We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another lovely stay at Harvey's Point” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Another lovely stay at Harvey's Point”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just to clarify, I wouldn't ever rate a hotel five stars but if I could, I would rate this one four and a half. This was our second stay and again not disappointed. Love the hotel, especially the suites(how could you not?). One thing you note about the rooms is the absolute peace and quiet. The worst thing about staying in hotels is having to listen to other peoples every day noises, using the bathroom etc, not nice! Not with HP though, I know the hotel was busy but we didn't hear a sound from rooms either side of us.

The restaurant was again, really really good. Love the interesting and diverse menu. Bar food not so great(frozen pizza?? Come on HP, you can do better than that!)

The weather was awful and ashamed to say that we didn't set foot outside the hotel but had a lovely, lovely relaxing stay and batteries fully recharged for the new year.

This hotel is on our list of hotels well worth returning to later in the year and the special offer(one night free) made it all the more affordable. Keep up the good work HP..

Room Tip: Any, they're all amazing..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Chris, A warm welcome back to Harvey's Point and sincere thanks for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your return visit and in relation to the pizza, you are right, yes, we can do better than that! And we will! Special greetings from everyone at Harvey's Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,532
    264
    60
    20
    9
See reviews for
617
2,402
54
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

As the saying goes ‘hearing is not as good as seeing for oneself’. And so we had to sample the oft-mentioned Harvey’s Point in Donegal.

Situated on the shores of Lough Eske, adjacent to a competing hotel of that name, Harvey’s Point is a welcoming retreat with an interesting history. The reception staff were pleasant and chatty and we were soon accompanied to our accommodation by a very pleasant porter (native of Tipperary). A problem presented itself after the long, long walk to the room when we arrived into a room prepared for some other family. The situation was recovered by the porter after a phone call to reception staff. They had given him the wrong room reference.

Some minutes later we arrived at a different room as the porter made light of it with a mild joke. He was very attentive and helpful.

First impressions were very positive. The room was very large, something this writer always likes, and the entry was by way of a small ante chamber. The room had a very comfortable bed, complimentary broadband connection, a writing desk, plasma TV, and mini bar. The bathroom had a large bath and shower and again the sense of space was present here. The brochure said that the room measured a total of 75 m2 or 806 square feet. We were not disappointed.

The dining room has an ambience that is welcoming and formal. The sight of crisp white linen and gleaming cutlery and glassware was just what we wanted to see after a long drive in poor weather. The fresh flowers, the chandeliers and the view of the lake contributed in no small way to the ambience.

The dinner menu was full of enticing choices and the wine list was adequate. The Restaurant Manager, Orhan and his team were very good. Orhan himself is a professional of the highest order and he was always on hand to oversee that we were happy with the meal. Some of the waiting staff were inexperienced and distracted at times by a busy dining room. Wine was left to be poured by us on each of the two evening etc. But Orhan was clearly keen to correct this and he regularly returned to the table to ensure that any oversight was rectified. Overall the dinning experience was very positive for both of us.

The bar area was small and sort of at a cross roads in the hotel as people constantly passed through from dining room, lounge etc. We enjoyed a few drinks and a chat. The barman was not too forthcoming with conversation until a local resident arrived with whom he seemed to be on more friendly terms. However he was attentive and although I had to assist by pointing to the correct bottle of gin on at least one occasion, he was efficient and competent.

The fact that there is no swimming pool in this hotel was not an issue for this writer but for others it may be. Also the hotel seems to have a strong wedding market but we cannot say how this might affect the experience of non-wedding guests. Parking was convenient and although the hotel is well hidden from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, it was only a drive of fifteen minutes or so to Donegal town for some Christmas shopping.

The hotel’s slogan ‘Swiss made in Ireland’ is a clue to the origins of the proprietor family. They have achieved a warm place of welcome, good food and exquisite accommodation standards. It was nice to meet a member of the family in the dining room on the morning of our departure. This is surely one of the better family run hotels in Ireland. We would both return happily.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Coolnacarrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest, Our very sincere thanks to you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your recent visit to Harvey's Point. We appreciate all guest feedback as it assists us in measuring performance and in addressing any issues that may arise. We will be undertaking an intensive training programme over the coming weeks to ensure that all staff can deliver excellence in every aspect of our hotel keeping. We most certainly look forward to welcoming you back again sometime. Kind regards from the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

The best break we ever had.Harvey's Point has everything one could wish for.We look forward to a return visit soon,in fact we are planning a visit before Easter.Next time i will bring kayak for trip on Lough Eske,while my wife reads another book in the Reading Room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Gerry, Many thanks for your kind words in relation to your recent visit to Harvey's Point. We are very happy to hear that you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you both back again sometime. Lovely idea to bring your kayak and lovely idea to curl up with a good book or two in the Reading Room by the lake! Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlaoise
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is my fourth trip to Harveys Point.I was so enthralled by the size of rooms., the decor and the comfort that I had to take my South African family to show off the magnificent lay out and comfort that awaited one in the deluxe rooms. Just the look in their faces when they entered their room said it all.The same expression was seen when my son-in-law entered the room booked for him and his wife.
The welcome received on arrival at the reception area is a feeling that you receive throughout your stay.You feel individually important,be it at breakfast or dinner.The staff are curtious and attentive and will go the extra mile to make ones stay as comfortable as possible.
It is an added bonus that you could have your pet spend the week end with you.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very comfortable and spacious. if you want quiet then the south side rooms.If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank visa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest, A very warm welcome back to Harvey's Point, 'your home from home'. Thank you for helping us spread the good word. This is really appreciated and we are determined to find more ways to enhance our guests' experience and indeed that of their pets! Special Greetings from the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just back. Great experience . Highly recommend Harvey's for a break. Staff make you feel at home and the hotel interior and layout encourage a relaxing chill out experience. The rooms are luxurious, decorated to the highest standard by someone with attention to complementary detail and you feel like staying in the room to avail of the facilities but the restaurant setting and menu will tempt you to endulge.
Great setting close to the lake for a walk or cycle around the perimeter. Close proximity to Donegal town for shopping or a scenic leisurely drive beyond.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the lake but they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clem H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Clem & Maria, Sorry for the delay in response to your lovely review. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey's Point and we hope you will make a return visit sometime in the future. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my Fiancé had the pleasure of a two night stay in Harvey's Point on the 28th & 29th of December. To say it made our Christmas is an understatement! From the minute we arrived we were so impressed with the hotel and its staff. It's rare to find a hotel where the employees seem to actually enjoy helping guests but this is what you get at Harvey's Point.
The rooms won't be matched anywhere we were lucky enough to stay in the penthouse and we enjoyed every second of it. If you are thinking of going to Harvey's Point don't think any longer book it!!! Planning our next visit already.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maisie365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Maisie, Sincere thanks to you and your Fiancé for choosing Harvey's Point for your short break and for your lovely review and high recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Greetings from the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here in June 2012 for a family wedding. Had our little 23 month old with us. Stayed in the executive room which was fabulous. Plenty of room for a family and a gorgeous jacuzzi bath!
The staff were very nice and child-friendly. The wedding was gorgeous also.
The restaurant didn't really have a children's menu but they catered for us no problem.

Only downside is that it doesn't have a pool.

Overall had a lovely stay and will be looking out for deals to go here again in the future!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenneds4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest, It was our pleasure to welcome you and your family to Harvey's Point in June. We would love to offer the facility of a pool and hopefully someday we will have one as it would enhance our product. We have some excellent deals on during the coming months and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms, HRS, Jetsetter and Despegar.com so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing