We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“exceedingly good”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“exceedingly good”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Went to harveys last week for one night as a special 65 birthday,have to say my wife and i had a wonderful time,the room,the fine dining,breakfast,all superb.Met a chef whilst out for a walk his name was chris,asked him about the fine dining told us that after the 4 courses you would be more than happy,and told us that to give him feedback if we were not happy,hows that for attention to fine detail,will be back ihope sooner than later.

Room Tip: de luxe rooms are lovely,spacious,but a bit too expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katey40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Guest, Thanks for choosing Harvey's Point to celebrate such a special occasion. Happy Birthday! It is good to know that our Chef's really appreciate all guest feedback as does our entire team. Kind regards from Chris and everyone at Harvey's Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,636
    278
    64
    20
    9
See reviews for
653
2,473
55
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
londonderry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The first experience of Harveys Point was when i booked a valentines weekend last year, something special for my wife. it was amazing from the checkin the smell of the turf fire which brought back childhood memories of my grannies home and when we were shown to our courtyard room by shaun, who was a very experienced, knowledgable,courteous, and friendly member of staff of which we have had the pleasure of his services over the last year this hotel is spotless throughout .We have stayed in their superior rooms during a family wedding in June mama mia out of this world. Returned July for my wedding anniversary Three days, amazing was upgraded by one of their very friendly reception staff to a superior room , truly truly amazing the sunday car-very started our last visit now thats what i call a car-very, [beautiful] as much as you can eat, the food in the restaurant, dining room ,and especially the breakfasts were superb can i just conclude by thanking harveys point hotel their managers and their very
component staff for a truly amazing memorable experience in a first-class hotel well done will be returning asap thank you

Room Tip: any room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Susan & David, As always, it is a pleasure to welcome you both to Harvey's Point and thank you for your kind words and continued loyalty which are very much appreciated by the Gysling Family & Team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just back from a one night stay in the amazing Harvey's point. It was just so lovely. The room was fabulous. A deluxe. Bigger than many apartments I have stayed in. What makes it extra special is the lovely atmosphere. It's so subtly done but the details are so perfect. The staff are so friendly and helpful especially Shane who helped us to our room. He was a gentleman. The breakfast was great and the restaurant manager was the consummate professional. We didn't want to leave and can't wait to go back. Keep up the good work harveys point.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boutiquelady75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review and for your kind comments about our hotel. We will continue in our endeavors for excellence in hotelkeeping and hospitality. Greetings from Shane (a lovely young local lad who only started at Harvey's Point this Summer) and Orhan, our charming and professional Restaurant Manager. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc and the rest of the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Noreen and Fred Weir
We arrived on Sunday 5th having booked the Carvary which was as always exceptional. After the meal we went to book in and were told you have been upgraded to a Penthouse Suite. We were taken to the Suite by Sean who took us into the room and showed us around and explained where things were and how to use everything (usually let in to a room in other Hotels and discover how things work by yourself). The room was fantastic and tidied/cleaned every day to perfection and anything that was used was replenished. The breafast and all meals (snacks,dinners and drinks) were very well presented and tasty and the service was excellent. We decided to go to the carbaret at the last min and it was amazing and the waiter who served us all night was excellent. We were really impressed by all the staff and the entire accommodation and grounds from check in to check out with a special thank you to Nancy and it is very nice to see the owner taking an interest and making you welcome is a special touch. Thank you all again for a wonderful stay as this was our 3rd time to stay here and continue to be impressed and really feel this is more 5 star quality than 4 star.We have shared our experiences on numerous occasions and in my opinion this is the best hotel we have stayed in and for what you get here it is good value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisdoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Noreen & Fred, As always, it is our sincere pleasure to welcome you back to Harvey's Point. (You are like one of the family now!). It's great to get your valuable feedback on each aspect of your experience. Special greetings from Sean, Nancy and our entire Team. Kind personal regards, Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just back from a one night stay in the excellent Harvey's Point hotel. From the moment we checked in til we left the following morning it simply couldn't have been better. We received a complimentary upgrade without even having to ask and were truly overwhelmed by the luxurious room. The accommodation, whilst outstanding, paled in comparison to the efficiency of the staff however. Nothing was any trouble. In fact, shortly after settling into our room we received a phone call from reception to check we had all we needed.
We were lucky to enjoy excellent weather during our stay and on arriving in the dining room for breakfast the Maitre d, on hearing it was our first visit to the hotel, discreetly secured us a table with stunning views of the lough. A truly magical experience we would recommend without any hesitation. Four star simply doesn't do it justice...it's comfortably five star plus!

Room Tip: No need to add any tips...The staff automatically make sure visitors avail of the best accommodation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina090764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Martina, We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments in relation to your recent visit to Harvey's Point. Thank you very much for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just back from a superb break at Harveys Point . This hotel is , in our opinion the best hotel in Ireland . The rooms are big, comfortable and very well equiped . The food is top quality and i think very reasonably priced . The staff are attentive, friendly and very professional . Many hotels can excel at one or more of these attributes, but it is unusual to find a place that can fill all three so completely . We have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending this hotel to anyone who wants to experience the very best food, service and accomodation to be found in ireland .
We will most definitley be returning at the earliest opportunity !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lake view. Dont go for a "room only rate ", you will seriously regret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davephelan2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Dave, Thank you for your lovely comments and high recommendation of Harvey's Point. We agree that a good hotel needs to strive towards excellence in all aspects of a guest's experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and in the meantime we will continue working on new ideas to impress our guests. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Harvey's point is a haven of peace in a stunning location. We spent one night, our only regret is that we could not stay longer. There is nothing that we could fault about our stay, the room, the staff, the food and the location were all fantastic. This is one off Irelands finest destinations. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myrtlescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Myrtle, Many thanks for your kind comments which are most appreciated by the Gysling Family & Team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Deirdre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing