We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night to remember”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Templepatrick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Night to remember”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Such a Fabulous hotel, and a really stunning location set in the mountains of Donegal over looking the lake. The staff are very warm and friendly, food and service was second to none,,, such a relaxing weekend, will most definatly be back. Seeing is believing. Susan & David xx

Room Tip: All rooms in the hotel are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suaan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Susan & David, Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,723
    284
    65
    20
    9
See reviews for
673
2,539
55
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Recently we became parents for the second time and we wanted to celebrate our Wedding anniversary so decided we would like a break and decided to come to Harvey's Point.

WE WERE NOT DISAPPOINTED

Harvey's Point is luxurious, clean, very comfortable and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
We booked a premium suite and on arrival had been upgraded to The Penthouse Suite which was such a nice surprise. Luxury is an understatement. It simply left us speechless. We spent two nights at Harvey's Point and did not want to leave. The food both at breakfast and dinner is to a very high standard. The Breakfast buffet is just awesome and offers a vast variety of treats. The room is massive with a double jacuzzi bath, a bar, a living area, a reception area and there are two televisions one of which is in a spacious living room. Total luxury!

The area around Harvey' Point is stunning. We walked one of the routes and i went for a run around the lake using the road which is 10 miles long and offers great views.

We will return and recommend Harvey's Point.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Richard, Congratulations on your wedding anniversary and on your new arrival. Best wishes from all at Harvey's Point. Thank you so much for your lovely review which is very much appreciated by the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Lovely hotel, great service, beautiful location. Rooms are gorgeous - very spacious and spotlessly clean. Staff are friendly and helpful. The location is picturesque and tranquil. Ideal for a restful break.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Meg, Thank you for your kind words. It was our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey's Point and we are happy that you enjoyed your relaxing break. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have just returned from a long promised stay in Harvey's Point. Suffice to say that it exceeded our highest expectations. The staff were the best e have come across in any hotel in Ireland, the setting, building, interior and last but not least the food was

Room Tip: Ann exercise room or a small gym would go down a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest, We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write such a lovely review. Thank you very much on behalf of the Gysling Family & Team. We agree that a Gym would be a good addition and it is in our plans for the future. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, N Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

After being together for several years my partner (now wife) and I decided to run away and get married. We then wanted to spend a couple of days away for some pampering and luxury.
Having considered many options on the island of Ireland, we decided to go back to Harvey's Point. On our previous two visits we have marvelled at the luxury of the rooms - particularly the bathrooms - and the quality of the food in the restaurant.
We were not disappointed - if anything it gets better on each visit.
You will get the warmest of welcomes from every member of staff, and if you ask them they will all say they love working there - and it shows.
The rooms in the main building are really apartments - and you could happily spend the whole day in your room - with room service very reasonably priced.
However, this would miss the amazing breakfast with - in addition to everything you would normally expect - a smiling chef producing wonderful pancakes and omelettes to order.
Dinner in the restaurant is fine dining - and we were spoiled for choice.
We hope to go back in the New Year and this time we will take our dog who will love the walks around the Lough.
The only thing Harvey's Point lacks is a swimming pool and spa, but don't let this put you off. Everything else more than makes up for it.
Finally, we were there on a Wednesday when HP has its Cabaret Evening. We decided against going and ate in the bar, but were delighted to be asked to go through and watch the show. We intended to stay only a short time, but, in all honesty, we loved it and stayed to the end. Congratulations to Noel and all his performers for a wonderful evening.
PS If you want to find an authentic local bar with great Guinness, head to The Forge on Meetinghouse Street in Donegal Town.

Room Tip: On our first visit we were shown into a room on the side opposite the lough and the view was disappo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markjohn2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest, It was our pleasure to welcome you and your wife back to Harvey's Point. We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience once again. It means so much to our team to hear that our standards of hotel keeping and hospitality are appreciated by our guests. On behalf of the Gysling Family & Team, may I extend our heartfelt thanks for your continued loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you both and your little dog in the New Year. Kind regards, Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed in Harvey's Point for 2 nights for a friends wedding, the rooms where absolutely amazing, the staff where really friendly and helpful, my only complaint is the €6 charge for each person for breakfast to be brought up to your room, other than that both me and my partner had a great time at the hotel and I would definitely recommend anyone stay here if you get the chance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0hn_Mc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear John, Thank you for your kind comments in relation to your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your 2 day break. To be honest, we apply the charge for room service as we appoint one full-time staff member to look after this department to a high standard. Many thanks for your high recommendation of Harvey's Point and we hope to see you and your partner again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I had a fantastic weekend. The hotel is just lovely,very comforatble and a place where you can settle in and feel quite at home. All the staff are very friendly and courteous at all times. The food was gorgeous. We had bar food the first night and ate in the restaruant the second night,Both meals were spot on. The brekkie is also great and my husband was loving the gammon slices! The best bit of it all though was that the hotel gave us a complimentary upgrade on account of our wedding anniversary. The suite was HUGE and we had a gorgeous view of the lake and the swans. Thanks Harvey's Point we will definitely recommend you to our family and friends :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest, Congratulations to you and your husband on the occasion of your wedding anniversary. It was our pleasure to welcome you and thanks for your lovely review and high recommendation. We look forward to having you as our guests again sometime soon. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
856 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
409 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
579 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing