We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but maybe a little more something required in dining room”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Have stayed in Harveys now twice and also had my wedding here and everything was fantastic but just a little more jazz or spark needed in the dining room. Im not saying the food was bad as it was not and service was good but its missing something. The menu needs something. Maybe its a little old style and it could be like that because thats the type of hotel and thats the type of customer. maybe im being a little ott but this hotel rocks, all rooms and penthouse suite rocks the staff rock the location rocks. The restaurant food does not rock. Shoot for the stars.. ie michelin star as you have everthing else...

Room Tip: any of the ex suites are amazing and put most hotels in the country to shame
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete121280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2011

Dear Pete, Many thanks for your valuable feedback which is most appreciated. It has been our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey’s Point over the years and to be honest, we fully accept your comments in relation to the dining experience. On one hand, we try to ‘cook for our customers’ but we are aware of the need to keep moving forward and it is our firm intention to address this during the coming months in preparation for Season 2012. We look forward to seeing you again and we wish you and yours a very Happy New Year. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,694 - 3,700 of 4,322 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2011

We had a one night stay on the 27th December. This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at Harvey's Point and as a couple who enjoy staying in good quality hotels Harveys is our personal favourite. The receiption staff could not have been any more welcoming, as are all the staff who seem genuinely happy and motivated to ensure your every need is met.

We stayed in room 206, which completely exceeds all expectations for a hotel bedroom. The room itself is simply massive, yet feels cosy and welcoming. It is the attention to detail in these rooms which make them the best we stay in. The bathroom alone is the size of a reasonably sized hotel room. The bed is at least a super king and was extremely comfortable.

That evening we had a snack in the bar and a couple of drinks, again the service was first class as well as the food on offer. With a live pianist playing in the background and a roaring fire the atmosphere was just the tonic for a relaxing break away.

Breakfast was also of an extremely high standard, with a fantastic selection on offer.

Some people have suggested that this hotel is a bit on the pricey side, however you get what you pay for and we would happily recommend this amazing hotel to anyone.

Thanks to all the staff at Harvey's for an excellent short break.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2011

Dear Colin, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed the Harvey’s Point Experience and we sincerely appreciate your kind words and high recommendation. Happy New Year to you and your wife from the Gysling Family & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

8 of our staff went to the Christmas Party night and we had a fantastic night. The food was delicious and what a variety! we were spoilt for choice. We stayed in the executive suites which were fantastic and lovely and warm with a lovely big king size bed and sitting area with a large t.v.
Would highly recommend Harveys Point as a get away or to celebrate any special occasion. The staff were very friendly and helpful and always smiling. We all felt very welcome. Looking forward to next year!

Room Tip: Executive suites are a definate to stay in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mairéad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Dear Mairead, Many thanks for your lovely review. It was our pleasure to welcome you and your colleagues to our Christmas Party night. On behalf of the Gysling Family and the Harvey’s Point Team, may I extend our best wishes to you and yours for Christmas and the New Year. Kind regards, Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Once again my stay in this wonderful hotel has been fantastic. The ambiance is always so relaxed throughout the hotel and the staff never cease to amaze me with their friendliness and helpfulness. The food continues to be exemplorary and the rooms are just out of this world. I have stayed in many hptels aroud the world and this is up there with the very best of them. I would give Harveys Point the highest recommendation possible.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful but if you pay that little extra for a deluxe/premium or Executive suite it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciaran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Dear Ciaran, Lovely to see you back again at Harvey’s Point and thanks for your kind words and high recommendation which are most appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the New Year. Season’s Greetings to you and yours from the Gysling Family & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Harvey's Point is situated in a wonderful location on the edge of Lough Eske in Co Donegal. Its staff are excellent and seem to feel ownership of the hotel. The food is very good indeed, and if you eat on the right evening, you get treated to singing chefs! Overall, this is as good a hotel as I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodrowireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind words in relation to your visit to Harvey’s Point in September. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you return sometime again. Kind regards from all the team and of course Gino, our singing Chef !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I stayed in the penthouse suite, it's a very nice room, a bit of a walk to the reception, but that suited me, there could be more of a choice on the menu but the staff were great. I will return again soon as its the type of place that you walk in and turn off the phone and just relax and unwind, I found house keeping and room service excellent as each time they called to the room with either room service or claening, they made a call in advance to inform me, which I found was very good, I always book suites in hotels mainly the well known hotel groups (5 star), but I have never had a call prior to staff calling to the room.
Stuart , Dublin

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evansStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

Dear Stuart, Thank you so much for your lovely review and we appreciate you noticing the little but important details of our operation. I will ensure that all departments receive a copy of your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

This place is worth going to just to try the breakfast........ it is out of this world, unreal.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

Dear John, Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed 'Breakfast at Harvey’s ' ! We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
961 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
615 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
775 reviews
13 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range: $222 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing