We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harvey's Point”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed at Harverys Point easter weekend, we had a wonderful time. Our executive room was amazing, really big and beautiful, bathroom was wonderful. All staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We went on the guided walk in the morning and the cookery demo in the afternoon, these were great. Our meal was lovely and it was a great touch that we had a chocolate fountain at Breakfast on easter sunday morning. The chefs we great at breakfast, cooking me lovely fresh poached eggs. We would definitely return. Overall it was a very enjoyable stay. Angela & Ian

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 341AngelaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Angela & Ian, It was our pleasure to welcome you both to Harvey's Point. I enjoyed chatting to you during the weekend. Yes, the Easter Sunday Chocolate Fountain was a big hit with young and old! It was fun to have the activities for guests which really added to the celebrations. Thank you for your wonderful review and we hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,136 - 3,142 of 4,288 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

There are a lot of 'bargain breaks' on offer in Ireland at the moment, but a stay at Harvey's Point does not fall into this category. I doubt, however that if you take advantage of any of them that you will experience the combined quality of service, room, food and setting found at Harvey's Point.
As others have mentioned the service,especially, is exemplary.
The Harvey's Point experience will not leave you feeling short-changed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEHE2615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review and it is great to know that you enjoyed your visit to Harvey's Point. It is indeed our vision to offer added value and an exceptional experience for each and every guest. We have recently launched our great value Spring Midweek Offers and we will continue to set high standards in hotel keeping and hospitality. Thank you once again for your kind words and we look forward to extending a warm Donegal welcome to you on your next visit. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here with my husband over the Easter holidays and had a fantastic time. The staff made us feel very welcome, and were always tending your needs, we even had a courtesy call to the room to ensure that we had everything and were happy with our room. Breakfast was beautiful, with a wide variety of choice, and an omlette station available so it was cooked in front of you. Highly recommend this place for a relaxing stay and hope to return soon

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinkie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Great to hear you enjoyed the Easter Experience at Harvey's Point. We had a lovely full house and every guest seemed to be relaxed and enjoy themselves. This is what it is all about. Thank you for your kind comments and hope to see you soon. Greetings from the Gysling Family & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We experienced a two day break in Harvey's. Trying to find a fault is futile. The warmth of the greeting and the level of care and attention afforded to us was of the very highest order. Everything was perfect. The accomodation - spacious, luxurious bedroom, the food - we dined both in the bar and restaurant on alternate evenings and the scenery were fantastic. The genuine nature of the staff and how it was obvious that they want you to enjoy every aspect of the experience. For me, the most memorable aspect of staying and dining at Harvey's Point is the atmosphere. It is a warm and comfortable environment. I'd recommend a visit to everyone. In fact I'd insist that if you visit Donegal, that you experience it. Simply fantastic. We WILL be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Sean, It is very kind of you to write such a lovely review of your recent visit to Harvey's Point. Thank you for this. It is encouraging to know that you enjoyed the entire experience and as you say, the atmosphere is what makes Harvey's Point special. I would hope it is a fine balance between the high levels of customer care, the location, the open turf fires and all the other elements and details which are so important. We appreciate your high recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest regards, Deirdre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I absolutely recommend this property to anyone that will be in or around Donegal, Ireland. Beautiful accommodations. Our suite was probably 1200 sq.ft., with a guest bath, desk and separate sitting area. Exceptionally clean and the entire staff were first class. It was by far the best hotel that we stayed at during our week in Ireland. Ask for Sean when you get there. He's a wonderful older gentlemen who will show you around the property and give you a little history about the place. I hated to leave...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToddWheeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments in relation to your recent visit to Harvey's Point. We certainly appreciate such positive feedback. Please be assured that we will continue to work towards achieving excellence in every aspect of the guest experience. We hope you will come and visit us again soon. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just back from a one night stay at Harveys point. It was our first time staying at the hotel. We arrived slighly early so decided to go to the bar for a bit of lunch and a cheeky pint of guiness ( both were delicious.) we were then shown to our room which was a executive double. We can honestly say that we were blown away by the size and quality of the room, it was amazeballs.

All the staff were very friendly and accomadating and we are looking forward to booking in the future with the dog this time.

Thank you for a lovely time :-)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash-an-dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guests, Great to hear that you have discovered the magic of Harvey's Point and thank you for your kind words, especially 'amazeballs :-)
It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again and we know your dog will be impressed with the great walks around the hotel and the warm welcome he will receive from our team. He may even get to meet other doggie friends !
Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & everyone at Harvey's Point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Spent weekend here. Could not find fault with anything. We were upgraded to a premium room on arrival. It was one of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in and I am a well travelled person. Staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming. Food in main restaurant was excellent. Pricey compared to other hotels but certainly a cut above the rest. Would go back anytime.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pmb117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review and for choosing Harvey's Point for your weekend break. It is encouraging to know that we exceeded your expectations in terms of the bedrooms and our dedicated staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
958 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
615 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
774 reviews
2.6 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: $217 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing