We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic ! pure luxury !”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic ! pure luxury !”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed for a family wedding last week ..it was fantastic from start to finish ..friendly staff ..great food ...had the wedding in the garden ...it was like something you would see in a movie ..the most romantic wedding I was ever at ...would highly recommend this venue if you were thinking of getting married !! The rooms were beautiful ..the bathrooms alone were so fab ! The breakfast was top class .pancakes to die for ! Great time was had by all in the residents bar until 5.30 am so could not fault this hotel ...10/10 .Thanks for a wonderful ..most memorable wedding I have ever been at & I include my own in that !!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Janet,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review describing your recent experience at Harvey's Point. It is very rewarding to read your kind words of praise. The Garden Wedding was indeed very special and it was our pleasure to welcome you all. We hope to have the pleasure of being at your service again sometime.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,678
    282
    64
    21
    9
See reviews for
662
2,506
55
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed a weekend in this hotel at the start of July for a family wedding. From the moment we walked in the doors till we left was pure luxury, the staff were friendly and chatty and cater to all your needs and requests they are so helpful and a credit to the hotel (as we have stayed in some beautiful hotels over the years and sometimes the staff do not do them justice) We had breakfast in our room which was an experience as they come in and lay your table in front of the window to the view of the lake, with everything you need right down to a flower in a vase, pure bliss!! We have stayed in 5* hotels and they don't do this. The rooms are of 5* quality and more. The wedding was amazing and the food was to died for. This hotel has to be experience as pictures and reviews do not do it justice, my parents got an upgrade to the penthouse I can't even begin to comment on how amazing that was! it has to be the best hotel we have ever stayed in and will defo be back (sooner rather than later) their attention detail is perfect!!! Thank you Harvey's point for a weekend to remember.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Cathy,

It was our pleasure to welcome you and your family to Harvey's Point and we are delighted to hear such high praise which reflects our desire to delight our guests at every opportunity during their stay. We are very fortunate to have a Team who endeavor to deliver excellence in hotel keeping and hospitality. Attention to detail is very important to us as we believe that this is what makes all the difference between a good hotel and a great hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a relaxing leisure break sometime soon.

Kind regards,


Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Lovely hotel - first class with excellent staff and service. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and welcomed. We were also upgraded to the Penthouse suite - absolutely brilliant. I can strongly recommend a stay at this wonderful hotel. Only one minor note for maintenance - Please paint the main entrance railings. However, Thank you all for a stay to remember and i'm pleased to say we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Gary,

Congratulations on your 25th wedding anniversary and thank you for choosing Harvey's Point to mark such as special occasion.

We appreciate your valuable feedback in terms of painting the railings at the entrance. Please be assured that this is on our 'to do' list as we agree that first impressions last. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Special greetings from the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was our second visit. The suite was very luxurious and comfortable, with a lovely view over the lake. The Oyster Bar and Grill was an excellent addition, with a good selection of dishes including a tasty vegetarian option. We will definitely be back again. A very beautiful and tranquil place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnTompkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Ann,

Many thanks for your kind words in relation to your recent visit to Harvey's Point. We were delighted to have you as our guest and to hear such great feedback on our new Seafood Bar & Grill. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the near future.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed for two nights B+B and Cabaret dinner with two friends in an executive suite.I have stayed in many 4 star hotels but none could compare.Bedroom was the last word in luxury and comfort and breakfast overlooking the lough Eske was a fantastic way to start the day.A lovely walk around the lake, a visit to Belleek Pottery and visit to Magee and we were ready for a fabulous meal and cabaret.Some of the best talent in Ireland!.Second evening we had lovely meal in new Seafood restaurant.All in all it was a wonderful experience and we will be back.Beautiful setting near the Blue Stack mountains and Lough Eske, a place to relax and unwind.Last but not least the staff were very friendly and courteous.@

Room Tip: executive room was spacious with big bedroom area,a sitting area,kitchen area and huge bathroom.Mayb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Mary,

It was our pleasure to welcome you and your friends to Harvey's Point and thank you for taking the time to write such lovely words about your experience. It is very encouraging to learn that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, in particular our Wednesday night Cabaret and our new Seafood Bar & Grill. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again sometime.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Well what can you say about HARVEY,S POINT that has not allready been said, the food and service is excellent as our the staff they will go to great lengths to make sure that your stay is most enjoyable. If you can book for the Wednesday night cabaret a great show with excellent food.The rooms are out of this world, can,t wait to go back.

















































































eAY NIGHT cabaret it is a great show with great food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear William,

Many thanks for your kind words which are very much appreciated by the Gysling Family & Team. We are delighted that you have enjoyed the Harvey's Point Experience. The Cabaret is indeed a great night out for couples, families and friends. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the near future.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our third visit to Harvey's Point and it never fails to impress. The first time we only stayed one night and vowed to go back for longer.The rooms are beautifully finished with everything you could ever need or want, the bed was so comfortable it was difficult to get out of it and the tranquility and beauty of the surroundings has only left us wanting more. This is just for starters - the cabaret evening with dinner every Wednesday shows Irish talent and food of the highest quality. We couldn't recommend Harvey's Point highly enough - but then again, if we do, then other people would come and we wouldn't be able to get a reservation! I would be happy to die there!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Tess,

A warm welcome back to Harvey's Point. Thank you for your lovely review. We are humbled to hear such high praise and please be assured that we will continue to work hard at delighting our guests. It is always our pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you soon again. Please let me know when you are planning your next visit and I would love to meet you personally.

Kindest regards,


Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
818 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
400 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
570 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing