We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete luxury”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
N.ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Complete luxury”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Harveys Point as we were wanted a peaceful break, and we got exactly that. Our room was complete luxury, huge, spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished. We ate in the wine bar, staff and food were both excellent. Looking forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annrosepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Ann, It's great to hear that you enjoyed the Harvey's Point Experience and have returned home relaxed and refreshed. Thank you for your kind words which are very much appreciated by the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,728
    285
    65
    20
    9
See reviews for
675
2,543
55
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
carlow
2 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed in Harveys point hotel for Christmas for 4 days. We had an absolute ball, really enjoyed our time there. The owners Deirdre and Marc made everyone part of their family for the whole stay! We thougt this personal service was fantastic! We can't wait to go back. Really recommend it. I am coeliac and the choice of gluten free food was excellent and the knowledge of staff about it was excellent. The cleanliness of the hotel was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful!
Thanks Deirdre O'Reilly

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Deirdre, Thank you so much for taking the time to write of your experience at Harvey's Point at Christmas. Marc & I enjoyed meeting you and your husband and it was great to see all our guests relaxing and taking part in the celebrations. Thank you for your positive feedback and we hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligeach, Sligo, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Myself and my friend have just arrived home from a fabulous weekend at Harvey's Point hotel. What a wonderful experience. Our first pleasant surprise was our executive room - it was wonderful. Huge room, twin beds were like doubles, bathroom amazing, and kitchen with very well stocked mini bar was a definite bonus. This hotel is all about friendliness and all those hidden little things that make a massive difference, e.g. candles and matches in bathroom, fruit and cookies in kitchen, water and fruit in residents lounge, and I could go on and on. We had our dog with us and boy was she treated like a special guest! We were given a room right next to a door out to the lawn - nice touch. She got her own set of instructions to ensure her stay was comfortable. It's wonderful to see a hotel of this calibre that is happy to welcome a much loved pet. We also believe she is going to receive a Certificate of Good Behaviour in the post. Every member of staff we met were extremely friendly - even if just passing them in the corridor! Our biggest laugh of the weekend was me trying to take a photo of the 'boss' at Harvey's Point - THE GOOSE! He was wonderful, but decided to chase me down to the pier - what fun and what a memory - can't wait to go back and meet him again. A rare find in this modern world - charming and beautiful. Well done staff of Harvey's Point and keep up the good work. Look forward to meeting you all again in the future.

Room Tip: Room 101 was perfect for those with a dog. Easy access to outdoors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Mavis, On behalf of the'boss' Harvey our goose :-), and the entire team at Harvey's Point, I would like to thank you for your delightful review. It is touching to know that our guests appreciate the extra effort and attention to detail to ensure a memorable visit. We will continue in our efforts to exceed expectations at every level and it will be our pleasure to welcome you and your canine friend back again soon. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at Harvey's Point, and our second time in the Lakeshore Suites.
I have hesitated to post this review for a few weeks, for purely selfish reasons: I don't really want others to find out just how great the place is!
The Lakeshore Suites are ideal. Ours was facing out into the wilderness across Loch Eske; our door facing the woods, the veranda confronting the lapping waters- it was very plausible to believe we were in a private retreat.
The rooms have been refurbished and up sized into very comfortable suites, with large sitting rooms and cosy bedrooms. The bathrooms have free standing baths and large generous showers. I personally love the bog water for bathing in, I believe it is superb for the skin. Some taller/ larger people may find the bath somewhat on the small size- though.
My daughter is a bit of a critic herself and asked to see "the good rooms, up the ramp". We were obliged and Joy judged that our rooms were just as lovely but nicer because they were so private. She would have swopped bathrooms though!
We met several amazed guests, who had no idea that dogs were welcome- but please don't tell anyone. Alli and Sam absolutely adore the place, and want to keep it all to themselves!
The staff, especially Mr Cunningham were extremely professional and welcoming. Mr Cunning has a wonderful sense of style and yet I never felt at all judged for my lack of style or couture, dressed in my best Penny's and Dunnes!
Bar food was gorgeous, fine dining was just that and more, and breakfast was the best we've had in any similar rated hotel.
I was traveling with my daughter and although it is not geared towards family holidays- thank God, we both loved our stay.
The journey did concern me- travelling from Carlow to Donegal for two nights did seem excessive on energy and value. However, we returned completely revived and restored.
Harvey's Point- absolutely worth it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemandJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Gemma, Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay in our new Lakeshore Suites. We are genuinely delighted that you enjoyed the experience. I would have liked to meet yourself and Joy in person but I was away on business. I know that Noel and our team were pleased to look after you. Great also to hear that Alli and Sam enjoyed their wee break too, especially after the long journey. I hope we will see you all again sometime in the future. Kindest personal regards, Deirdre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was our third visit and once again it was truly excellent. relaxing and sumptuous, everything you want to rewind and relax. We were upgraded to a premium suite with their compliments, and the room was even bigger than we imagined. The staff, food , especially breakfast, was excellent, we were made to feel totally relaxed and at home. Cant wait to return!!

Room Tip: deluxe is great , the jacuzzi is such a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Ruth, it was our pleasure to welcome you back again to Harvey's Point and thank you for your continued loyalty and kind words. We are delighted that you felt so at home and had a relaxing stay. Special greetings from the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkeel, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A real retreat. This is not our first visit to Harvey's Point and it never fails to impress. The situation is superb and the staff are so welcoming and helpful. The bedrooms are huge and so so comfortable. Dinner is always very special. Well cooked and well presented, served by exceptionally friendly staff. Breakfast sets you up for the day.
Always sorry to leave and are already planning the next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravellers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest, A warm welcome back to your Harvey's Point, your home from home in Donegal. We appreciate your lovely words and continued loyalty. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Driving to Harvey's piont is an experience in its self, Harvey's is set in the middle of lough eske which is a photographers paradise!!

Upon arrival we were shown to our rooms by the receptionist, she was very pleasant and gave us a tour of our massive rooms which were very grand with a modern touch!! We had an executive room which had everything you could want for a short stay, with added touches of cookies and lindor chocolates yum yum!!

Our rooms looked over the lake with amazing views of the blue stack mountains and surrounding area!!

As for the food what can I say, amazing!! We dinned here for the 2 short nights we were in Donegal and I can say whoever complains about the quality of food at Harvey's has not experienced quality at its best before!! The highlight was the chocolate brownie!!

We hope to make a return to this hotel in the near future Susan & Glen

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanHolohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Susan & Glen, Thank you for your kind comments in relation to your recent visit to Harvey's Point. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and had a lovely dining experience. This positive feedback is very encouraging and much appreciated. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
858 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
409 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
579 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HRS, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing