We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enchanting establishment that is Harvey's Point Hotel”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed for two nights B+B and Cabaret dinner with two friends in an executive suite.I have stayed in many 4 star hotels but none could compare.Bedroom was the last word in luxury and comfort and breakfast overlooking the lough Eske was a fantastic way to start the day.A lovely walk around the lake, a visit to Belleek Pottery and visit to Magee and we were ready for a fabulous meal and cabaret.Some of the best talent in Ireland!.Second evening we had lovely meal in new Seafood restaurant.All in all it was a wonderful experience and we will be back.Beautiful setting near the Blue Stack mountains and Lough Eske, a place to relax and unwind.Last but not least the staff were very friendly and courteous.@

Room Tip: executive room was spacious with big bedroom area,a sitting area,kitchen area and huge bathroom.Mayb...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Mary,

It was our pleasure to welcome you and your friends to Harvey's Point and thank you for taking the time to write such lovely words about your experience. It is very encouraging to learn that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, in particular our Wednesday night Cabaret and our new Seafood Bar & Grill. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again sometime.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,202)
There are newer reviews for Harvey's Point
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,861 - 2,867 of 4,202 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Well what can you say about HARVEY,S POINT that has not allready been said, the food and service is excellent as our the staff they will go to great lengths to make sure that your stay is most enjoyable. If you can book for the Wednesday night cabaret a great show with excellent food.The rooms are out of this world, can,t wait to go back.

















































































eAY NIGHT cabaret it is a great show with great food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear William,

Many thanks for your kind words which are very much appreciated by the Gysling Family & Team. We are delighted that you have enjoyed the Harvey's Point Experience. The Cabaret is indeed a great night out for couples, families and friends. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the near future.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our third visit to Harvey's Point and it never fails to impress. The first time we only stayed one night and vowed to go back for longer.The rooms are beautifully finished with everything you could ever need or want, the bed was so comfortable it was difficult to get out of it and the tranquility and beauty of the surroundings has only left us wanting more. This is just for starters - the cabaret evening with dinner every Wednesday shows Irish talent and food of the highest quality. We couldn't recommend Harvey's Point highly enough - but then again, if we do, then other people would come and we wouldn't be able to get a reservation! I would be happy to die there!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Tess,

A warm welcome back to Harvey's Point. Thank you for your lovely review. We are humbled to hear such high praise and please be assured that we will continue to work hard at delighting our guests. It is always our pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you soon again. Please let me know when you are planning your next visit and I would love to meet you personally.

Kindest regards,


Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We spent our first night in Ireland at Harvey's Point and it spoiled us for the rest of the trip. We arrived at 10:30 pm after a 5 hour flight delay, not knowing that all restaurants in Ireland close between 9 and 9:30 pm. The kitchen gladly fixed us something to eat! The room and bathroom were beautiful. Breakfast was the best we had in Ireland.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Stephani,

Sincere thanks for your kind words following your recent visit to Harvey's Point. We are delighted that you chose to stay in our hotel during your vacation to Ireland. It was indeed our pleasure to welcome you. Our Team are always happy to go the extra mile for our guests and we believe that this is what makes a good hotel great.

We appreciate your high recommendation and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Greetings from the Gysling Family and Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here in July for our wedding anniversary and had the privilege of being upgraded to the penthouse suite which was absolutely amazing. The food in the seafood bar was beautiful but dinner in the restaurant was even more fabulous. The breakfast was gorgeous too if could decide what to have from so many choices!. The staff were so attentive, the open fires lovely, the pianist in the lounge great to listen to & chat to and the beauty treatments so relaxing.

It was our first time here but we certainly intend going back. Like someone else has written, you couldn't praise every aspect of this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie7891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Maggie,

A warm welcome to you and your husband on your first visit to Harvey's Point. We are delighted that you chose our hotel to celebrate your wedding anniversary. Congratulations to you both on behalf of the Gysling Family & Team. We appreciate your kind words and we really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again sometime.

Wishing you and your husband many more years of good health and happiness.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The road along the lake side teases your mind to the beauty as it unfolds to reveal the Hotel. It is a beautiful place in a fantastic setting. The staff are very welcoming and the accomodation standard is the best I have ever come across in Ireland. This is matched by the quality of food.. add to this the ability to take along your dog and for my wife and I what you is the perfect locatin for a weekend break or as a base to explore the West Cosat of Ireland from over a longer stay. See my video for an idea of tranquil and beautiful it is at Harvey's Point.
https://vimeo.com/jimkells/review/70076322/0c48764e0b

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimkells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Jim,

It was indeed our pleasure to welcome you and your wife (and of course your dog) to Harvey's Point. A big thank you for the wonderful video which is very professional and which reflects the beauty of our beloved County Donegal. The music is a perfect blend.

I hope that our paths will cross again soon so that I may thank you in person.


Kind regards,

Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in Harveys Point for a family wedding. It is not far from home for me but as we had never stayed there we thought we would treat ourselves. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly on arrival and showed us to our room . The room was magnificent, spacious and very comfortable.The food was out of this world., the wedding meal was perfect and plenty of food, breakfast the following morning was the best I had ever tasted. Everything was very profeesional with a family feel and I would love to go back

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evelyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Evelyn,

Thank you so much for your kind words following your recent visit to Harvey's Point. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the wedding and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back sometime for a relaxing leisure break.

Kind regards,


Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
926 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
424 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
603 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: $248 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing