We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an amazing hotel!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What an amazing hotel!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Best hotel I've ever stayed in. Beautiful location with great views. Staff sooo friendly and helpful. Food was gorgeous and we were upgraded to a suite which was HUGE. Didn't want to leave the room. Lots of nice extras were thrown in too. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aoibheann11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Aoibheann, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Harvey's Point Experience and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,525
    264
    60
    20
    9
See reviews for
616
2,397
54
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downings, Co Donegal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

I could rave about this hotel all day. Five star hotel, lets say Five star plus plus plus plus.............
I didnt want to leave! Excellent staff, Excellent location, Excellent accommodation, Excellent Food. The staff made our party feel so welcome and treated every guest like royalty. We arrived at the hotel and were immediately shown personnally by a member of staff to our luxurious suite, she made sure we knew where everything was, how everything worked, we felt totally at home from the start. The staff's attention to detail with every guest ensures your stay is perfect. The Management and staff of harveys point hotel have definitely got it right, such a pleasureable place to stay. I will return to this hotel the first chance I get.

Room Tip: Any room will do, they are all excellent!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 205Deb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest, We sincerely appreciate your kind words of praise in relation to your recent visit to Harvey's Point. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We will continue in our endeavors to strive towards excellence in hotel keeping and hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards from the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel most welcome.
Special mention for Maria in the restaurant who was excellent. We really enjoyed both of our evenings in the gourmet restaurant.
Well done to all the staff. We will return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeruMontanum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you most sincerely for your lovely review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the Harvey's Point Experience. Special greetings from Maria and the entire team and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards, Deirdre & Marc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just home from a really enjoyable overnight stay at Harvey's Point. Friendly, helpful staff and a lovely personal touch. Fabulous 4 course meal in the restaurant. The room was huge! Really great breakfast, everything you might want and more! Peaceful getaway - will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJN38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest, It was our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey's Point and thank you for your kind words which are very much appreciated by the Gysling Family & Team. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Deirdre & Marc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We truely enjoyed our stay at Harvey's Point Hotel. Set on the stunning Lough Eske, the hotel is warm and elegant with a very inviting friendly atmosphere from beginning to end.

Within an hour of arriving we were asked was everything okay with our room. We received a very warm and hospitable welcome with the porter bringing bags to our room followed by a tour of our huge Premium Room.

We kindly got a free upgrade and a late check out which was greatly appreciated. The staff are extremely accomdating.

We found all staff in lounge, dining room and bar to be extremely professional and accommodating, but above all so warm and friendly. Its nice to stay in a hotel where people remember you at reception. This is not so common anymore, so it is lovely to see.

The room was spotless, beautiful and comfortable. It interior was classic and gorgeous. We stayed in one of the Premium Rooms and it was similar to an apartment. Extremly large room with Four poster bed,mini bar,jazucci and a sitting room and separate changing area. It was similar to staying in a large apartment. Bed could sleep 7. It was pure luxury.

The food was exceptional. Bar food was gorgeous and dining room food was beautiful! Classic dinning with professional friendly staff willing to accomadate you in any way possible. Ordered room service for breakfast and it was gorgeous!! The view out on the helicopter pad and lake is stunning! Followed by a mountain drive. Made it all worthwhile.

We couldn't have asked for a better weekend and we look forward to returning. Really was very memorable.

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning. Executive and deluxe rooms are large. Photos do it not justice, the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eithnemaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Eithne Maria, Thank you so much for your fantastic review of your recent Harvey's Point Experience. It certainly was our pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future. Warm regards from the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed in Harvey's point for 1night and our stay was brilliant. Staff were very helpful and accommodating overall, porter brought bags up to room and gave us a personal tour of our massive room! Was a lovely personal touch. I measured the room&it was 24foot absolutely massive!! Room was lovely, bed was massive, Jacuzzi bath so fab!
We ate in the bar for our dinner&the food was great. Breakfast in the morning was lovely especially seeing the view of the lake as we had arrived the night before in the dark.
Would def recommend a stay here, we will definitely be back&I can't wait!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tootiesbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest, It was our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey's Point for your first visit. Many thanks for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime. Warm regards from the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

During November 2012 my wife an I spent a weekend in Harveys Point in Donegal. The expierience was overwhelming, friendly staff, warm and welcoming athomsphere from the moment we arrived. The food was delicious served by excellent staff who we always available to help if required. The entire weekend was relaxing and I have no hesitation but to reccommend Harveys Point as the ideal location for a break away, enjoy it as we definately did and will be returning again.

Room Tip: There is no specific requirement all rooms are large in size and you will definately enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Martin, Thanks very much for your kind words following your recent weekend break at Harvey's Point. It was our pleasure to welcome you and your wife and we look forward to seeing you again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
2.6 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing