We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I consider this to be one of the best hotels ever. Food and service are excellent. Get their iPhone app. You won't be disappointed if you stay here. You will just measure all of your other stays by using Harvey's Point as THE standard.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RetRPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest, We are very pleased to hear your high recommendation of Harvey's Point. Thank you so much. Glad you like our iPhone app (created in house by Marc of the Gysling Family). We will continue in our pursuit of excellence in hotel keeping and hospitality. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,575
    274
    62
    20
    9
See reviews for
637
2,430
55
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

My partner and our small Jack Russell Terrier enjoyed 2 nights in Harvey's point in mid-September. It's fantastic to find a wonderful 4-star hotel that is dog-friendly, and it was a treat for the humans as well as our four-legged friend! We got a good deal online for 2 nights B&B and 1 dinner in the restaurant. And there was no extra charge for the dog. Great value.

We were allocated a room in the "Courtyard" - a group of rooms set outside of the hotel, but connected to the main hotel by an enclosed corridor. Each room has its own entrace from the outside, so they are like little chalets. The room we were allocated was a standard courtyard room, and despite the fact that it was the lowest denomination of rooms in the hotel, it was fine for our needs. Not as fantastic as the rooms and suites in the main hotel, but still very nice. Half of the rooms face out onto the lake, the other half face the back (boring view of the back of a building and grassy hill) - we got one facing the back. Bed was large and extremely comfortable. Nice dressing-table and mirror. Fresh homemade cookies each day. The bathroom was a bit pokey and the bathtub was small and tired looking, but the water pressure from the shower was fantastic - best I've experienced in a long time! Nice touch to have a small candle and matches next to the bathtub, as well as bath salts. I understand these rooms will enjoy a "facelift" in the coming months, so we looking forward to seeing the end result. The location of room was great for us as we could bring our dog directly outside from the door of our bedroom, and it was ony a few short steps down to the beautiful lake. I have to say, we all had a great sleep in that room.

The main part of thje hotel is warm and inviting. We spent some time relaxing in front of a turf fire in the bar/louge areas, reading books & magazines and listening to a piano player. There is also a "reading room" overlooking the lake, with more turf fires. I would've loved to bring my dog in here to relax in front of the fire, but dogs are not allowed in public areas - I can appreciate this, and understand it would not be acceptable to other patrons (regardless of how quiet she is). Sound proofing / noise control was exceptional - there was a large wedding and a function on in the two function rooms but you wouldn't know it (with the exception of a few wedding guests who came into the bar area, but we had a great laugh with them).

The FOOD is was just fantastic, and a highlight of our weekend in Donegal. We enjoyed a meal in the dining room, as well as dinner in the "bar" area. Service was exceptional, wines were varied and resonable, and the food itself was cooked to perfection. The dining room offered a range of fish, steak, pork, and lamb , beautifully presented, and the perfect portion sizes . Tip - the cheese board has a great range, and has no additiona; cost if you take it in lieu of dessert. The "bar food" had sandwiches and pizza and salads as well as burgers, steak, risotto, fish & chips... I must say the bar food, though simple sounding, was presented beautifully and everything had an "added touch" that made it that much more special! And the breakfast was definitely the best I have experienced at a hotel in Ireland - a chef was on duty to make omlettes and pancakes as well as freshly carved honey-baked ham - the quality of the meats was exceptional (great sausages!) - and plenty of croissants and danishes (a pet peeve of mine is getting to breakfast and there's only a handful of stale croissants, this was NOT the case in Harvey's Point)

The reception staff gave us details as to a great walk from the hotel, approximately an hour, and we (and the dog) enjoyed it very much - brought us along the lake, up the side of a hill, along the hill, and back down to the hotel. There are plenty of other parks and trails nearby, so next time we will enjoy trying a few of these.

Donegal town is a short 7km away, and we spent an afternoon there. I didn't think there was a lot to see there, but we had a walk around and a quick browse in Magee's.

I missed having a spa / leisure centre, but I understand this also in the pipeline for the hotel (which will then probably make it a 5-star hotel... hopefully prices won't go up too much...)

I would recommend this hotel for couples or a group of friends wishing to enjoy a quiet weekend in an idyllic setting. We can't wait to go back (with the dog - she gives it two paws up!)

Room Tip: If you are allocated a Courtyard Room, be sure to ask for one facing the lake, if available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wosheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your fantastic review. We enjoyed welcoming you and it is great to hear that your little dog enjoyed the Harvey's Point Experience as well :-)
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments in detail. In relation to the Courtyard, the good news is that each Suite will have direct access to the shores of the lake via a private French patio door. The other good news is that dogs will continue to be very welcome. The rooms will retain their charm but will be much larger with a traditional style modern bathroom. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Harvey's Point. Kind regards from the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

After a long day of travelling from Dublin, to tours in Belfast & then on to the Giant's Causeway, we arrived later in the evening at this gorgeous resort in Donegal. WOW! We immediately booked a second night there, although it shortened our tour of the rest of the Republic. We needed to recharge, & are so pleased we did. Our room was huge & elegant. The breakfasts & dinners were included in the price, & were delicious. The staff were all polite, charming & helpful. The resort is spotless. Loved the original artwork throughout the hallways. Donegal town was only a few miles away, & is a delightful Irish place. Truly hope we can return one day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muskokajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest, We are delighted that you discovered Harvey's Point in the beautiful county of Donegal and that you enjoyed some much needed rest and relaxation. Many thanks for your kind comments. It was our pleasure to welcome you. The artwork was done by the late Mrs Isobel Gysling who was always so humble and unassuming about the beauty of her paintings.
We truly hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next vacation to Ireland. Kindest regards from the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Rooms were absolutely out of this world. Baths that could have fitted 4 people into them! Piped music in the bathroom. Lovely comfy beds and living room space. Breakfast was really nice especially the porridge with Baileys! We ate in the wine bar both nights and the food was good. The hotel is situated beside Lough Eske and we enjoyed a roundtrip walk from the hotel. It is also handy to Donegal town where we enjoyed the waterbus tour and the local shopping.

Room Tip: Please ensure when you book that you do not get a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Dawn, Many thanks for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Harvey's Point Experience and some of the great attractions of Donegal Town. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and i have just returned from a fabulous few days in Harveys point hotel ,the suites are hugh with everything you could possibly need to make your stay enjoyable .we were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and were very kindly upgraded to a premium suite .we ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent , the breakfast was one of the best ive had in a hotel in a long time such a selection..,.I especially loved the turf fires and the beautiful peaceful reading room with a fabulous view of the lake all the staff are very friendly , ,we cant wait to visit again ,a big thank you to Deirdre and staff for making our visit so memorable .

Room Tip: Any room from an executive suite up .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 715marymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Mary, Congraulations from the Gysling Family & Team on the occasion of your 30th Wedding Anniversary. It was our pleasure to welcome you and your husband to Harvey's Point. Many thanks for your high recommendation. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunboyne, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is very well run and the staff are all very helpful and friendly, except the goose guarding the lake shore who bit my leg. The wedding reception was brilliant, breakfast very very good. My room was huge as was the bathroom jacuzzi, if I want some pampering I will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seanlpdoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Sean, Happy to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to Harvey's Point. Our grumpy goose, Harvey sends his apologies ! We hope you will return for some pampering in a leisure break sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Great service, huge rooms, breath taking views. The staff make you feel rxtrely welcome from the first moment you arrive. The breakfast in the morning will have you going back for more whilst the rooms are the size of houses!what more could you ask for?!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Joe, Many thanks for your kind words which are very much appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing