We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to Donegal, looking forward to many more”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Great hotel experience made first visit to Donegal one to remember. Just back from Harvey's point wonderful hotel stayed in courtyard standard room was good roomy standard hotel room with lots of added extras, huge bed, good coffee with cafetiere, bath salts with candle, bath robes and slippers. Just beside lake, breakfast and dinner served overlooking lake with really wonderful food and staff special mention to nancy who seemed to be there ready to serve with a smile at every meal. The green guide to Donegal made touring the county a pleasure - Donegal has fabulous scenery and lots to see made even more wonderful knowing we were coming back to Harvey's point. Hope to come back again.

Room Tip: Courtyard are the most basic but still very good rooms
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for discovering Donegal and Harvey's Point, hidden in the Hills. It was genuinely our pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to extending a warm Donegal 'Cead Mile Failte' to you on your next visit. Kind regards from Nancy who has been looking after guests at Harvey's Point since we opened 23 years ago and special greetings from the Gysling Family & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,202)
There are newer reviews for Harvey's Point
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,405 - 3,411 of 4,202 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2012

Very welcoming and friendly. Beautifully maintained grounds and stunning views. This was our first night away without our new baby so we upgraded to a suite and was not let down. Massive suite with great jacuzzi bath. The peat water didnt deter me one bit ;)

Stayed the night of the Titanic meal. There was also a wedding on so the hotel was very busy. However we had a lovely meal with good service and slept like a baby in the biggest bed in Donegal.

Breakfast was lovely, dip in the jacuzzi, and then the beautiful drive through the valley towards home. Just a great relaxing weekend that the doctor ordered. We will be back!!

Room Tip: Lough view suites are massive. Well worth spending a little extra for a treat.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear Ricky, Congratulations on your recent addition to your family. It's a special time but also very special to spend time with your partner as well. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Harvey's Point Experience and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back for a relaxing break again sometime. Kind regards from the Gysling Family & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

Room with lovely view over lough eske was warm, spacious with robes and chocolates,cafatiere with real coffee. Service was excellent. Peat fire in one of the bars. Dinner was delicious, scallops followed by lamb cooked two ways and beautifully presented. Very good wine list. Thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itsmeangiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind comments and high recommendation which are very much appreciated by the Gysling Family & Harvey's Point Team. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre & Marc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Having come through a few bad months of illness hubbie and I with our dog chose Harvey's Point to have a staycation. From the moment we arrived to the day we left we were minded and made feel welcome at all times even down to our little dog. The food was to die for most especially the breakfast. Could have sat for 2 hours eating it was so yummy. Due to the fact that our dog was a little bit upset when we left him we chose not to go to the dining room for food in the evening and had room service. What a lovely touch on the first night to have the linen tablecloth and the flower on the table. The rooms are exactly as they look on the website. If I had one tiny grump it would be that there is no spa for those very wet days when you can go nowhere. Back home now a week and still feeling the benefits. Was trying to book again for October weekend but it is full already. I think that says it all.

Room Tip: We had executive room and it was amazing very spacious and very quiet.
Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank SullyP2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review and taking the time to share your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed the break and feel well rested after your recent illness. We would be more than happy to look after your little dog for you next time while you dine and please keep in contact so that we may try to find a room for you in October. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Harvey's Point again. Kindest regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My stay here was primarily for a wedding. The hotel staff were so kind and friendly, the food is delicious, they went above and beyond for all of us. the rooms are spacious and very comfortable. It really meets the guest's needs; a relaxing place with friendly staff. I liked the the classical music playing in the bathroom suite!! It is well worth a trip to Harvey's Point, they will treat every guest with courtesy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinBirdy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words in relation to your recent visit to Harvey's Point. We look forward to welcoming you back for a relaxing leisure break sometime in the future. Kind regards from the Gysling Family & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at Harvey's Point for two nights. The Team were friendly and attentive and the location on Loch Eske, stunning. The hotel wasn't full so a room overlooking the lake would been better but having said that our 3rd floor room was palatial.... a real WOW factor and worth coming just for this, The local walks are a must, ask for the guidebook. We felt that a leisure facility is needed to complete what is an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd or 3rd floor room overlooking the lake. All the rooms are huge and fabulous but this wou...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RS500Black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review and we appreciate your comments in relation to the leisure facility. We fully agree that this would enhance our product and it does feature on our plans for the future.
Hopefully we will have an opportunity to welcome you back someday. In the meantime, we will keep you updated on developments via our quarterly ezine. Kindest regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We, a couple of two, stayed for three nights at Harvey's Point. It is nicely located at a lake, however, a little bit far away from Donegal town and not so easy to find. Anyway, we enjoyed the stay. The rooms are really large, so are the beds; the only negative issues: the quality of the mattress was inferior, there were no sockets in the washroom for plugging in the base station of an electric toothbrush or a razor. The service was good, personnel friendly and the restaurant excellent.

Room Tip: The bedroom in penthouse had a loud noise (ventilation?), the deluxe room was okay.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear Walter, Thank you for visiting Harvey's Point during your holiday in Ireland. We sincerely appreciate your constructive feedback and we will take your comments on board. In relation to the lack of sockets in the bathroom, unfortunately Irish building law does not allow electricians to install them for safety reasons. We hope we would have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Harvey's Point sometime in the future. Kind regards from the Swiss Family Gysling and Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
926 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
424 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
603 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: $247 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing