym on-site but enjoyed a few long walks in the surrounds and each room has detailed walking maps. This is a beautiful part of Ireland and I would recommend a walk along Murvagh Beach.
Thank you

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camrun64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting our beautiful County of Donegal and for choosing to stay in our hotel. It was our pleasure to welcome you. We appreciate all guest feedback, especially if it highlights any issues that have arisen.

We fully accept your comment in relation to the lack of air conditioning. While not a requirement in terms of our hotel classification, nonetheless, it would have been desirable during the recent unprecedented heatwave. Even the fans in the room provided little respite from the intense heat all day long and even at night.

A gym and leisure facilities are certainly on the agenda in the medium to long term as we agree that they would greatly enhance our product.

In the meantime, we have plans to develop more walks in the grounds of the hotel, alongside the shore line and in the forest and certainly, Murvagh is one of many Blue Flag beaches in the area well worth visiting.

Thank you once again for your constructive comments and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Harvey's Point on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed for two nights break with my sister 23rd and 24 th July. We were bowled over by the well trained and welcoming . The setting is beautiful,the food at the seafood grill was excellent and the breakfast was amazing. It's ideally situated for doing a bit of touring and another bonus was that we could have our dogs with us. I could not recommend it highly enough. The cabaret on Wednesday night was really top class and very entertaing and not something we would normally go to but we loved it. Noel Cunningham has managed to secure very talented entertainers.
This hotel is run well from the top down. All the staff were so friendly and helpful but a special mention for Sean the concierge and Marie at reception as well as our excellent server Sennan in the seafood bar. We will certainly be back and I intend to tell my friends of our find.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dottylady123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you have discovered 'our wee piece of heaven' hidden in the hills of Donegal. We are truly happy to learn that you have enjoyed the Harvey's Point Experience.

On behalf of the Gysling Family and our dedicated Team, may I express our gratitude for your lovely review. I will forward your kind words to Noel our GM, Sean, Marie, Sennan and all their colleagues.

We appreciate your high recommendation and it will be our pleasure to welcome you and your sister back as well as extend a warm Donegal welcome to your friends.


With kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Beautiful hotel, location & stunning rooms(especially the bathrooms). The only disappointing thing now is that every other hotel room isn't up to 'Harvey's Point' standard.
We will be back, hopefully soon

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pmcdaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words which are appreciated by the Gysling Family & Team. It is rewarding and encouraging to read such high praise. We will continue to invest in our product and our people to ensure that the Harvey's Point brand retains its competitive advantage.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,


Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bludenz, Austria
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Harvey's Point was great again. It was my fourth time at this hotel and it has been as terrific as usual. It is certainly the best 4 star hotel I have ever been to. Huge and very, very clean rooms, friendly staff, excellent food in the restaurant. This hotel is certainly a must!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erwin991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Erwin,

Sincere thanks for taking time to post such a positive review of your most recent experience at Harvey's Point. We value your feedback and indeed your continued loyalty. It is our vision to be 'best in class' and recognized as one of the leading hotels in Ireland. Please be assured that we will continue in our quest for excellence in hotel keeping and hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel last year so much we decided to go back again this year. We are glad to report that everything was as before but was even probably somewhat better, helped in no small way by the heat wave during our stay. The staff are really wonderful & Deirdre the GM leads by example in personally greeting guests during their stay. The new fish restaurant is superb as is the live music each night - pianist / singer ( Dean Martin oldies).
The cabaret show on the Wednesday throughout the summer is really most enjoyable - Roly Daniels & Noel Cunningham etc were outstanding along with the wonderful dinner.
I am not surprised the hotel wins so many awards - it is a really superb location for a break and so well managed.
It seems to be very popular for weddings - there were 3 while we were there - but we were only barely aware of them due to the layout of the complex and location of the function rooms.
We are already looking forward to going again very soon.

Room Tip: Rossnowlagh beach nearby ( 15 mins by car ) where we spent most of our time is a lovely spot. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TERRY_DUBLIN_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Terry,

It was my personal pleasure to extend a warm Donegal welcome to you. Thank you for making a return visit. It makes me happy to know that our Team continue to deliver excellence in hotel keeping and hospitality. I am also delighted that you like our new Seafood Bar & Grill,'Harveys' and the Cabaret which has been receiving fantastic reviews this year.

While the hotel can be busy at weekends for weddings, we are fortunate that our Banqueting Suite is located away from the bedrooms, thus ensuring a good night's rest for our valued leisure guests.

There are indeed many beautiful beaches nearby, Rossnowlagh being a firm favourite with locals and tourists alike.

On behalf of the Gysling Family, Noel our GM and the entire Team, thank you for your lovely compliments which are very much appreciated.

We look forward to having you as our guest again sometime soon.



Kindest personal regards,

Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying here for one night in July. It was a Sunday so the Hotel was lovely and quiet, really relaxed. We were also lucky enough to receive a free room upgrade to the fabulous Penthouse Suite.
We ate in the Seafood and Grill bar that evening and the food was superb and reasonably priced for a 4 Star Hotel. The staff were friendly and attentive throughout.
The Hotels setting is stunning, the Lough was beautiful and glistening with the sun. The quiet and peaceful location would definately attract me to stay again. It was 26 degrees the day we left and the reception staff gave us chilled mineral water for our drive home, the little things like this make all the difference.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well sized, our room was towards the back of the Hotel looking over the lawns rath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loryarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely comments following your recent visit to Harvey's Point. We are truly delighted to learn that you enjoyed the entire experience and especially the attention to detail which we believe is the hallmark of a great hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the not too distant future.


Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
855 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
408 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
579 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HRS, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing