We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hosts.”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing Hosts.”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed recently in the beautiful Harveys Point Hotel in Donegal.I was blown away by the raptorous welcome I recieved on arrival and was shown to my room overlooking the scenic lake.
The room was a large suite,with hugh bathroom bedecked in marble ,dressing room mini kitchen ,sitting area and two king size beds..This is the standard room!! Things couldnt get any better I thought..
I arrived down to reception where I met Deirdre the delightful owner and her lovely husband Marc. They are a wonderful couple who are so natural and friendly I felt I knew them for years!
I had coffee and hot scones at the turf fire and then walked around the super grounds which are one of the most scenic I have experienced in a while.
The majestic mountains sweep down to the lake which has swans and ducks and the surrounding trees are alive with birdsong.
There was a Watercolour Course taking place and I could not think of a more perfect place to learn to paint.
I sat by the window for dinner and the food was tasty and plentiful.
After a great sleep in my comfy cosy super kingsize bed I headed down to breakfast where again I sat looking out over the misty lake nestled beneath the towering purple mountains..
The breakfast was again fab,from the homemade porridge with Baileys to the amazing omelettes done on the spot by the eversmiling chef.
This is indeed a treasure of a hotel made ever so special by all the staff,especially the Super Noel,a Tv Star ,who meets and greets all the guests in such a jovial manner.

Hugh Congrats to Deirdre ,Marc, Noel, and their amazing team of helplful friendly staff to made my first visit to Harveys Point such a memorable one. I am already so looking forward to a return visit to your 1st class hotel.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Kathy,

What a beautifully written review! Many thanks indeed. On behalf of Noel, Marc & I plus our entire Team, it was our personal pleasure to extend a warm Donegal welcome to you. It is wonderful to know that you felt 'At Home at Harvey's':-)

Please be assured that we will continue in our efforts to exceed guests expectations in terms of our product and service and above all, our attention to detail.

We certainly look forward to your return visit and it will be lovely to meet up for a wee chat.

Kindest regards from the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,678
    282
    64
    21
    9
See reviews for
662
2,506
55
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our second visit to Harveys Point. Cannot reccommend it hightly enough. The location, the staff, the welcome, the food, the room - everything was perfect as said on the title of this review.

Our thanks to everyone involved.

Brian and Liz Patterson

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Liz & Brian,

Welcome back to Harvey's Point and thank you for your high recommendation. We really appreciate your kind words and it will be great to see you back again on your next visit.
Sincere thanks from everyone at Harvey's Point.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

On arrival we were met by very friendly, efficient staff and we were thrilled with the room we were given. The only problem was we were not going to be staying longer to enjoy it!
The friendliness of the staff continued throughout the hotel with everyone we came across. It is a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting and I look forward to returning and making the most of everything the hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahP3620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Sarah,

We are delighted that you have discovered Harvey's Point and that you have plans to return for a longer break next time. I promise you will enjoy the experience and return home relaxed and refreshed. Many thanks for your positive review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Your staff are amazing and so helpful i would recomend every one i know to come it is one of the best Hotels i have stayed in. The bathroom was absolutely perfect and very relaxing . The food was perfect too when i came i had ameal in the restuarant andthe next evening in the bar the sevice was equal in both as was the food {not a place to come too if on a diet because you want to try every thing}The veiw on to the Lake was also amazing with plenty of places to go and sit to watch the world go by. If having a wedding i could think of no better set up or just a romantic time away what ever age you will love it.

Room Tip: bring your bubble bath the bathroom is to die for !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Jayne,

Many thanks for your delightful review. Your kind comments are very much appreciated by the Gysling Family & Team. Please be assured that we will continue in our journey towards excellence in hotel keeping and hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back for a relaxing, romantic escape sometime in the future.

Kind regards from the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have just returned from one night in Harvey's Point and are already looking forward our next stay.
It is an oasis of relaxation. Standards of service and quality were exemplary from the moment of arrival to departure. Sean's warm and friendly welcome set the tone for our stay. Rooms are amazing, a real treat and the dining experience was excellent. The standard of service throughout the hotel is a credit to management and staff members, who all go out of their way to make your stay a five star experience.

We can't wait to return. Thanks Deirdre and staff for a very memorable experience. We look forward to returning soon.

Dessie & Siobhan

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Dessie & Siobhan,

It was wonderful to have you both as our guests at Harvey's Point and thank you for choosing to stay with us. I enjoyed our brief chat and we all look forward to welcoming you back for a relaxing leisure break sometime soon.

Please let me know when you are returning so we can meet up. In the meantime, may I wish you both all the very best on behalf of the Gysling Family & Team.

Special greetings from Sean, our wonderful Concierge who reflects Irish hospitality at it's best.

Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I are regular visitors to Harvey's, having had our wedding reception there also and will continue to have it in our calendar, as it always impresses and is very hard to find a Hotel that offers such a relaxing stay along with excellent staff, fantastic cuisine and great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Packyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Packy,

As always, it is a pleasure to welcome you and your wife back to Harvey's Point, your 'home from home'. Sincere thanks for your continued loyalty and high recommendation. We look forward to showing you our new 'Lovers Bridge' on your next visit :-)

Kindest personal regards,

Deirdre, Marc and our entire Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just back from another wonderful stay at Harvey's Point. Truly amazing hotel with fantastic staff who are all so friendly and really do make you feel so very welcome. We stayed in a premium suite which was out of this world with lovely views over lough eske. Breakfast and dinner both delicious! Beautiful setting, just the perfect place to relax! Did not want to leave today. Thank you to all at Harvey's Point :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Sarah,

A warm welcome back to Harvey's Point and great to see you both again. It's great to know that you always enjoy your visits to our hotel and that you have returned home relaxed and refreshed once again.

Special greetings from the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
818 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
400 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
570 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing