We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a lick of Paint”
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvey's Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Carrickfergus , Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Needs a lick of Paint”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Excellent Location, but the gardens rooms (used by guests and dogs) where dark and tired and in desperate need of updating. Also a lack of outdoor areas with covered seating (needed in Ireland , cause the rain keeps it green). Had to go to Lough eske (2km) for a Guiness outside. Can't fault the food and the superb serviceon most occasions.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mervyn64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Mervyn, We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments of your recent experience at Harvey’s Point. We appreciate all guest feedback and please be assured that we have plans to renovate the Courtyard as well as create a glass covered Patio at the Dome Suite overlooking Lough Eske. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again sometime. Kind regards from Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,636
    278
    64
    20
    9
See reviews for
653
2,473
55
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stayed for 3 day break (Sunday - Wednesday) -- booked an executive room -- very spacious and a beautiful bathroom -- lots of little touches that make this hotel special. We had the gourmet meal on the monday night and it was excellent. Breakfasts were also great with lots of variety, including freshly made pancakes and omelettesThe only downside of our stay was dinner in the restaurant on Sunday night -- service was very slow and we felt the meal was not up to standard.
Overall we enjoyed our stay very much -- staff were very efficient but also relaxed and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely go back and recommend Harvey's Point to friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magfo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed a relaxing three day break at Harvey’s Point. We accept your point in relation to dinner on Sunday night and we have taken measures to address this unexpected surge in business on Sunday nights. Thank you for your kind recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Stayed there last week with my husband.Theres really not a lot I could add-the reviews are all so eloquent-room was fab and spotless-staff attentive-food amazing(restaurant was better than any Michelin starred we've ever been to-although the mains at the Cabaret weren't of the same standard-probably to be expected-breakfast superb and we were luckyto be entertained by the tenor "chef"-wonderful!)But it's the ambience and all the collective little touches that ensures Harveys Point gets under your skin-we're certainly addicted!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerryDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you most sincerely for your lovely review. We are delighted that you appreciate the little touches and attention to detail which are so important in a hotel. The ‘Singing Chef ‘at Breakfast was impromptu and a special experience for us all. It will be our pleasure to welcome you and your husband back again. All the best from everyone at Harvey’s Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrigaline, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Hotel is beautifully located on a lake. It is roughly 10k from donegal town. On arrival we were greeted with smiles. The staff were very helpful. We were shown to our room and provided with a complimentary glass of champagne. The view from the room was beautiful and the room itself was fantastic. The food was very good. The only down fall was that we felt out of place as a young couple in the hotel. I think it is very appropiate for people 40-60 yrs of age.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverlode101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive words about your experience at Harvey’s Point. We are always delighted to welcome couples of any age who are seeking a romantic break together. We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My husband, my son (8year old) and I stayed in Harvey's point for one night the end of July. We had a lovely time, our room was huge and really luxurious, the mini bar had normal bar prices (a first for us !!) We ate in the restaurant and the food wasdelicious and for such a good restaurant the wine list was very reasonably priced. Our son was able to order exactly what he wanted and at all times the staff were warm, friendly and very helpful. We were able to go for a walk around the lake before breakfast, and were given a book listing a number of walks we could take. If you are going to Donegal, do not miss this hotel.

Room Tip: Executive double are excellent rooms, 78sqmtr, huge bathrooms etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublinfamily011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Greetings from Harvey’s Point, It was our pleasure to welcome you to as our guests and thank you for your lovely review which is most appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you, your husband and son back again. Kind regards, Deridre, Marc & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulster
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We have for the last number of years stayed at this hotel with 5 other couples including my parents for the summer cabaret night. On the last night of the season last year we went here for our usual " treat" as Harvey's Point is in such a peaceful tranquil setting...
We had a lovely night at the Cabaret and we all retired for the night the down side being no residents bar.
While we were getting ready for bed I slipped on the complimentary bathrobe, and went on to do the usual girlie things we do at night remove make up, take down hair apply night cream etc, when was finished I draped the robe over the bath and went to take off my dress (luckily I was still fully clothed) when I saw that he robe was badly soiled with FAECES from a previous guest...DISGUSTING!!!! I went over to reception that night but there was no-one around so the next morning I brought it to the attention of the reception staff, they took €50 euro from €278.00 for our nights stay and no apology.... Poorly dealt with and no senior staff appeared to apologise and try to mend the situation as we had been returning customers over a good number of years

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank katiemcUlster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear Katie, In response to your review in relation to your experience at Harvey’s Point last year, may I extend our most sincerest of apologies to you. I am shocked to hear of this most unusual occurrence and indeed it is always our policy to endeavour to recover an issue as and when it arises. Please be assured that this incident is unprecedented and I will conduct appropriate research into the matter with our house-keeping and front office team. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you personally at a time of your convenience. Kind regards, Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvinestown, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2011

harveys point is a beautiful hotel. the food was excelent, as was the service. the hotel has large bedrooms which are beautifully furnished. we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back for a longer visit next time. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donegal Town
0.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Property: Harvey's Point
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the Northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Donegal welcome. Named TripAdvisor '№ 1 Hotel in Ireland' for the fifth year in a row, 10th best in Europe, AA two rosette restaurant and ‘Hotel of the Year 2017' by Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing