We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just back from a superb break at Harveys Point . This hotel is , in our opinion the best hotel in Ireland . The rooms are big, comfortable and very well equiped . The food is top quality and i think very reasonably priced . The staff are attentive, friendly and very professional . Many hotels can excel at one or more of these attributes, but it is unusual to find a place that can fill all three so completely . We have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending this hotel to anyone who wants to experience the very best food, service and accomodation to be found in ireland .
We will most definitley be returning at the earliest opportunity !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lake view. Dont go for a "room only rate ", you will seriously regret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davephelan2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Dave, Thank you for your lovely comments and high recommendation of Harvey's Point. We agree that a good hotel needs to strive towards excellence in all aspects of a guest's experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and in the meantime we will continue working on new ideas to impress our guests. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,572
    273
    62
    20
    9
See reviews for
636
2,428
54
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Harvey's point is a haven of peace in a stunning location. We spent one night, our only regret is that we could not stay longer. There is nothing that we could fault about our stay, the room, the staff, the food and the location were all fantastic. This is one off Irelands finest destinations. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myrtlescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Myrtle, Many thanks for your kind comments which are most appreciated by the Gysling Family & Team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Deirdre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Rooms were very clean and the were staff very helpful and the welcome cookies a nice touch to have with a coffee in your room after a long drive. Will definitely recommend it to friends and family. Only problem was nobody knew how to get a permit to fish the lake.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chump75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review and kind recommendation. We appreciate your feedback and certainly information should be readily available in relation to local activities and attractions. Ironically there is a fishing facility close to the hotel, run by the Fisheries Board but there is often limited access to information as the office is only open at certain times. However we will take it on board to gather whatever details are available so that we can share it with our guests. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed here for a week in July, in my opinion they have the best staff of any hotel I've ever stayed in. Mostly locals who could really not do enough for us, like been walked to our room by the receptionist as we arrived instead of the usual "take the lift over there on your right scenario".

Their [standard] executive room was huge! I wasn't expecting such a large room, and the bathroom was also huge, with a large round bath, separate shower, double basins & vanity area.

The waiting staff at dinner where really excellent & the dinner itself was 5 star or better! Good breakfast buffet also. We had our 3 yr old with us, I think she was probably the only child in the hotel, so she was given plenty of attention from the staff which she loved. The porter Sean who was so delightful even gave her money on our departure to buy some sweets, truly wonderful hotel. They don't have a pool or any children's facilities more suited to couples etc, however many wonderful & secluded beaches nearby.

The hotel is about a 5/10 min drive from Donegal town itself.

We ate dinner in Solis Lough Eske Hotel one of the nights, and the food was nowhere near the standard of Harvey's Point.

Room Tip: Do try to request a lake view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BJV007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guest, We are truly delighted that you enjoyed the Harvey's Point Experience. It really means so much to our Team. Thank you very much. We enjoyed meeting your cute little girl. Kindest regards from 'Uncle' Sean and everyone at Harvey's Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2012

just back stayed 3 nights for aug bank hol w/end,hotel was beautiful food excellent also sunday carvery lunch so much to choose from great selection this is a must to try.
staff very friendly,tranquil location overlooking lake & only 10mins drive to Donegal town.

only down side to Harvey,s is no swimming pool or smoking rooms as pets are allowed?
A E

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Anthony, Thank you for your kind words. It was our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey's Point. We accept your comment in relation to the swimming pool and it is our hope to complete this project sometime in the not too distant future. Our Courtyard, while the rooms are non smoking, they open out onto the lake shore and gardens may be more suitable.
We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We've just come back from a lovely stay once again at Harvey's Point.
Positives
Rooms are amazing, first class opulence and comfort
Dinner was excellent, best meal we've had in some time, washed down with wine from a list that caters for all tastes.
It was our anniversary and we were wished well on arrival and deserts carried anniversary wishes, simple but nice touches and made us feel very welcome.
On departure, the offer of free water and fruit was again simple but well received.
Some minor points on the could do better list. On a previous visit you offered us a welcome drink, but not on this occasion, this was a lovely introduction to the hotel, a pity you haven't continued the practice. In the room you list some TV channel in the guide that aren't available (including two Film channels), either offer them or take them off the list. (A pay per view Film channel would be an addition, particularly if the weather outside is inclement as it was on our visit).
All in all however Harvey's Point once again was a lovely experience and we will be back!

Room Tip: Look for a room with Lake view if you can, and ask for a table in the bay window in restaurant. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Paul, It was our pleasure to welcome you back to Harvey's Point and thank you for your continued loyalty which is very much appreciated by the Gysling Family & Team.
We appreciate your valuable feedback and will take your comments on board at our next management meeting. Greetings from everyone at Harvey's Point and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed and attending for a wedding here last week.
Stunning location, very friendly staff, EXCELLENT food & absolutely brilliant (not to mention huge) room. This was the first impression that lasted the whole stay.
Highly recommended. Thought pricey for room but after staying felt it was good value for money.

Room Tip: Executive at €200
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becstar1550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guest, we are delighted that you have discovered Harvey's Point and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a realaxing leisure break sometime in the future. Thank you for your review. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
770 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
383 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
552 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing