We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC!!”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed at Harveys point last weekend from 17th February (belated valentines day). Courteous staff at reception. Room was ready and we got upgraded F.O.C. Beautiful 4 course meal. Great nights sleep and then a breakfast to beat all breakfasts! Wonderful stay in all and will definitely be making a return visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Dear Mark, We are delighted that you enjoyed the Harvey’s Point Experience and thanks for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,708 - 3,714 of 4,363 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2012

This was our second time to visit Harvey’s point and once again it did not disappoint. The setting is amazing at the shores of lough Eske and surrounded by the Bluestack Mountains. There are some fabulous walks which the hotel have mapped out for you, although the hotel is so warm and charming , with lots of rooms to relax by turf fires ,it’s hard to motivate yourself to go outside the door. The staff are so friendly and in a truly genuine way. I was amazed for such a large hotel, how smoothly everything ran

The bedrooms were incredibly spacious and comfortable with very large bathrooms. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was superb. Even at breakfast the chef was there making omelettes and pancakes. The only thing that irked me somewhat was there seemed a bit of a rush to get the meal served on the Sat night, very little time between courses and I was presented with the bill before I had even got my desert! However the rest more than made up for this

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bentley38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Dear Guest, We were delighted to welcome you back to Harvey’s Point and thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your experience. It is our intention to offer a relaxed atmosphere with good food, friendly staff and professional service. Please accept our apologies for the rushed nature of your meal and while it would have been a busy night, it is not the norm to present the bill before dessert. Please be assured that I will follow this up with our Restaurant Manager and Team. Kind regards, Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I took my daughter to Harvey's Point for her first visit and my fourth. As always we were made to feel relaxed and comfortable. The ambience of this beautiful hotel is hard to beat. The rooms are excellent and the service is second to none. I can't fault it so well done to all the staff and management in making our all too short a stay a most enjoyable one. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarleyLetterkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Dear Guest, We were delighted to welcome you back again to Harvey’s Point and thank you for sharing the experience with your daughter. We sincerely appreciate your kind comments and it will be our pleasure to have you as our guest again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Here's the short version: quite simply the best hotel experience ever. You couldn't fail to have a wonderful time at such a stunning hotel with stunning staff and facilities.

Well I have stayed the world over, but am amazed to say that the best hotel experience ever has just been received right at home on my doorstep!

I chose this as a Christmas gift for my wife. We took advantage in February.

The welcome on arrival was truly a welcome. The warmest and most sincere of any hotel, it was like being welcomed into the home of a good friend. It felt natural. But it also set the tone for the rest of the weekend.

The rooms are perfect, the location is perfect, the food was perfect. The staff are truly in a class of their own. I have never experienced such good service. These guys seem to really love their workplace.

The basics are covered so well, the management ethos at this hotel is clear to see. Attention to the fundamentals, plus great staff and a well packaged product. Everything is top rate, spick and span. Nothing is too much touble. A real sense of the guest being at the centre of the experience, with nothing too much trouble.

It amazes me to see a hotel run like clockwork in this manner. So many hotels are rushed, under-staffed, poor experiences, but this team just "gets it". I assume the have a very high return visit rate, we're certainly planning our next trip.

It's such a relaxing place from the moment you enter. A little place of heaven that we'll certainly return to when the pace of life dictates a break.

I have one minor niggle, that doesn't distract from our stay at all...the iron and ironing board. It would be great if they invested in a full size, sturdy ironing board with steam iron for each room. I'm pretty sure we could have got one on request, but the room had a flimsy corby ironing board that was buckled and wouldn't sit right. The iron itself was no good for demin or a heavy cotton shirt.

If you ever get the chance, visit this place, I'm truly gutted we waited too long to get here.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oruanaidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Dear Oruanaidh, What a fantastic review! Many thanks indeed. We are sincerely grateful to you for ‘discovering’ Harvey’s Point and it will be our pleasure to welcome you and your wife back again. We are so fortunate to have a great team who really do care about our guests and it is our hope to offer a natural and friendly welcome coupled with high standards. We appreciate your constructive comment in relation to the iron and ironing board and we will certainly take action on this. On behalf of the Gysling Family and all our team, may I extend our best wishes and our heartfelt thanks. Kind regards, Deirdre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

My wife and i stayed at harveys point at the start of february 2012 and this was our second time here. We stayed for 2 nights and we just relaxed and didnt leave the hotel at all over our stay. The staff our so freindly and make you feel at home (but more luxurious) Shane in the bar is very helpful.
The rooms are heaven, especially a 30 minute rest in the jacuzzi in the bathroom each day.
You never hear anyone else through the walls, unlike a lot of other hotels we have stayed in.
The food is first class , we couldnt wait for breakfast each morning, if you didnt like something on the menu, you;re to fussy.
to finish this is what we thought of Harveys Point
RELAXING, LUXURY, VERY FRIENDLY

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Dear Andy, Thank you for your lovely review. It means so much to us to hear compliments about our food, our rooms and in particular, our staff. Shane is a delightful young local man who always ‘goes the extra mile’ for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Harveys Point never disappoints, as allways the food, staff service and ambiance are first class. We cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winger9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind words which are very much appreciated by the Gysling Family & Team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Harvey's Point sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Harveys Point is such a lovely place to stay. We took our horses and put them in the hotels stables just across the rd. The room we stayed in was perfect. We spent the day riding around the area of the hotel which was lovely. food was great and we would recommend this Hotel very highly.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recommendation of Harvey’s Point and it was our pleasure to welcome you and of course your horses. Hope to see you all back again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
969 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
617 reviews
13 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,218 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: $223 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing