We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As good as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

Harvey's Point is our favorite hotel in Ireland. We stay there at least twice a year for the last 5 years. While we travel abroad also we always look forward to Harvey's and often feel as relaxed after a 2 or 3 night visit to Harvey's Point as we do after a fortnight abroad! We cannot decide which of the many great aspects to the place is the most influential in our love of the place. The setting is incredible, as we love to walk. As a vegetarian, I can eat delicious food with out being made feel like a 'freak'. The big beds and luxurious rooms appeal to my 'Leo' regal need for pampering. Perhaps it is the sense that once you enter the door,' you're home'. While extremely professional, the warmth and care the staff provide is unique and very special. They deliver all that is good in true Irish hospitality, That is why before we arrive we hope things have not changed and why recessionary times or not, our visit last week was as good as ever..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annequinn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear Anne, On behalf of the Gysling Family & Team, may I extend our sincere thanks to you and your husband for your continued loyalty to Harvey's Point. It is always our pleasure to welcome you back and it is important for us that each visit is special for you. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a beautiful review and we hope to see you soon again. All the best from everyone at Harvey's Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,529
    264
    60
    20
    9
See reviews for
617
2,400
54
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

A superb stay from start to finish. Greeted with a glass of sparkling wine in the library then taken to our exceptional room. We were upgraded to a premium suite which was huge! The bathroom was fantastic and very well appointed. afternoon tea looking out over the lake was a treat. Dinner was quite superb with an excellent menu and very fine cuisine. breakfast was also excellent. Very friendly staff made us very welcome with a very high standard of service throughout and attention to detail. I would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nscc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear Guest,We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent Harvey's Point Experience and thank you for your lovely review and kind recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

Ok, i have far from seen it all but Harveys point is the treat everyone should allow themselves every once in a while. We treated ourselves to a night in a premium suite and loved it. Attention to detail is what sets this hotel aside from others. Fresh flowers and Candles galore. Lovely, friendly and professional staff make you feel right at home in the lap of luxury. Will definately be back! Congratulations to the owners.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear Sophia, Thank you for your kind words which are most appreciated by the Gysling Family & Team. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

Just back from a stay at Harvey's point and it would be wrong for me to avoid writing a review as the hotel deserves public commendation! We arrived at the hotel to a warm welcome (though no complimentary drinks unlike other reviewers!) and an ambiance of professionalism and pride. The check-in was efficient and hassle free and it was lovely to be taken to our room by a young concierge who gave us a brief orientation of the room - somewhat an irregular occurrence now in Irish hospitality. The room itself was splendid in decadent decor - indeed the best sized and equipped room I have ever stayed in (a deluxe suite: 205). The room with its jacuzzi bath, pleasant view and well-stocked mini bar and refreshment facilities meant one was indeed reluctant to go out!! The food was first class and the public dining areas were very convivial also. We were so delighted to gear the local artists on Monday evening comprising a pianist, superb soprano and the wonderful Matt McGranaghan on violin whom we had only ever heard on CD on a few occasions in another hotel where they were unable to direct us to where we could purchase a copy of his CD - would Harvey's point be able to help us locate one? The breakfast was also excellent with the locally sourced produce prepared to a gigh standard, and due care and attention to detail was noted. the grounds at the hotel are beautiful as is the interior design - with the furnishings and finishings first class. The location is picturesque and while it would be great to have leisure facilities, the lack of them does not make this hotel anything less than a perfect retreat!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovehotels08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for a lovely review of your recent Harvey's Point Experience. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. Apologies for missing the welcome drink, I will check this out with our hospitality team. I will forward a copy of your review to Matt Mc Granaghan and our 'Echoes of Ireland' cast who haved been entertaining guests every Monday during July and August. Please contact me at your convenience and I would be happy to send you a copy of one of Matt's CD's. Thanks once again and we look forward to meeting you again. Best wishes from the Gysling Family and Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

The location is beautiful just as it shows on the pictures. We received a very warm welcome and the staff were very friendly and willing to help. A glass of prosecco was available on arrival and on departure water and fruit. We stayed in an executive room which was larger than many flats and it had everything we needed and more.The food was excellent served in the restaurant which overlooked the lake. The weather was wet when we were there and so we could not take full advantage of the grounds. Everywhere had a feeling of space. The food was excellent but only criticism we have was the positioning of the cold table and hot trolley at breakfast which made it very congested and no fun if you were seated nearby. Although they have now got treatment rooms a swimming pool and spa facilities would be good especially when weather is poor. Don't know why it is only rated 4*

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judith f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear Judith, It was our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey's Point and thank you for your kind words. While most tables have an exceptional view overlooking the lake, we accept that the tables near the buffets can be congested when busy although where possible, we try to re-set as many tables near the window. We are delighted that our new 'Swan' Treatment Rooms are open using the prestigious 'Clarins' brand and someday we will have our pool and perhaps our five stars.We look forward to welcoming you back sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Just returned from Harvey's Point after two nights celebrating our 25th Wedding anniversary. We stayed in a Premium Suite (free upgrade) which was absolutely fantastic. Great view of the lough, great bathroom. The last word. We ate the first night in the Bar. Excellent choice and very tasty.
Our gourmet dinner the second night was once again up to a very high standard and we both thoroughly enjoyed all the courses.
Breakfast both mornings were again exceptional. The staff were always very attentive and friendly, from the minute we arrived until we left. Thank you all.
Harvey's Point is an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NRCAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear Guest, Congratulations on your 25th Wedding Anniversary and thank you for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion in our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Harvey's Point Experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

We spent three nights at Harvey's Point. The staff was most helpful as we planned our trip. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Harvey's Point. The room was magnificent with a view of Lough Eske. The food was absolutely delicious. We hope to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy33853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Kathy, It was our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey’s Point and thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
2.6 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing