We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have to go back”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Have to go back”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Spent just one night at this delightful hotel last weekend with my daughter - far too short but nevertheless returned home refreshed but determined to go back and am making arrangements at the moment. From the moment we landed it was relaxing - the weather outside was sub zero yet inside it was warm and cosy with open fires everywhere. The executive room was huge and spotlessly clean as was the supersized bathroom. Dinner and breakfast were both excellent and it appears that there is nothing staff wouldn't do to make your stay memorable. Didn't get a chance to explore the grounds but definitely will next time!.

Room Tip: We stayed in executive room but it was the biggest hotel room I have ever stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie56Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Rosie, A warm welcome to you and your daughter on your first visit to Harvey's Point. We are pleased that you have discovered our hotel in the Hills of Donegal! Thanks for your kind comments and of course we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime for a longer, relaxing leisure break. Please let us know if we can assist you with future reservations. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,629
    278
    64
    20
    9
See reviews for
653
2,470
55
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed last weekend in an executive suite and without doubt Harvey's Point is the best hotel we have ever stayed in! My boyfriend proposed while we were there and the staff at the hotel just helped to make the entire weekend a magical one! From reception staff to waiting staff, everyone was fantastic and couldn't do enough for us! The management and reception staff even arranged extra rooms last minute at an extremely generous rate so our families could come down and celebrate with us on the Saturday night! Nancy and all the bar and restaurant staff were thoughtful and wonderful throughout our celebrations, nothing was too much trouble! The food was simply gorgeous and breakfast was incredible! As you can tell I cannot say enough good things about Harvey's Point! We will definitely be back....maybe even for the wedding!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HmbBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest, Congratulations on your engagement. The Gysling Family & Team are proud to be part of the excitement and romance of such a special occasion. Thank you for all your kind comments and we wish you both the very best for the future. Keep in touch and of course, our Team is at your service for any enquiries! Thank you and Congratulations once again.
Warmest regards, Deirdre & Marc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I enjoyed my stay immensely and cannot wait to return. Everything was perfect. The hotel room was enormous and catered for every need (even down to candles for luxury bath). Food was lovely. Staff very friendly. Enjoyed sitting by the turf fires having a drink. Lough Eske is beautiful. It really is a warm, friendly relaxing hotel. It's the level of customer service and attention to detail that makes this hotel exceptional also.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterKildareIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Peter, Many thanks for your kind words regarding your recent visit to Harvey's Point. We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and it is great to know that our Team provide an exceptional level of customer care balanced with attention to detail. We agree that these elements make a good hotel great. Please be assured that we will continue in our quest for excellence. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Once again this hotel has surpassed itself. This hotel has the largest and most comfortable bedrooms of any hotel I have stayed in. From the moment you arrive you are made to feel welcome with a professional service that extends through all services. Food is excellent, service is friendly at all times. The little extra touches like complimentary home made chocholate chip cookies for our cuppa in the bedroom and daily fruit is a nice touch. Thoroughly enjoyed the fashion show on Saturday morning, nice way to pass a cold wet morning.
One of my favourite places for a relaxing weekend and I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pussey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you most sincerely for your kind comments in relation to your recent return visit to Harvey's Point. We enjoyed having you as our guests and we are happy to hear that the little touches did not go unnoticed. The Saturday fashion show by Rosewoods, Donegal Town is great and in fact I just 'had' to have the pink coat which was on sale at a super price! Need it in this weather!. It will certainly be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon. Kindest regards, Deirdre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenavy, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have stayed in many great locations due to my job. I work as an Aftersales Manager for Bentley/Ferrari/Maserati in Ireland. I am often away at manufacturers meetings around Europe. We tend to stay at hotels the Manufacturers know our clients would stay in ,so we can understand the level of service they expect. Harvey's point ticks all the boxes and more.
Everyone is so attenditive and help make the stay that bit more special. When we arrived for this stay we were told we had been upgraded to the Pent house suite. Although this was our 4 th stay and the rooms are great away, this just topped it all. I look after finding nice hotels for our Ferrari customers as part of the Ferrari owners club for Ireland. This one has to be the next hotel I shall bring them. If you want to impress, this is how to do it. The food is to die for and the setting is amazing. 10 out of 10. Kevin and Deborah Rogan.

Room Tip: book one with a Jacuzzi, it makes the experience all the more better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Kevin & Deborah, What a wonderful review! Thank you so much! We are honoured with your high praise and indeed further committed to delighting our guests with world class hotel keeping and hospitality. We sincerely appreciate your continued loyalty and we would be delighted to welcome you or your clients to Harvey's Point. The carpark would look splendid also :-)
The Gysling Family & Team are at your service. Kindest regards, Deirdre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was one of several visits to Harvey's Point. Once again it lived up to all expectations - room, food and hospitality all splendid. Weather cold but the turf fires & comfort of the hotel overlooked the poor weather.
Didn't want to leave

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mken1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your positive comments in relation to your recent visit to Harvey's Point. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I have had another of our fantastic Harvey experiences. We have been regular and frequent visitors throughout the last 20 plus years. What makes it special and so easy to reccommend is as follows: A staff who welcome you back to 'us'- 'us' the operative word as they feel part of the business. High quality in the bedrooms finished with the best materials and with microscopic attention to detail here and everywhere. Food of the highest quality, imaginative and tasty. Service at all levels is top class, and from everyone and the personal service from the owners who appreciate your custom and your loyalty. They go out of theirv way to accommodate your food requirements facilitating a vegetarian superbly on out last trip in March 2013.This is as good as it gets - in other hotels we always compare our experiences with Harveys and it wins hands down. A not to be missed Hotel in a fantastic location. Go for it!!! Gerry and Anne Kelly, Belfast

Room Tip: Those rooms which face Lough Eske 202 - 2004 All rooms are quiet as all have hall ways to the corrid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Gerry & Anne, Welcome Home to Harvey's! We always enjoy having you stay with us and it is genuinely our pleasure to look after you. Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for being such great ambassadors for Harvey's Point. This is appreciated by each and every one of us. Kindest personal regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing