We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING.....PURE HEAVEN”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
derry
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AMAZING.....PURE HEAVEN”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

my hubby n i had a wonderful 2 night stay at harvey's point......the welcome on arrival was very plesant and we were both speechless when we were shown our room....the room n view of the lake was awsum.....breakfast on both mornings were faultless the chef was very friendly n nothing was a bother to him excellant manner with him......def be back at harveys point & hopefully very soon.....sooo peaceful n relaxing

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thompog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Grainne, A pleasure to welcome you and your husband to Harvey's Point. Thrilled to hear you enjoyed the experience. Many thanks for your lovely review. Special greetings from Chris, our Banqueting & Breakfast chef who has a wonderful way with guests as do so many of our dedicated team. Kind regards, Deirdre & Marc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,762
    289
    65
    22
    9
See reviews for
690
2,562
55
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Me and my husband went here for our honeymoon didn't want to go home this hotel is just a dream come true
Food unbelievable and staff were so helpful.
The grounds of this hotel is stunning lakes and gardens and swans
Tracey and Paul


Thankyou harveys point

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gallagher04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Tracey and Paul, Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for choosing Harvey's Point for your honeymoon. We are delighted that you had a romantic and enjoyable time in our hotel. On behalf of the Gysling Family & Team, may I extend our very best wishes to you both for the future. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Amazing weekend spent at Harvey's Point, from start to finish -didn't want to leave :( Have visited the hotel numerous times before, and as on previous experiences the staff were superb, food was fabulous, and the rooms exceptional. Thank you to all the staff at Harvey's Point Hotel for providing us all with a throughly enjoyable experience. Special word of thanks to Nancy for her wonderful, cheerful and friendly service in the Hotel's restuarant during breakfast times and evening dinner. Cant wait to visit again!!! :)

Room Tip: Request a room with a view, if available... take advatage of the hotel's wonderful location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Emma, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your family celebrations at Harvey's Point. We appreciate you choosing our hotel and thank you for your lovely review. It will always be our pleasure to welcome you back. Special greetings from Nancy, who has been with us for over twenty years and who has an amazing ability to remember each guest and their preferences. On behalf of the Gysling Family & Team, may I extend our sincere thanks to you for your continued loyalty. Kind regards, Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Hotel: located about 3 miles from Donegal town overlooking Lough Eske. The approach to the hotel winds its way along one side of the lake and the entrance is via a lovely flower-bed/planter car park. The reception area is welcoming with a quirky area to the left of the reception desk which houses a lovely fire and has comfy seating. There is a really inviting reading room across from the reception area and another real turf fire in a small seating area in the bar. There is no swimming pool but we hear one is planned. This could lift this hotel into 5 star realm!!!!
Dining area - large formal dining room with a smaller area close to the bar.
Rooms - we had a superior room which was fabulous. It was really large and spacious with a "to die for" bathroom. The room was superbly equipped with dressing gowns/slippers/tea and coffee making facility/safe/mini bar and service area and comfy seats. Our room had a view of the car park, would advise you request a room overlooking the lake. We saw one of the penthouse suites which had so many rooms that it was like a small house. Fab!!!!
Food: Fab! fab! fab! Breakfasts were amazing with every possible choice combination from continental to full Irish. The 50 Euro a la carte dinner was of a 5 star standard as was the attention from all the dining room staff.
General: Fab hotel and great romantic setting with big function rooms for weddings. I could write forever about this hotel, our 3 days were not enough so we will be back.
Thank you Harvey's Point for a memorable stay, the entire staff team were amazing and they were really the icing on the cake for us.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcon60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest, It was truly our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey's Point and thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and positive review of your recent stay at our hotel. We look forward to your return visit for a lovely relaxing leisure break. The Gysling Family and Team are at your service. Kind regards, Deirdre & Marc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We are just back from Harveys Point on a lovely relaxing break. As usual the food was delicious the rooms a delight and the staff are lovely as well. We stayed in the executive room which is huge we have stayed in lots of hotels in Ireland and europe and never come across ones a big as Harveys Point and the attention to detail in the rooms is splendid. A lovely touch just after say ten minutes of being in the room, you receive a phone call to ask is everything ok in your room. Brendan on our departure showed us the Penthouse and the new lakeshore suites even though we have stayed here many times whe have never stayed in the Penthouse all i can saw is WOW. I liked the lakeshore rooms as well as they had lovely views over the lake and lovley roll top baths. We really appreciiated the wonderful deals they had on for January, it was and always is a delight to stay in Harveys Point a wonderful treat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonegalTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Donegal Traveller, Thank you very much for your lovely review and of course your continued loyalty which we sincerely appreciate. We are blessed with a magical location and we are proud of our product but for sure it is the people who make the place, people like Brendan and so many others in our team who reflect the very best in Irish hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back 'home' again soon! Special greetings from the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with my partner and we had an amazing time...beautiful location in the middle of nowhere on Lough Eske..staff were very friendly and welcoming from the minute we walked in the door until we checked out....room was unreal (premium lake view) jacuzzi was a major plus..turf fires and cosy seating...should be a 5 star, but it doesn't have a leisure center..casual dining menu is very tasty and reasonable (would recommend the fish & chips)..

Room Tip: Get the jacuzzi and lake view....(premium double)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarecrowjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest, On behalf of the Gysling Family & Team, may I extend our thanks to you for your wonderful review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the Harvey's Point Experience and it will be our pleasure to welcome you and your partner back again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our first visit and what a time we had the staff setting food and our room was amazing as I said it was our first visit and will not be the last we have never stayed in a hotel like it with the grounds and lough Eske right on your door step with our batteries fully chargred for the new year thank you HP.

Room Tip: The rooms are outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear David, It was our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey's Point for your first visit. Thank you for your lovely comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed a relaxing break in our hotel. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
885 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
416 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
590 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing