We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“another fantasic break at harveys” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“another fantasic break at harveys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I have just returned again from another fantasic stay at Harveys Point Donegal, It must be the most beautiful place to relax and all the staff are so friendly you feel like you have known them for years, nothing is any bother to them. You will travel a very long way to find bed rooms, bars, restaurants and surroundings to compare to what you will find at Harveys its 10 star lol i cannot say enough good things about this hotel, even the crazy goose, he sleeps on the door step, unique. Thank you Harveys for making Trevors birthday really special we both cannot wait to get back, c u all very soon, lots of love Margaret and Trevor xoxo

Room Tip: all the rooms are fantasic but we stayed this time in a lake view suite as one of us is a smoker and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magsjhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Margaret & Trevor,

It was genuinely our pleasure to welcome you back to Harvey's Point. I enjoyed meeting with you and I must say that the photo of Trevor with the birthday cake looks very special. I will send a copy to you. Thank you for your kind words and lovely review. We look forward to seeing you both again. Perhaps on 'your' birthday Margaret :-)

Special greetings from the Gysling Family, the Harvey's Point Team and of course, Harvey the crazy goose!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,525
    264
    60
    20
    9
See reviews for
616
2,397
54
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

So many people have waxed lyrical about Harvey's Point and have posted such glowing reports that, when my wife and I stayed for three nights in May '13, I was determined not to be impressed.
On arrival, we noted the promising quality of the decor around the reception area and appreciated the genuine friendliness of the staff. We were certainly not displeased with the free upgrade to a premium bedroom which turned out to be large enough to hold a 5-a-side football tournament! If I told you about the enormous bath, the fabulous food, the attention to detail in everything to make your stay relaxing etc. this review would begin to sound like all of the others. So I will stop here by simply saying ..... Believe it, it's true, Harvey's Point is a must-do!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David-Valerie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear David & Valerie,

Your review says it all! Thank you!
Now what ideas do we have to continue to delight our guests? I promise we will do our best to keep up the good work.

Hope to welcome you back again soon!

Wishing you both the very best,

Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

From the moment we entered through the doors of Harvey's Point til our departure, we experienced friendly, efficient and truly professional staff who carried out their duties in a most unassuming way to very high standards. The attention to detail was superb.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kilmore21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Sincere thanks for your kind words and thank you for taking the time to write of your recent experience at Harvey's Point. We enjoyed having you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Having been to Harvey's point on several occasions, we were looking forward to this visit, we were not disappointed. The warmth of the team and the huge rooms always leave us wanting to return.
It is not a stiff cold hotel but it has a feeling of being in someone's home only more luxurious and with high level of attentive service. The food is fabulous. The views are breathtaking. We have now visited Harvey's point as hotel guests, lunch guests, afternoon tea guests. Never been disappointed. We would have used the Swan rooms for a massage but we felt that €60 for a30min massage was a little pricey. Will be back for another stay sometime this year. We travelled on the week day special which was terrific value with no compromise on service.

Room Tip: Choose even number rooms, view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Sheila,

A warm welcome back to Harvey's Point - 'your home from home'. It is always our pleasure to have you as our guests and thank you so much for your continued loyalty which we greatly appreciate. Please be assured that we will continue in our quest for excellence in hotel keeping and hospitality. We will certainly have a look at our pricing for the Clarins Beauty Rooms following your constructive comment. We look forward to seeing you again later in the year.

Kindest greetings from the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here to celebrate our anniversary and it didn't disappoint! This is a fabulous hotel which should have a 5 star rating.The staff were friendly and attentive but not intrusive. The room was huge with a separate bar/kitchen area and a huge bathroom with double bath. The lough view was wonderful even in the rain. The food was good but I have had better-its a little contrived. Entertainment in the bar on Saturday night was very mellow and added to the relaxed atmosphere. All in all a great place to get away from it all especially for couples! Will definitely return - thankyou to all the team at Harveys Point for a lovely weekend!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Lough Eske
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tauras50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Congratulations on your recent anniversary and thank you for choosing Harvey's Point to celebrate the occasion. We sincerely appreciate your valuable feedback and please be assured that we use this constructively in order to map out our path of progress. For Season 2013, we will have two dining options from June onwards. One is our fine dining AA 2 rosette restaurant and the other is 'Harvey's Seafood Bar & Grill - a new concept in a dining experience that is fun, trendy, tasty and great value. We know you will love it !
We look forward to welcoming you back again, hopefully in the coming months.

Kind regards.

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

An amazing and tranquil stay. Relaxing atmosphere, beautiful surroundings. The welcome we received from staff was genuine. Dining room and sit by the fire after dinner couldn't have been more relaxing. Bar staff had a great sense of humour, suited us Aussies well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Jan,

Great to hear that you enjoyed the Harvey's Point Experience once again. Sincere thanks for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. We agree that a sense of humor is a big help in our business. We love to make people happy if we achieve that, then it's a job well done :-).

Special greetings from the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Harvey's Point was our first stop on our cycling trip from Malin Head to Mizen Head. We were exhausted by the time we made it and the welcoming staff and stunningly beautiful rooms and views over the lough were a tonic.
It's a wonderful place to stay and we were only sorry we didn't have more time to enjoy it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Mark,

I trust you are still enjoying your cycling trip around Ireland and many thanks for choosing Harvey's Point as one of your overnights. We were delighted to welcome you after your long journey and we appreciate your kind comments in relation to your visit. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a relaxing leisure break sometime in the future.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
2.6 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing